We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but get an upgraded room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goya Buenos Aires
Ranked #348 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. It's very central and you can walk to shopping, attractions, restaurants, etc. However, this also means it's noisey at night which I personally don't mind. We stayed in both a standard room and the "presidential suite". The standard room was below average - needed to be painted,very uncomfortable bed, tired furniture. The bede was in the shower leaving not that much room for a person to shower. The shower was not self-contained and therefore leaked in to the bedroom. For the 3rd and 4th night we ended up moving to the "presidential suite", which was substantially better. The bathroom was much more updatted and the room was a little nicer. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. There were computers to use, but they didn't work; however, there are many, many Internet cafes located close by so that wasn't a problem. Overall this hotel is not the greatest, but you really can not beat the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel is ok but I am sure you could get nicer hotels for the money. The bathroom drains were very, very stinky each morning and not the nicest thing to wake up to. The buffet breakfast was mainly a selection of biscuits and cakes, not much actual proper breakfast food. The room was tired but it did get tidied and cleaned every day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sineadceinwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel at the very last minute, quite literally - from the city airport in BA! There were very few inexpensive options as we returned to BA at the height of Carnavale. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel some 30 minutes after making the booking. The hotel is very centrally located, just a few blocks from Florida and Lavalle Streets and other touristy areas. Excellent security too. Our room was available immediately, and Carlos, who manned the reception when we arrived, was truly exceptional - gave us a map, showed us some places where we might want to go, and was ready to answer all our questions including where to see a tango show and even helped us translate a menu flyer we got from a restaurant! The hotel layout was admittedly a bit awkward with a requirement to take two different elevators to get to our room, but we weren't bothered. I think our rooms were "superior class" - truly excellent------very new, very modern, super swank bathroom. However, no mini bar or fridge to keep our drinks cool! Also, no wi-fi access from our room (though available on the 1st floor of the hotel). Also, the breakfast was not really our thing----lots of cakes and pastries when we were hoping for bacon and eggs! All that said, we enjoyed our experience at this hotel, although a little more expensive than we had hoped to pay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SonjaAndRoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We had 4 nights here in a superior room at the rear of the hotel so there was very little traffic noise. The room was spacious with wardrobe, bedside cabinets, lamps, TV, 2 chairs and a table. New tiled ensuite with bath and shower over, a plug! plus wash line. Security access, breakfast on the top floor with seating area outside. Internet on first floor, 2 machines but found them slow, small seating area close by. Staff spoke some English and were friendly enough. Good location close to shops and eating places.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Goya for 2 nights. The staff was OK but the breakfast all what you get is cake, a big selection but I like beacon and eggs not sticky cakes. The rooms are not very clean and very noisy. On our way back we stayed at a much better place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Staff were friendly enough and helpfull but the room was a hole.
Booked a superior room for the last 2 nights of our holiday.
Carpet was stained and sticky with ciggerete burns as were the bed sheets. The walls were also long over due a coat of paint. The net curtains were black and blocked any light from the small window which looked like it haddn't been cleaned for some time, only a concrete wall to be seen through it any way. The room had air conditioning but all this seemed to do was make noise and circulate the bad smells in the room. The bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated and was OK.

Breakfast was a large buffet of mostly cakes and pastries, great if you have a sweet tooth but no alternative if you don't.

Seems to be pot luck with the rooms as the hotel website photos and those submitted by other reviewers look OK. There was some evidence of ongoing renovations.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank monty024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

If you can overlook the stains in the carpet and the smallness of the rooms, this hotel is an excellent bargain!

The standouts of this hotel are: very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, and great central location.

Staff is attentive and friendly. On multiple occasions we left our bags with them for the day before catching our evening bus ride or flight out of the city.

Breakfast here is a real treat given the wide assortment of traditional Argentine pastries!

This hotel is within walking distance of everything because it is right in the middle of the city...its close to the Subway, shopping and restaurants and all the key monuments and attractions Buenos Aires has to offer. It is also within 20 minutes walking of the main bus station which makes it easy for those traveling with backpacks.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank empanadita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Hotel 8 de Octubre
Hotel 8 de Octubre
#329 of 444 in Buenos Aires
78 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Facon Grande
Hotel Facon Grande
#115 of 444 in Buenos Aires
410 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#164 of 444 in Buenos Aires
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Mayflower Suites
Mayflower Suites
#375 of 444 in Buenos Aires
294 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel El Cabildo
Hotel El Cabildo
#172 of 444 in Buenos Aires
213 reviews
San Nicolas
Viasui Hotel
Viasui Hotel
#231 of 444 in Buenos Aires
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya Buenos Aires

Address: Suipacha, 748, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $47 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goya Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Goya Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing