We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“great building, great story” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Barolo

Palacio Barolo
Book In Advance
and up
Buenos Aires Must-See Landmarks: Obelisco to La Boca Walking Tour
Ranked #21 of 673 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The PALACIO illustrates and pays tribute to THE DIVINE COMEDY written by DANTE ALIGHIERI. This building shows a unique architectural style, mingling the neo-Romanesque and neo-Gothic appearance followed by the dome, with its original hindu design, which belongs to the region of Bhubaneshwar. It represents the tantric union between Dante and Beatrice, both protagonists of The Divine Comedy.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great building, great story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

different place to visit, amazing story. Nice night and different view of buenos Aires.
Small groups and guide speaks in english

Visited January 2012
1 Thank MaxiMantovani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View from the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The building is impressive and it has a great view from the top. you go up to the 14th floor and then up a narrow spiral stairway up to the top. If you are claustrophobic, you may not like it getting closer to the top. However the view of the city from the top is great. The guide was informative but serious. I enjoyed the visit.

Visited November 2012
Thank zoricelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Views, Horrible Rip-off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ok, so here's the deal: We loved being able to go up on top of a building to see the 365 view of Buenos Aires and I must say, it is amazing! However, it was totally crazy that our tour was so short and we barely got to take pictures. The history is interesting in terms of how the Palacio Barolo was crafted and the meaning behind it, but we could barely understand the guide even though our tour was in English. Here's where it gets even more disappointing. My husband and I met a couple who also wanted to photograph from the top of the building. When our tour was ending we asked our guide if we could have a few more moments to take pictures and he informed us that if we wanted to take photos of the sunset then we would have to pay full-price to do the tour again even though we had just paid. Now call me crazy or feel what I am saying, but I think that it is totally ridiculous that he charged us again (although he finally discounted the price by $20.00 pesos) just to take a few more photos on the 19th or 21st floor. If you can find a tall building to visit for free in Buenos Aires, then definitely go that route because this tour is totally not worth it for the 5 minutes they offer you. That is of course if your reasoning for going to visit this place is to take pictures. Otherwise, enjoy your tour.

Visited November 2012
7 Thank Ms_Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Impressive 360 views from top!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Superbly detailed ornate architecture on the outside and in lobby. The view of the city and the congress building are incredible from the top! Two minutes walk from congress building.

1 Thank Zahid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pretty Building with Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were able to get tickets for this tour within 15 minutes of the tour. The tour lasts about an hour, and is in Spanish and English. The outside of the building, the lobby, and the views are gorgeous. The tour of the other floors of the building is pretty lackluster (unless you're big into architecture, but even then- not anything special on the inside to the average tourist), but it's worth sitting through it for the 360 views at the top. There are tiny balconies at the top that you can step outside to take pictures, and they take you to the very top and turn on the light house. Definitely worth an hour of your time for the views. There are quite a few very narrow stairs to get to the top, so note that if you can't walk up a lot of stairs it may be difficult. They do have an elevator at the top, but it only takes one person at a time.

Visited August 2012
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio Barolo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District

Been to Palacio Barolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing