We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“middle-average hostel in B.A which must behave in a more professional way” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #127 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
MUNICH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“middle-average hostel in B.A which must behave in a more professional way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hostel in April 2012.
The location is good, (few blocks from the heart of Palermo), the hostel looks very pretty, an old house well renovated and decorated with good taste.
We booked per email and it was till the last day quite impossible to get the clear confirmation - we finally got our room without any problem.
The room we had (n°8) is quite good but located just above the hall and this was very noisy during the night when people go to bed and wait in the lobby (especially once at 12pm) when people went out and waited for their friends in the lobby.
The staff is very polite and nice but according to us, they should take care more of their guests. We had 2 bad experiences:
- we asked them to order a taxi at 5am (to go to Aeroparque airport). It had obviously never been done and we finally got a taxi at 5:20am after asking the night guy to order one.
- we wanted to come back for 2 nights after our journey in Argentina before flying back to Europe. We asked the hotel staff to book then 2 additional nights. Once we went back - late in the evening - they told us that the booking was not done at the correct dates and then "unfortunately there were no room available for the nights". The french boss almost ignored us, mentioned that we gave the wrong dates (which we don't think), he just offered us to use the guest laptop to find another hotel on booking.com. After finding one in the neighborhoods ( a little bit more expensive but really good - Aura Suites Boutique Hotel) , he just mentioned that we were lucky to have found (Palermo has a high demand) and neither offered to pay the taxi to get there or to take over any price difference.
Conclusion: nice place to stay but don't trust them and double ask the confirmation. Difficult to trust them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THIBAUT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escapade_bsas, Manager at Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apoligize about the 2 inconvenients and we are actually happy that we helped you to choose Aura Suite that you enjoyed.

Taxi : The booking has been done properly.

After investigating, we did book the taxi, but the taxi did'nt arrive at it should have appear.
We feel sorry for that inconvenient which is out of our control.

Check in date were wrong : We expected you the night before.

You are totally wright to mention that they have been a mistake for your check in date, on your 2nd trip to the hotel.
This booking has been done directly to our staff , on your 1st stay.
In fact, we may be responsible for that date mistake. We do apologize and we fairly accpet this mistake withouht any charge.

If you ever decide to visit Buenos Aire in the future you are more than welcome.
we garanty you a free upgrade.
Best regards.

Yann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    122
    43
    26
    11
See reviews for
25
153
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Hotel Costa Rica for 5 nights in March and we couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. All of the staff members were so friendly and willing to offer helpful hints about transport, activites and food recommendations and went out their way to help us when we experienced some issues trying to book travel in Colonia, Uruguay due to our limited "traveller's Spanish". :)

Our room was simple but very clean, bright, comfortable and quiet.

We're walkers and like to use public transport and really enjoyed the area (just watch out for the dog "stuff" on the ground; a common occurance in Palermo). It was close enough to walk to the main roads, busses and subway system and close enough to walk to a number of great night hang outs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeDubyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed at hotel costa rica for 3 nights and four days in april 2012. We enjoyed our stay, particularly the location. The hotel is in Palermo SoHo, a ten minute walk from the major shopping/restaurant area. It is also located a 15 minute walk from the subway. As two girls we felt comfortable walking around the area at night and ran into no problems

As another reviewer stated, the rooms are somewhat basic, but they are clean and comfortable with working air conditioning. The common areas are very chic, with a number of living rooms with TVs as well as assorted travel books for reference. The hotel has Wifi, although I believe the router is on the first floor so our top floor room couldn't receive a signal.

The staff was friendly and helpful, calling taxis as needed, providing directions, hair dryers and anything else we needed.

On the whole, we found hotel costa rica to be charming and welcoming and a great value for the price. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own bathrooms an others do not - if you have a preference make sure to specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestTravelAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed there in mid-March 2012. Located on a quiet street away from much of the noise. Good place to stay if you don't mind walking a little. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable, though no door on bathroom is a bit odd. Good king bed & quiet. Will hold your bags if you have late departure. Would definitely come back here. Recommended for people over 30 who don't want all night party scene.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I can't speak highly enough about Hotel Costa Rica. My buddy and I skipped over to BA from Porto Alegre Brazil for the weekend (two days, one night). We chose Hotel Costa Rica because it was the lowest priced and highest rated hotel in the Palermo neighborhood. We opted for the room/communal bath option - something I haven't done in many moons.

The location is rather centrally located, only a 5-7 minute walk from great shopping, eating and nightlife. The building is very charming and comfortable with multiple places to perch and read a book, enjoy a glass of wine or even catch some late day sun. There is a small bar in the "lobby", which serves a small selection of wine/liquor/beer as well as espresso drinks - good place to chat with other guests and/or check email on the free wifi.

The staff is *extremely* nice and welcoming - very eager to assist you with a restaurant, site-seeing or shopping recommendation. They are way make this quaint little hotel the true gem that it is.

The beds were comfortable and the communal baths were clean and more than adequate (PLENTY of hot water). This is not the Ritz, and it doesn't pretend to be; nonetheless, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a charming and relaxing getaway in BA with or without a special someone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midnyterambla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We quite enjoyed the stay, albeit the remodeled mansion offers rather basic rooms. There are very nice rooftop terraces and common areas. The neighborhood abounds with good restaurants and boutiques (although you have to walk to get there). Overall, it was a pleasant stay despite some noisy parties in the adjacent house.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bus_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Old house greatly recycled. Rooms are ok depending on what you choose. Service is very good. Breakfast is great, lots of foreigners and very safe
We'll comei back
Enjoy!
Moro

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moro1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#71 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Palermo
Blue Soho Hotel
Blue Soho Hotel
#365 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Palermo
Rugantino Hotel Boutique
Rugantino Hotel Boutique
#197 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#121 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Palermo
Koten Hotel
Koten Hotel
#413 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Palermo
Infinito Hotel
Infinito Hotel
#202 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Costa Rica
Address: Calle Costa Rica 4137 39, Buenos Aires C1176ADE, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL COSTA RICA mix the warmness of home with Palermo's style. 3 blocks away from the heart of Palermo Soho, internationally as the epicenter of night life. It counts with 25 rooms warmly decorated that invite you to have a rest after the city tour you must do.Enjoy the sun, magical sunrises on the roof and the magic of the nights in our bar sharing drinks and moments with other guests. That make the charm of our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Hotel
Costa Rica Buenos Aires
Hotel Costa Rica Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing