We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tango lessons at Caseron Porteno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #43 of 257 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My two and a half weeks at Caseron Porteno was extremely enjoyable. The room was comfortable and well appointed and didn't become too hot even though it was the height of summer. The maid and breakfast service were fine and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The house itself and the surrounding area, within easy reach of Palermo Hollywood and some excellent restaurants, was attractive and atmospheric. Finally, my private lessons with Maya Gaillard were some of the most detailed and demanding, but always encouraging dance classes I have ever had. Her approach was both artistically and pedagogically most impressive, focussing on what I had already learnt a year ago in Buenos Aires and later here in Seoul, and then analysing, correcting and refining my technique and posture. In addition she has a superior command of English. Wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Even if not really central, Caseron Porteno is a very nice place with a room to practice Tango.
Staff is really nice and helpful.
We'll go back next year.
We just recomend to give a bit more variety in breakfast for people staying long.
The atmosphere is friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I loved my stay here! Alejandra and Nico were both extremely helpful and obliging, whether it was to check something on the internet, call up to inquire about a show or anything else where help was needed.
The living area and terrace upstairs were nice places to relax after a long day of sightseeing.
Unfortunately I couldn't make it to the free tango classes, but I heard they were good.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks in July during their winter, so I didn't get to sit outside very often in their pretty courtyard. The hosts, Daniel and Cynthia were very helpful and nice and Emiliano and Alexandra were always available to help me. I was a solo traveler for the first week of my stay and I felt very safe and was able to navigate the city easily with all the tips they gave me. The free tango lessons were great and I would definitely recommend taking part in them. I had a nice, quiet room facing the courtyard would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doni1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It has a nice court inside, in a day it is warm with sunshine. We spent 2 nights in this hotel, and enjoyed Buenos Aires. The hosts were really kind for us, giving a city map, telling recommend places, and serving warm breakfast. They seemed to be our family. Security is also good, so we felt relieved even if in the unsafe city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute. Caseron Porteno is well situated for the underground and taxis. The area is friendly and safe with restaurants and supermarkets very close, over the road in fact. The staff are helpful and friendly , we did not take any of the Tango lessons but they were available.
The breakfast was good and the rooms were very clean and comfortable, th seperate bathroom was OK and not inconvenient. The kitchen was open all of the time and well appointed.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are noisy due to outside traffic but did not prevent a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's a very warm and friendly place - with a homely feel. Room was basic but sufficient, separate but private bathroom bit on the small side - we stayed in the most basic room as we were only there for one day and superior rooms weren't available for such short bookings during that time. Breakfast was again basic but good and more than enough. Serene garden. Convenient location - close to subway and buses. Alejandra is extremely nice and helpful - apart from feeding us and settling us in, she also planned our day, drew it all out on the map with directions for alternative transport, and changed our notes so we could pay for the buses which only take coins. Tango lesson was brilliant, fantastic teacher! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Other residents were also very friendly and chatty, more so than anywhere else we stayed on our 3 week trip, which added to the homely feel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ninoknus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gawci, Propietario at Caseron Porteno B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for your nice and sincere opinion.
We just wanted to let you know that after you left we renovated the whole hotel, with new furniture and equipment in all rooms. New box springs and mattresses, new closets, new desks, lamps, and even new bed sheets and quilts! We also repainted the entire house and rooms.
So we hope that you come to visit us again in the furture and enjoy our improved rooms.
Best regards,
Cinthia & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,467 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,443 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,422 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#51 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing