We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations in bohemian BA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel
Ranked #273 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great accomodations in bohemian BA”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed three nights in Gurda a small, boutique hotel, while touring Buenos Aires. The staff was very responsive to email inquiry in advance. The room was great, lovely accomodations with hot-tub and art with Tango theme. Staff was very responsive and helpful with good English. Hotel is between San Telmo and Boca, an interesting, bohemian section of the city. Good restaurants are nearby, as is several street markets, but this is not for those seeking USA style mega-hotel convenience in SA. About 6 blocks from nearest subway (San Juan), but buses go past the front door all over town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    40
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
112
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

This is an outstanding place, full of character, impeccable, friendly, and extremely warm. We loved staying here and the staff were wonderful. I would definitively come back and would recommend this place to family, friends and other travellers. The hotel is stunning, well located, in a safe and interesting area. The service is out of this world, the staff are genuinely caring, approachable, and speak several languages. This place is simply stunning, I cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful staff. Thank you for making our stay in Buenos Aires a remarkable and unforgettable experience!

Carolina and the other staff are dedicated, honest, humble, professional, helpful and warm. You do not get this level of service anywhere else in this big city.
All we can say is "muchas gracias"

Peter & Juan Carlos

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydney2009au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

After staying in Palermo we decided to try another neighborhood and so we found ourselves in San Telmo at the Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel. Our room was clean, warm (it was fall/winter), and beautiful. The service was great. It did not matter who was working at the front desk because everyone was always willing to sit down with us as long as we needed in order to make plans or just learn about the culture. They even helped us book a day trip to Colonia, Uruguay. Well worth a visit! Our favorite restaurant was 1880, less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. If we find ourselves in BA again, we will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaktoPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Great little and cute hotel in San Telmo. I selected this hotel based on staff review and the fact that it has wireless internet and the location. If you have decided to stay in San Telmo this place is percectly fine. The staff, especially Carolina and Karina were welcoming and they do everything possible to help you enjoy your stay. We stayed at the Jorge Luis Borges room which I believ is their smallest one. We didn't mind. It was cute, clean and interesting. There are only 7-8 rooms in the hotel which is located in a typical San Telmo house with an inner patio. There is no mini bar but you can order from the front desk or their bar upfront. No coffee or tea making in room.
Breakfast was typical for BA, media lunas (mini croissant, sweet and savory), eggs made upon request or ham and cheese, jams, dulce de leche, oj, coffee. They don't rush you with breakfast and more than once we sat there past breakfast time.
Staff also stored luggage and if room is not in use they let you use room too free of chare after check out which comes in handy if your flight is late at night.
San Telmo is not from everyone, but this hotel was a breath of fresh air .
Thank you Gurda.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed for three nights at Gurda Boutique Hotel. The hotel has only 7 rooms so the staff quickly learns your name (actually the hostess called us by our names when we arrived!) and is eager to help in making arrangements, giving advice and directions and getting you a drink or a cup of tea anytime you want while you sit at their desk for explanations and information of the "real Buenos Aires", not the touristy one. What you feel is that you are staying at a home rather than a hotel.
Location is excellent. San Telmo is an old quiet neighborhood where you really feel Buenos Aires, and you are also pretty close to the different spots of that amazing city. You can practically walk anywhere. If you prefer buses, public transportation is excellent as well as cheap and you can get buses just crossing the street (the girls at the front desk will tell you how to move around and the special tips so as not to feel a tourist!! With their advise we felt like being "porteños"! (locals from BA)
The area is full of local inexpensive restaurants, specially parrillas and traditional bars just a few metres from the hotel.
Pleasant staff that could not do enough, yummy breakfast (delicious eggs made to order!), great location, beautiful facility with splendid spotless clean rooms... What else could you ask for? My wife and I are picky hotel consumers and we have been delighted with this hotel and the excellent service and look forward to returning there. Thanks Karina, Carolina, Norma and all for everything!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2009

– Carina – the best host we met on our entire trip. She was very helpful and guided us to hap places of Buenos Aires. She suggests also good shows for Tango and best discs of BA. and she even gives all kind of options as in for low cost or higher. It has only 6 rooms but very clean and well maintained. All the rooms are different from each other and they are spacious also. The location is also good as six blocks from there is a sub station so u can move around the city with easily. In San Telmo every sunday there is a big fair of antiques which is just two blocks from the hotel. They also give good breakfast specially the cheese omelete....

  • Liked — the host
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Prinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our vacation. We spend one night in the Sur room at the beginning of our trip and two nights in the Tango room at the end. I briefly considered staying in two areas of the city for our two visits, but I'm so glad we stuck with this place, it is fantastic. The rooms are very nice, especially the Tango room. Spring for that one if it's available. And we personally liked the location in the heart of San Telmo. The staff was fabulous. Everyone we encountered was super-friendly and helpful, always offering to call us a taxi, make recommendations on where to go, helped us plan a day trip to Colonia. Muchas gracias to Carolina and Karina. And we did two tango shows, both recommended by the gentleman who works the late afternoon shift (I can't remember his name, but very nice!). We went to Cafe Tortoni and Bar Sur, and we loved both! It was nice to come back after a long day to a friendly face, every time. I would definitely stay again!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GMU2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Ribera Sur Hotel
Ribera Sur Hotel
#171 of 446 in Buenos Aires
110 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#58 of 446 in Buenos Aires
894 reviews
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#176 of 446 in Buenos Aires
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#61 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,227 reviews
San Telmo
CH Madero Urbano Suites
CH Madero Urbano Suites
#39 of 446 in Buenos Aires
309 reviews
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#68 of 446 in Buenos Aires
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel

Property: Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel
Address: Defensa 1521 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1413, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#123 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gurda Tango Boutique
Gurda Tango Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing