We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Relaxing Stay at Estancia Villa Maria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estancia Villa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2009

When we think about our trip to Argentina, the one thing we would have changed would be to have spent more time at Villa Maria. We stayed 2 nights here in early February 2009, but should have stayed 4 nights. Our room with the balcony overlooking the estate's entrance and clawfoot tub with a view to the trees was nothing short of spectacular. And the little details at every turn made the stay more special. Our meals were a blend of traditional argentine and the more european cuisine that is a direct result of the melting pot population of Argentina. Our favorite meal was the parilla that we had for lunch one day, and the ultimate dessert was a dulce de leche crepe.

The ground were beautiful and we spent much time strolling, biking and horseback riding among them. The pool was older, but the view from the pool evoked a certain old school Hollywood type glamour.

The only reason we gave 4 stars for cleanliness was because during dinners on the patio there were large bugs that were attracted to the lights.

The staff was excellent and the reason we gave 4 stars was because they were occasionally hard to track down on the large estate. Further, we never figured out how to work the walkie talkie they gave us upon check in.

Everything about the estate was impressive, from the acres of manicured lawn to the beautiful antiques filling its halls and rooms.

Villa Maria is more like a boutique hotel than a working ranch, so don't expect gaucho shows and the other touristy trappings.

We'd love to come back one day but are a little worried about all the development they have planned.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2009

To me being in Estancia Villa Maria was a Total dream come true first of all because my hoby was there before an had great coments not only about the place but also about the pleople Joshefine (the manager) Hugo and so on. Prior to my trip I was able to see pictures of the place in my house and my husband telling for almost a year! I am going to take you there!. We stay for the day only and since a got there I was able to feel the beautiful energy of the nature in this place, Josephine took care of us with a great smile all the time and make sure that everithing was ok for both of us. Thank you, Josephine from the bottom of my heart. During the day we ride good horses around the Estancia, walk around beautiful landscaping there is a Roble that is beeing there since 1860. The food was great the vegetables were well pick and everything was serve with great taste end love, (very important). I personally can not wait to be there again soon, I enjoy the whole expirience in a place that I would say that have magic that only can be feelt in the presence of all together the house, the nature and the people who serves in Estancia Villa Maria to me It worth the trip and my housband is now very happy that he paid for his promise...Thanks to everybody and I see you soon...............Javier y Rosanel

Stayed: December 2008
Thank DonatellaCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I felt that the Estancia Villa Maria was a nice place to visit for a couple days to unwind during our extended South American trip. The place is certainly an oasis in a fairly rundown town outside the international airport. My daughters went horseback riding and swimming in the pool, which is a bit dated, but otherwise clean. The grounds are gorgeous, which was conducive to biking or long hikes. The meals are great, with plenty of it (and great wine).

As for the wiring issues that were previously mentioned, do watch out and make sure you talk to your bank about how to correctly fill out the wire instructions. It is confusing.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
Thank julianli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This place needs to spend some money to improve the grounds and the pool. The service is mediocre. The food is average. The pool was dirty and the lounge chairs were broken. When my wife and I stayed here, we ganged up with all the other guest and complained to the manager. This place is depressing and not worth the drive out from BA. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelGuyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I've partially written about our experience in the forum, but wanted to elaborate here. I've also written about this experience to "Travel and Leisure" magazine.

We really wanted to stay on an estancia in Argentia. I did a lot of research and found Estancia Villa Maria, which was written up in T&L magazine. I contacted the estancia by e-mail, heard back, and made a reservation.

Told that to hold the reservation I needed to pay 50% and the funds need to be wired. They sent the wire instructions which were complicated - wire to a primary account with instructions for the funds to go to a secondary account. The first wire was never recieved for some reason, but the money is no longer in my account. The second wire wasn't received until two weeks after I had sent it and after I had convinced myself that I'd been swindled. (I have receipts and e-mails documenting this.)

Anyway, we did go to Villa Maria, but only for 1 day instead of the 2 since I'm still not sure what happened to the other wire and I wasn't about to send more money.

The estate is spectacular. BUT, the person who met us when we arrived never told us our options for things to do at the estancia (horse back riding, tennis, etc). We never got parella (barbecue) and the meals were UNSPECTACULAR. Josephine, who we met late in the evening after arriving, was very hospitable and gracious which made up for the otherwise lackluster reception.

Overall, I would say to people looking for an estancia experience "don't stay there." When we were in Buenos Aires we heard so many good things about other estancias (Dos Talas, La Oriental, Santa Rita, etc) that we really felt cheated with our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank NickAgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

I stayed at the Estancia Villa Maria (EVM for short) for a few days with my family in early March, as a lead-in to a wedding in Buenos Aires. I can't overstate the incredible service, attention to detail, and friendliness of the staff at EVM. And did I mention that EVM isn't a hotel at all, but a 19th century Tudor mansion sitting on over 100 acres of land?

This place has horse back riding, carriage rides, tennis courts, a swimming pool, walking trails, stunning landscaping, and plenty of beautiful spaces from which to look out onto the property while curling up with a good book and a luscious glass of Malbec. I had SEVERAL glasses of this Argentine nectar during my stay, and, paired with the incredible selection of grilled meats (another Argentine specialty), was well worth the extra few pounds I put on:)

So, if you want a truly unique and tranquil place to stay when traveling to the Southern Hemisphere, look up EVM. The proprietress of the mansion, Ms. Josefina Cayol, will take better care of you than your own mother! (then again, my mom never served me wine and steak everyday;)

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TrippinNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank fiorellasilveira76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Pampas del Sur
#1 of 4 in Canuelas
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#137 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Villa Maria

Address: Av. Pereda s/n | Maximo Paz, Ezeiza, Buenos Aires 1812, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 471 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $330 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia Villa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estancia Villa Maria is located in Buenos Aires (Ezeiza). Selected by Travel+Leisure magazine as one of the best estates in South America, and one of the best traditional hotels in the world by Forbes Traveler, Villa María is one of the most distinguished country hotels in Argentina. The Manor House features 11 guestrooms, a restaurant and a cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Estancia Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Villa Maria Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing