We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality at Gurda Tango” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel
Ranked #278 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality at Gurda Tango”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed 4 nights at this superb boutique hotel in San Telmo, one of the more traditional barrios in Buenos Aires. The outstanding factor here was the staff, Carolina and Karina could not have been more warm, friendly or hospitable - absolutely faultless. Great recommendations for restaurants and local sightseeing. The rooms were extremely comfortable (we stayed in both Pategonia, their lead in room type and Tango, their premium room with jacuzzi). Both were authentically and tastefully designed and kitted out - only small complaint is that the internal patio meant that the windows were covered with blinds so no natural light in the room - no drama really. Norma who took care of breakfast was lovely, as was her breakfast! Overall, I would highly recommend this property for an authentic taste of B.A. In terms of things to do in teh city, skip the touristy Puerto Madera (like any dockyards type development in any city) and wander round the antique stores and local parillas is San Telmo. Another fabulous area is Palermo Soho (20 mins by cab - cheap) where the high end and unique boutiques and restaurants are. for authentic Tango, try Cafeteria La Ideal where you see some of the older Tango dancers in action. Forget Calmanito in La Boca - another tourist trap.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughes_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    40
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
112
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north caroline
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

This great little place exceeded our expectations. We had a 4-day stay at the Gurda and it was a truly lovely experience. The hotel is clean, stylish and very comfortable. The staff was really welcoming. They made us feel right at home and helped us with every need we had. We have travelled widely and had never met such warm and helpful staff.
The location in San Telmo was ideal, walking distance to all attractions you need to visit. The hop-on-hop-off tour buses were within 5 minute walk from the hotel. There are also many excellent local inexpensive restaurants nearby.
The breakfast is great as well and it´s very nice how it is served till midday! And it is ever later, they´ll prepare it for you when you ask for it, no matter what time is it. The free internet access was also a plus since many hotels charge high fees for this.
They have many nice touches which give you the feeling that they care about service to their guests. It´s really top notch!
I could go on and on but the score says it all. Thank you so much to all the staff who looked after us during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here about eight weeks ago, and I have literally felt guilty ever since for not taking the time to pass along our feelings about the phenomenal Gurda Tango and its staff. Many other commenters have hit the highlights, which I will echo:

-- The building is a fantastic, unique monument to classic Buenos Aires, in great shape and full of local character
-- Location is prime San Telmo, right at the end of the weekend antiques market and well-situated for exploring the city
-- Staff is just phenomenal: Personal, helpful, friendly. By the end of our four days, we felt like they were our new Argentine friends. (By day two, they had my breakfast order down! And they couldn't be more helpful with restaurant and touring recommendations)
-- Accommodations, in general, are safe, comfortable and everything we were hoping for
-- Finally: What a value! Rates would easily be four or five times higher if this hotel were in New York or San Francisco.

Any cons? Ehh, not really. In our room, the unique construction meant that turning on the bathroom light had the effect of illuminating the entire hotel room (a slight irritant in the middle of the night when one's partner got out of bed). That's the worst I have to say for this hotel. That's not too bad, if I say so.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClipperJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

Gurda Hotel is impeccable in all regards. The location is ideal, being within walking distance of most areas. It is a gorgeous old building that has been completely modernized, elegantly decorated down to the last detail. The room was comfortable and very cosy. But the best are the staff who were accommodating with any request, specially Karina and Carolina who are superb! We can´t thank them enough for all their help. You made our stay in Buenos Aires a real home!
A first class hotel with great rates! We`d definitely stay there again. Kudos to Management!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

A really nice change from large corporate hotels, great staff who go far beyond the normal level of service but perhaps a little on the pricey side for BA. That said, I enjoyed my stay very much, the breakfast was decent, wireless worked well, and I liked the rooms. It is an old house so the walls are perhaps a bit thin and noise travels within the hotel so if you were unlucky enough to have noisy neighbours it might not be fun, but there's no street noise. The location worked well for me, didn't mind walking and there are plenty of good places to eat really close (the parilla just a bit south down Defensa is exceptional).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Loved this place! Not only is the location fantastic, right down the street from a great parilla and the Torquato Tasso, but the hotel itself is really hip and stylish. Stayed in the Borges room, very comfortable, and the staff is incredibly hospitable and accommodating. Karina and Carolina are the best! Will be back some day. . . .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We selected the Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel from Trip Advisor reviews of the hotel and we were not disappointed. We (my wife and I) had visited Buenos Aires before and stayed at one of the top 'corporate hotels', but on this visit, we wanted to stay somewhere different.

The Gurda fitted the bill perfectly. A small hotel (7 rooms) in one of the older, established areas of BA, but close to all the important sites. You feel as though you are in the real BA. What makes this hotel really enjoyable is the staff, who really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to ensure your stay in the hotel is enjoyable.

The hotel rooms are very comfortable, with plenty of room and with good amenities. San Telmo is particularly enjoyable if you are there on the weekend, especially the Sunday market.

If you are looking for something different, this is the hotel for you. We definitely will stay here again when we return to BA.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Americano
Hotel Americano
#264 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
San Telmo
Bohemia Buenos Aires
Bohemia Buenos Aires
#211 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
San Telmo
La Casita De San Telmo
La Casita De San Telmo
#246 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
#113 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,190 reviews
San Telmo
CH Madero Urbano Suites
CH Madero Urbano Suites
#31 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Gran Hotel America
#298 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel

Property: Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel
Address: Defensa 1521 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1413, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#124 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hotel Gurda Tango Boutique
Gurda Tango Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing