We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-Convenient Location”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #262 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Semi-Convenient Location”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were looking for a cheap place and we found it in Hotel Americano. The location is not the greatest, but not bad either. It takes a bit of a walk to reach the center but there's also a Subte (subway) not far from it. There were 3 of us traveling, so we booked a room with one large bed and a regular one. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the bedroom has actually two rooms, so the beds were not in the same room, offering some privacy. The bed was comfortable, I actually slept pretty well after 4 flights (the last one, Atlanta-Buenos Aires being 10.5 hours long). The bathroom wasn't huge but the size was adequate. There was also a medium size refrigerator. Internet was free but had to go to the lobby as the signal didn't reach my room.
The room and hotel overall was clean, breakfast nothing to write home about but it was included. The staff was quite friendly (as most people we encountered in Argentina).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridewyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
36
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very good hotel.....location, aspect, service, and the views from the roof spa are stunning. Free hour on the internet...useful

Our room was comfortable and well appointed...but we overlloked a blank wall with air con units which were a little noisy......so check with reception!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking air con.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Cant remember how we ended up here but its wasn't particularly amazing. Location was so so, rooms were old-ish and small. Not much in the walls in term of noise insulation either. The food for breakfast was wonderful though. In summary, i wouldn't rush back...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I usually stay at the Dos Congresos a few blocks over in the same neighborhood - this hotel was recently rated as Gay Friendly by a website and trusting them I booked it for that reason. Without going into the sordid details of my personal life or the lives of others, Buenos Aires is a top tier gay travel destination and like great but inexpensive wine and steak - the sex trade of this cosmopolitan city is pretty much out in the open and accepted. Hence the reason for booking a "gay friendly' hotel so as a single male if I did opt to have guests over (and I did); there wouldn't be any glitches or uncomfortable vibes from staff or other guests.
The hotel, far from clean, did have a friendly serviceable staff that for the most part were without attitude, but at the end of my stay when I realized I was paying additional surcharges simply because I had male guests in my room, and these additional charges were NOT cheap, I feel both angry and upset as these charges amount to little more than discretionary discrimination. I'll be back in Buenos Aires but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BairesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#329 of 447 in Buenos Aires
61 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Bolivar
Hotel Bolivar
#358 of 447 in Buenos Aires
78 reviews
San Nicolas
Babel Plaza
Babel Plaza
#225 of 447 in Buenos Aires
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#211 of 447 in Buenos Aires
173 reviews
Hostel Sol
#370 of 447 in Buenos Aires
67 reviews
San Nicolas
America Plaza Hotel
America Plaza Hotel
#276 of 447 in Buenos Aires
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Property: Hotel Americano
Address: Calle Rodriguez Pena 265, Buenos Aires C1020ADE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Americano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing