We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but very nice!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres de Palermo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayres de Palermo
Ranked #313 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small but very nice!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

My husband and I reserved a standard room and we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite wich had a small kitchen, 1.1/2 bathrooms, living room and bedroom with queen size bed. My first impression was very good, the guys at front desk were always nice to us and helped with taxis and directions. Check in and check out were easy and without any problem at all.
Breakfast was pretty average but it was enough for us to begin the day with, speacially after the great meals we had in argentinian restaurants during our stay...
They have 2 computers for internet and there is free wifi w/good speed when you are using it at their lobby ... you just have to get a code with the front desk to use your own notebook there.
Location was ok, near Alto Palermo Mall (great mall, I loved it), but the streets were a little bit dark at night, and I would not be comfortable with that location if I was alone. I think I would choose one of their Ayres de Recoleta options next time to have a real Recoleta experience. (By the way, Recoleta cemetary is a good 30 minute walk from Ayres de Palermo... ).
All in all, good apartment hotel at a reasonable price and I would not hesitate to recommend if you are the independent kind of traveller that do not expect to be pampered with concierges and such.
They keep it simple but are efficient in what they do and for me it made no difference at all if they call themselves a hotel or if they just have 'apartments for rent'.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DriCa_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
29
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Hotel is overall good. The only disadvantage is the location does not looks very safe though it is not far from the metro. The room is very big with a large living room and kitchen and 2 toilets. However it is more than necessary as this is a double room (and the bedsize is not that big) not for family. It looks more like an apartment.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

This hotel has a really good price and the rooms are very spacious, with a full kitchen and large bathroom. I stayed on the first floor and there is a small balcony with a table and chairs. The propriety is well-kept.

Unfortunately, I was disappointed with the staff. The front desk was very cold, almost unfriendly, and upon checking in they did not provide any information about the hotel and facilities. They did not even accompany us to the room.

Breakfast was basic but good. Again, the staff was not up to standard. The lady at the breakfast room (Graziella) was incredibly rude and tried to rush us through breakfast in order to get the tables cleaned.

I returned to Buenos Aires and chose not to stay at this hotel again. Instead, I stay at the Ayres Libertad for the same. The rooms are not as nice, but the staff is amazing!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braziliantraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

You can probably get an apartment rental for less money - but if you don't want the hassle of deposits, keys, etc this hotel is super-clean, convenient and a good value. We got a rate of around $100 a night using Venere.com and the hotel upgraded our room for no extra costs. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood with many conveniences around it (mini-mart across the street, laundry and good empanadas a block away, not to mention "delis", super-mercados, farmicias etc). The most expensive cab ride we had from here to anywhere was 25 pesos (about 6.50) The pool is heated so you can take a dip after walking around all day before heading to dinner. The light breakfast is one of the better ones we had on our trip. The staff speak English and are professional and helpful. The room was large, clean and quiet and it was nice having a kitchenette.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_enuf_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

I write this review from the free internet at the Ayres de Palermo.
The staff have been superlative in everyway. No request was too great during our stay. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite and found it quiet, clean, and very functional. The hotel is a little remote to most tourist areas but a taxi chrage of USD 4.00 will get you everywhere important.
Unless you need to stay in tourist intense locations this should be your choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBaba58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

I'm not sure I can add much beyond the other reviews. We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2009. My travel agent picked this hotel when I had suggested another similar property. I accepted his suggestion due to the good Tripadvisor reviews.

Neighborhood wise, the hotel is nicely located in between Recoleta (18 minutes walking) and Palermo Soho (22 minutes walking). The museums are also about 20 minutes walking going North.

Just across the street is a small market . Two blocks away is Avenida Santa Fe - one of the major shopping streets of the city - clothes stores, bakeries, restaurants , you name it - you'll find it within a few blocks. Alto Palermo - one of the ritz-iest shopping centers in town is 3 blocks away. The hotel is in between 2 subway (subte) stations - walk either direction on Santa Fe for 2-3 blocks and you'll find one of the stations.

The lobby of the hotel is a little small. Behind the 2 small elevators are 2 computers for free internet access. Behind the computers is a small reading area with books. Behind this is a walkway up to the very chic pool area. Breakfast is served in the enclosed area at the back of the pool. Breakfast is served till 11am! It's mostly cold items of average quality - served buffet style. They allow you to take food back to your room - nice, since there's not much seating there.

The staff at the lobby desk is pretty helpful and speak good English. They gave a good restaurant recommendation (La Payuca - grill restaurant 4 blocks away) and helped book a tango show for us.

The room is the size of a nice studio apartment. Fully equipped kitchen (with dishes, pot/pans,glasses&cups), dining table with chairs and sofa makes the room above average in comfort. The decor is modern & sleek, with most things pretty new. The bed was comfortable. There was a safe. The TV is on a pedestal that swivels so you can watch it either from the bed or from the sofa.

Some negatives:
* No down comforters, just blankets
* Bathroom was very modern-looking but was not large
* Sometimes the air-vent on the bathroom floor gave off a unpleasant smell
* The air-conditioner smelled a little musty when you first turned it on
* Buenos Aires had an epidemic of mosquitos at the time and we had a couple in the room

But overall, things were quite clean and new. The good reviews for this hotel are accurate. I'm happy as I feel I got a 4-star experience at 2-star prices.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

The front desk staff are very helpful and really go out of their way to help in any way they can. There is free internet access in the lobby and a small grocery store directly across.
Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UshBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Bulnes Eco Suites
Bulnes Eco Suites
#27 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Arenales
Hotel Arenales
#243 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#130 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Hotel
Ayres de Recoleta Hotel
#159 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Recoleta
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
#300 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres de Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres de Palermo

Property: Ayres de Palermo
Address: Sanchez Bustamante 1955 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1126, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres de Palermo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Ayres De Palermo Hotel Buenos Aires
Ayres De Palermo Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing