We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Telmo

Don Telmo
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Telmo
Ranked #411 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

very good hotel, with clean & spacious rooms. breakfast is very good & both the receptionists are helpful. Stayed there in November 2010 and again in March 2011. Everybody was telling us that the area this hotel is, is very doggy, but we never saw anything wrong!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fefa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    10
    3
    10
See reviews for
11
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
268 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel has published a promotional rate for the month of october in many sites. We have booked thru Booking.com. Booking does not charge you until you check in the hotel (most of options they offer). This hotel had this option; I would pay locally. Three days before, just three days before I've got a message of the hotel that my credit card had been declined and my reservation imediatelly cancelled. I got in touch with the hotel to know the reason and they did not explain me. I have called my bank and they told NO TRANSACTION was demanded by the hotel or any other establishment in Argentina. I have called Booking and they said they could not do anything. I got in touch again with the hotel and they said I should make another reservation. But now, the price was more than 4 times what I had booked previously. This is a great disrespect and lack of consideration with a consumer. For this reason I qualify this hotel this way. Do not recommend because of the guidelines of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LESIUS_LENHADUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

A low cost option for backpackers and young people... for us it was a little uncomfortable: a very small/simple bathroom, a small/simple bed, very long stairs without elevator. Good heating, good room size for 4 people, good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia_vegacabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were put into this hotel after the hotel we were booked in overbooked. Even the cab driver was uncomfortable leaving us here. This part of San Telmo is super sketchy. When we pulled up there was a police car outside and the overall feeling was scary. The bathroom was horrible, it smelled awful and was full of bugs. The walls are paper thin. The shower was to small to turn around in and the beds weren't exactly fresh and clean. The man at the front desk was very friendly but it didn't make up for the overall sketchiness. This should be a $20 hostal, not a $85 hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We had a booking with venere.com in this hotel. The hotel confirmed this booking. But, when we came to the hotel, we were told that the hotel is full, they don't have our booking and we can go away in the middle of the night. No other option was provided. We had to stay in the other hotel that was 3 times more expensive than our initial booking, because it was a hot time in a city and the hotels raised the prices.

Moreover, after our return home and while trying to settling the refund with Venere, the hotel stuff keeps lying that we were proposed the same category, same price hotel and we refused.... So, they mean we chose the 3 times more expensive one and refused the one that they proposed... LOL....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denispatrakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

It took some weeks to finally chose Don Telmo Hotel, we were looking for something different, not a fancy place for tipical turists... so we found this Hotel, an old building in San Telmo. Its location is very good, next to 9 de Julio and San Telmo.
Alejo helped us a lot, with milongas, restaurantes and all kind of tips that were really good.
So, we not only had a great time but also made some good friends!

The rooms were clean, not too big, breakfast was ok! If u wanna eat scrumbled eggs u got to ask for them because they have to cook it at the moment.

Unforgettable holidays... Buenos Aires was amazing and its people even better!

Thanks Alex for everything!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanhendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I make a reservation in this hotel to spend my holidays (Reveillon 2011), but when I and my fiancé arrives there we found a lot of cockroaches on our room. We need to find another hotel and cannot stay, on these hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodrigues_brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Scala Hotel
Scala Hotel
#51 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#107 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#57 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#120 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#231 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Telmo

Property: Don Telmo
Address: Calle Mexico 974, Buenos Aires C1097AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a house from 1910, remodeled with all the necessities and comfort to make your stay in Buenos Aires unforgettable. Located in the heart of San Telmo, just three minutes from Puerto Madero, five minutes from La Boca y Caminito, two minutes from the Obelisco and just feet away from subways, Don Telmo is the perfect place to see the real Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Don Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Telmo Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing