We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dining experience, go hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cabrera Sur

La Cabrera Sur
Ranked #92 of 4,739 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Palermo
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good dining experience, go hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a reservation and arrived just before the place opened. There were lots of super aggressive tourists that pushed their way to the front of the line, so don't be afraid to be assertive.
The steak portions are so large that I would suggest ordering one steak for every two people. Even the loom had four pieces per order. The food was very good, but not better than Ruth's Chris. The service was also not great, but it's worth going for the experience and a nice meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,117
    1,998
    741
    313
    222
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FRUSTRATING”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

No one of a group had the requested level of cooking of a mediocre bife de lomo, served by a very rude waiter in sweat and rush. Tin foil tourist's spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Argentine Steakhouse- Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

First this steakhouse is in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood of BsAs. Very good service here and typically, you get an order of Rib Eye (Ojo de bife, the best cut), a NY strip type cut, and a filet mignon on one cutting board. While the side sauces, tapenade and condiments are delicious, the best beef in terms of flavor to me are Argentine/Brazilian beef, served plain, unadorned. They're not tender cuts necessarily but very flavorful. Argentine beef is not fatted, inebriated beef, it roams the landscape. To that end, if you like your steak with beaucoup flavor and a bite you will like it here. La Cabrera is also the place to select a fine wine/Malbec to go with the best steak. The pairing of Malbec, steak and chocolate (bring your own choc if they dont have chocolate desserts that night) is perhaps one of my favorite taste experiences. It's really all about steak and Malbec and Malbec and chocolate in Argentina If you don't drink wine or beef, you will have missed out on one of the great treasures of Argentina.

Surprise: When you get the bill you'll be happy.

Tip: I've tried a few steakhouses in BsAs. La Cabrera is by far served the most perfectly cooked delicious steaks. If you're staying in downtown its about a 20 min trek via cab for about $5, no lie. Be prepared to wait for a table as there's a line During long wait times for a table, the restaurant staff hands out champagne.

Cons: If you dont like long lines for dinner, this is not the place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Legendary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had heard so many amazing reviews from this place from fellow travellers on our journey, so much so that it seemed like a legendary place to visit. We arrived at 18.30 as instructed, still unsure if the stories of 40% discount were true (Mon-Thurs between 1900 and 20.30), but they were!! We had to quue but to be honest, we actually ended up being one of the last served, just because of where people were placed etc but that wasnt a problem. We ordered and very soon after, a gorgeous bife de ojo arrived for both myself and my boyfriend. We ordered a portion of chips each but it probably wasnt necessary as you get breads and a lovely dip to start and the main in accompanied by lots of little bowls of things like mashed potato, mashed sweet potato, veg and other unknown (but very tasty!) bits and bobs.

We were waited on by Charlie, who was lovely and even gave me a lollipop at the end of the meal (always good!).

Overall, the food was exquisite, the service was great and the whole experience lived up to expectations, and more. I definately recommend this restaurant, I just wish we could return!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OMG -- So Much Food for Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is an Amercian's dream -- lots of food for a reasonable price. I got the "1/2 portion" and out comes 3 filet mignon steaks. I could only eat one, plus you get like 10 sides dishes to go along with the filets. Service was personable, English speaking. Only compliant, no reservations after 9pm so wait a little long (30 mins at 11:30pm on Fri Night). Would definitely return when in BA again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboKickChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabrera Sur also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Cabrera Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing