We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for a receipt!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BA Soho Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BA Soho Rooms
Ranked #43 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ask for a receipt!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Overall, this was a fantastic hotel. The person who cleans the room is absolutely fantastic. The location is good (although it is close to the street so you hear traffic all night long so bring earplugs). Breakfast was simple, but quite good. The only complaint is that even though we paid when we arrived, Martin forgot we paid and accused us of not paying. So, ask for a receipt!!! Also, there was mold in the room so if you are allergic to mold, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD74, Owner at BA Soho Rooms, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi ctd1978, first of all thanks for writing. I'm sorry about the problem you had with martin at the hotel, he is not a permanent employee, and helps out hopping from one hotel to the other. Due to your letter I've spoken to him about this and he admitted he was very much in a rush and impatient that day, so I apologize for this. In our defense, however, I must say that what you describe is an exception and, as always, we trust our guests -with or without a receipt in hand- as much as ourselves and, as in your case, in the seven years since we've opened, nobody has ever paid more than his or her balance.
About the bottom part of the wall counter the bed: there had been a leak in the pantry located next to the room. This had occurred and repaired in the same day - approx. a week before your stay. Since the walls in the building are solid brick , for the job to be done right, it is necessary to leave it drying for at least four weeks before intervening (hence it being still unrepaired at the time of your stay). The work to be done -redo the plaster and repaint which takes 2 days- is scheduled to be done the fallowing week, so this shouldn't be a problem for guests arriving at the end of November. Also I would like take the chance to make clear that humidity on walls and mold is not characteristic of our B&B in which all rooms are exterior, well ventilated and receive natural sun light.
Finally, I must admit that, though the room had a special discount, it is our fault not to have been more specific as to why. My sincere apologize for this too.

I'm glad that despite these problems you enjoyed and recommend our place and if you or any guest coming expressly on your behalf come to Buenos Aires write directly to us and I will be sure to make it up for you.

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Marcelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
51
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Soho rooms its a great place to stay, the location is perfect and the facilities are very good!
The employees are very helpful and nice, just a couple of blocks away from great restaurants and night clubs

Room Tip: If you ever go to Buenos Aires, try to stay in Palermo... Nothing like that place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hect0r_L0pez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the second place we stayed in Buenos Aires, and definitely the better of the two. If you're looking for a more adult, quiet place in a location with plenty of options close by, this is it. Most of the other people staying there were couples, so we fit right in. It's a good 10-minute walk from the train station, but it's in a great neighborhood with plenty of good restaurants and bars just around the corner. It's also only 2 blocks from a rather well known milonga for those into tango.

The staff running the hostel are very friendly and helpful; they were great for providing very detailed advice about the immediate area and anything we could think of to ask them about the city. The breakfast served is plenty, although full of nothing but sweet pastries and dulce de leche (get used to it, or buy your own ingredients to prepare in the kitchen).

The room was small, but sufficient and clean. They have a designer's feel to things with vibrant colors for the rooms and the shared area. While the facilities are showing a little bit of age, we found them to meet our needs. Admittedly, there was 1 time over our 2 weeks there that the landlady had to relight the flame for the hot water, but it didn't seem like a regular occurrence. The wi-fi was also pretty solid.

For the price, you'd be hard pressed to find a better place in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouginTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

BA Soho Rooms was the first hostel we stayed in on a 7 week journey, and when I think back and compare it to other places it is pretty average, but at the time we really were not impressed and ended up leaving after one night.

When we first arrived the owner was very helpful and sat us down in the front room to show us some good places on the maps, she gave us some good tips on where to eat and we found it helpful.

However from that point onwards the place turned into more of an apartment, as there is not staff there 24hrs - The guests are given a key for the front door and one for the room (the wood around our door handle/lock was split which did give the impression someone had previously broken in) and with no safe deposit boxes in the rooms we did feel a bit un easy leaving our belongings there without any staff/security around. Again we felt a bit uneasy when we came back from town to find that other guests had left the patio doors open, the place felt a bit too open.

The room was very simple, in the photos it shows artwork and bright colours, however our room was a small square white room just big enough for a double bed and chest of drawers - so do not expect what you see in the images. The blinds were broken and the aircon dripped.

The location is an ok place, would not be to far to walk to the shops, supermarkets and restuarants.

However the final straw for me was the cockroaches, we came back from dinner and had to capture and get rid of two of the buggers!! When we left we explained that this was the main reason and were told that it was due to the rain and should be expected, but we had no issue anywhere else during our stay so I don't think that is a decent enough excuse - sorry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLTTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and a friend for 4 nights. There are two properties and we stayed in the 5004 Cabrera one, so can't comment for the other. We paid $25 US each for a private ensuite triple, TV and air con, which is really good value for buenos aires. Location is perfect, we expected the center of a city to be noisy - its 1 block from the main square and was actually not as noisy as we expected. You can use the kitchen and fridge, there are balconies, good wifi and pleasant lounge area. The icing on the cake was lovely Paulina the housekeeper who kept the whole place clean, was warm and friendly, and served our breakfast. Some people complained about the basic breakfast, but actually we thought it was pretty good for Argentina - sweet pastries, fresh rolls, and good coffee. They were also kind enough to store our bags whilst we were in Uruguay for 10 days and let us use the common areas when we returned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvan, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed there 5 nights to discover BA : great location with bars André restaurants in the surroundings. Room with shared bathroom was quite small ADN vers noisy. Also the AC was too old to work well... But the staff si great with their perfect tipps to discover the town... I will suggest to pay à bit more and take a room with bathroom.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OlivierR910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this B & B for 4 nights while in Buenos Aires for a week.The location was perfect near local shops and activities. The room was nice,quiet and clean; however, the shower was pretty weak and our toilet didn't work very well. The air conditioner was difficult to regulate, we were either too cold or too hot. The staff was friendly and somewhat accommodating. We received the same breakfast every day.....rolls, dry cereal and cold coffee. On one occasion we received the wrong directions, which set us back about 2 hours one day. I think is was because the manager was very busy that day and wasn't really giving his full attention to where we had requested directions. It's a good B & B for one night only. We switched to a hotel for the rest of our stay in BA.

Room Tip: Ask for top level, if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
First Palermo Hotel
First Palermo Hotel
#187 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#123 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Soho Loft
Palermo Soho Loft
#242 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
06 Soho Suites
06 Soho Suites
#34 of 273 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Palermo
Boho Rooms
Boho Rooms
#22 of 273 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Palermo
Casa Aire Palermo
Casa Aire Palermo
#16 of 273 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Soho Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Soho Rooms

Property: BA Soho Rooms
Address: On the Corner of J.A. Cabrera & Serrano, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ba SoHo Rooms is a Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of Palermo Soho, the hip fashion and design district of BA and home of its vanguard artists. With its expensively renovated buildings, home to some of the trendiest bars, international restaurants, art galleries, design studios and the trendy young crowds who frequent them, this neighborhood is alive with Buenos Aires' most vibrant nightlife with some of the best pubs, clubs and bars. Conceived for a maximum of 10 guests, we offer 5 completely equipped room Private Bathrooms)s, plus 100 square meters of common areas (reception, kitchen, dining room, living room, patio and balcony), making Ba SoHo Rooms an exclusive and intimate hotel, designed to make sure our guests have and excellent stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your BA Soho Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ba Soho Rooms Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing