We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management”
Review of Mundo Bolivar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mundo Bolivar
Ranked #2 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The new owner of Casa Bolivar has big plans to renovate and improve this well placed establishment. The nearby restaurants that we were directed to were very good and there is a good bus route nearby. The owner was not onsite, there was no phone and the mobile we took did not use the right frequency so we had difficulties getting the help we needed on arrival in a new city. However once improvements are made, this should be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 233 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Casa Blivar arranged for our ride from the airport and that went very well. We got off to a challenging start when there was no one there to let us in at 7 in the morning. Our driver waited with us until he located someone, a good 20 minutes outside in the cold. The hosts bought our breakfast to make up for the wait and we really enjoyed the orientation that they gave us to the city. They checked in on us one or two times more to ensure all was going well.

We stayed in the tango room apartment and it was spacious, beautifully decorated, very nice and comfortable. Of the 7 nights there, we only had trouble with noise one night when someone decided to play extremely loud music just outside our window. Our window was on a side street and we did not notice traffic noises. Taxi's and buses were abundant, but it was too far from the subway. The neighborhood was covered with grafitti, but we always felt safe, no matter what time we were walking around. We found a great restaurant, El Estable, close to the apartment and some great bakeries. Bedding was very thin and old and there was no mattress cover. Once you close the doors, it is indeed a quiet and restful place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLBKELSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Wonderful boutique hotel in Buenos Aires with original rooms.
Very nice location, decoration and great staff and service.
We definitely recommend it for couples who would like to pass by Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celia098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Casa Bolivar is a great place to stay if you are looking for a bit of comfort, character and great hospitality.

Because we stayed for a week, we moved apartments halfway though (we had been made aware of this when we booked, as we had called quite late) but this was not a problem at all - and both apartments were really lovely - spacious and beautifully decorated. The location in San Telmo is great - just far enough away from the noise, but close enough to make it a pleasant walk in to the main plaza, with it's great bars, restaurants, market and shops.

The guys couldn't have been more helpful, and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome - even helping me find an English speaking dermatologist (that didn't cost a small fortune and I saw the same day).

If we come back to BA we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLoobylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

For everybody there is a nice type of appartment. If your zen, tango or modern, pick the appartment of your choice. It is very nice if you want some privite time in your own space.
The hotel is located in San Talmo, and old neighborhood with a nice sqaire were people are dancing tango in the evening. For me this appartment was a great landing in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

A lovely boutique hotel. Beautiful, spacious loft apartment with balconies. Lots of thoughtful touches including complimentary internet, in-room snacks, bottled water, tea, coffee, olive oil, even salt and pepper. Safe and secure. They thoughtfully left us a bottle of champagne to help celebrate our honeymoon - even though we never told them! Only 5 minutes walk from Plaza Dorrego and the heart of San Telmo where simply everything goes on in BA. Generous breakfast which runs late for those who like to sleep in. A helpful hostess who speaks at least 3 languages. Transfer to the airport affordable and on-time. They offer several reasonably priced to organize tours, and we did a decent city tour. BA So much more than a chain hotel, very special indeed. We are definitely returning!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

although not your best budget option, the contemporary suite was very nice. the bed was comfortable (although be warned it is two twin mattresses pushed together to make a king), kitchen area clean, nice big windows, reception was super kind and the breakfast nice and ample. the neighborhood was nice, sleepy - however lots of bus noise. 25 minute walk to plaza de mayo and close to the san telmo market on sunday (a must).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#51 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,471 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,707 reviews
Recoleta
Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
#4 of 258 in Buenos Aires
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Querencia de Buenos Aires
#5 of 258 in Buenos Aires
210 reviews
Palermo
Abode Buenos Aires
Abode Buenos Aires
#1 of 258 in Buenos Aires
158 reviews
ChillHouse
#7 of 258 in Buenos Aires
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Bolivar

Address: Calle Gral Simon Bolivar 1701, Buenos Aires 1143, Argentina (Formerly Casa Bolivar)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $40 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Bolivar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mundo Bolivar, Mundo Bolivar is a classic mansion of 1901 that was totally renovated back in 2006. Mundo Bolivar S.A. bought the house in July 2012 with the idea and dream to create a guesthouse and culture club under the same roof. We work and live in the house, and we are looking forward to create an excellent experience for our visitors and guests, with a warm personal, and professional atmosphere in this small world called "Mundo Bolivar". We welcome travelers, tango dancers, students, artist, and good people from all over the world who wants to enjoy Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mundo Bolivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bolivar Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing