We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming, quiet- a lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #125 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This old mansion is beautiful. I loved staying here simply for its charm. The rooms are clean, nice and adequate. We shared a bathroom, it wasn't great logistically but it was ok.

It's in a quieter part of Palermo but walk 5 minutes and you're in the main restaurant and shopping district. Staff are lovely and very helpful.

I stayed with a friend which was fine, but its perfect for couples.

Things to be aware of (which weren't an issue for us): There are no computers but wifi works well. Breakfast for 25 pesos is continental only (crossaints, coffee, juice). There are quite a few stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rand0m_pers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 410 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pwrfect quiet street in Palermo Soho. Close to plenty of shopping and dining in Palermo. Nice staff, unique style in renovated building.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in the double room with shared bathroom. The room was very nice and there is a lovely rooftop terrace that was a great place to hang out after our long days in the city! The only downside is that there are only one male and one female bathroom to share between 5 rooms, so if someone is in the shower (as usually someone is) then you have to wait to use the toilet and sink too. Everything else about the hotel was great... location, price, common areas, breakfast, and luggage storage.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Close to Old Palermo, staff was helpful. Rooms were clean. Nice roof deck. Coffee was great but should be included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangoalphayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were in and out of Buenos Aires a lot for Day trips and weekends and the hotel was more than helpful in storing our bags, giving advice, etc.

It is located close enough to palermo clubs and food to walk but far away enough to be on a quiet street.

We were in vacation there and out all the time so the small size of the room did not bother us at all.

Loved the design of the hotel.

Room Tip: we were upstairs and it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann_Brazil, Propietario at Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thanks a lot for your review.
I allways consider it's more easy to take time to complain rather than taking time to express that you had been fully satisfied. Thanks a lot a lot for choosing us and enjoying our style and attention.
Merry Xmast and happy new year !!!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed ourselves. I think the location is good - you are about three blocks from a very active and cool part of Palermo -- a great plaza with restaurants and shops around it. We walked for hours exploring the neighborhood near the hotel. Our room was simple and clean with incredibly high ceilings. My husband was a little bothered that the bathroom didn't have a door - just an archway - kind of hard to explain but it looked very cool and stylish. (I think other rooms may have doors.) We had a small balcony looking onto Costa Rica street, so it was noisy in the mornings (we were sleeping in), with the buses going by. But I loved the view, and the curtains were excellent for keeping out the light while we slept. The common areas of the hotel (lounge, bar, rooftop terrace) are very comfortable and inviting. The staff was gracious and kind. It was a very good value - we paid US $130 for the master room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycarol111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here last year...its a lovely hotel steps from Palermo Viejo...a design hotel...only thing the rooms downstairs are a bit noisy in the morning...so try stay upstairs...breakfast lovely by the bar and personell very friendly...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Infinito Hotel
Infinito Hotel
#187 of 444 in Buenos Aires
202 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#64 of 444 in Buenos Aires
555 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#352 of 444 in Buenos Aires
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#127 of 444 in Buenos Aires
573 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,445 reviews
Palermo
Didi Soho Hotel
Didi Soho Hotel
#374 of 444 in Buenos Aires
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Calle Costa Rica 4137 39, Buenos Aires C1176ADE, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $37 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL COSTA RICA mix the warmness of home with Palermo's style. 3 blocks away from the heart of Palermo Soho, internationally as the epicenter of night life. It counts with 25 rooms warmly decorated that invite you to have a rest after the city tour you must do.Enjoy the sun, magical sunrises on the roof and the magic of the nights in our bar sharing drinks and moments with other guests. That make the charm of our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Hotel
Costa Rica Buenos Aires
Hotel Costa Rica Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing