We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like sleep don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Sol Hostel Recoleta
Reviewed April 17, 2009

the managers or owners are very friendly but OMG don't try sleeping there is noise from traffic and people talking/chatting/parting music all night long. I can't honestly recommend this unless you are very young and can survive on 0 hours sleep, or are the type that could sleep through a plane crash. I had earplugs and it didn't help it was just AWFUL.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for El Sol Hostel Recoleta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2008

Old building very safe in a good neighbourhood , fantasic map given to us by staff who were very helpfull and welcoming.
Booked a tango lesson and show for us.


No noise, clean and given a heater for room which was great.
Lovely Bakeries around the corner

No safety deposit boxes but didnt have a problem.

Nice hostel Would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScorpioDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

First off, I stayed there from begin September until mid December. And I loved every day there.

Now...where to begin...The owner (paul) is probably the most helpful guy you'll ever find. Ofcourse there are rules to which you must keep, but that's the same for every place. And even still, some of the rules can be bend a little.
There's this dog called Maya (a Chiwawa I think?)which I'm sure every girl who goes there will love.

Unlike other hostels this place feels more like a home than just some place you're staying at. From the very beginning I felt part of a family. All the guests staying there are almost immediately taken into the group, so if you're travelling alone and you want to meet some interesting people, this would definitely be the place to go to.

The place itself isn't the cleanest place, but it isn't meant to be. It has it charms the way it is. Though I must say, nothing is dirty or anything, it just looks that way, but it all ads to the charm!

In my opinion, if you're gonna be in Buenos Aires, there is only one place to stay, and that's El Sol Hostel!

regards,
Belgian Bart

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bartfliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

El Sol Hostel is actually the home of an American ex-pat where he welcomes people to come together and socialize. I would recommend the hostel for people looking to make friends, hang out, and explore Buenos Aires. The hostel can become noisy at night as people come and go, cook, and talk into the early morning. If you are a traveler looking for a quiet room and you want to keep your privacy, I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B4175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank rubens0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marjolaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Petit Recoleta Hostel
Petit Recoleta Hostel
#50 of 465 in Buenos Aires
200 reviews
Recoleta
Piccaluga Apartments
Piccaluga Apartments
#51 of 465 in Buenos Aires
64 reviews
Recoleta
Reina Madre Hostel
Reina Madre Hostel
#18 of 465 in Buenos Aires
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Media Veronica Hostel Buenos Aires
Media Veronica Hostel Buenos Air...
#64 of 465 in Buenos Aires
55 reviews
Palermo
Play Hostel
Play Hostel
#21 of 465 in Buenos Aires
136 reviews
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#33 of 465 in Buenos Aires
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol Hostel Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Hostel Recoleta

Address: Calle Marcelo T de Alvear 1590 | P. 2 & 3, Buenos Aires C1060AAD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 465 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $13 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place at a great price for travellers who want to enjoy Buenos Aires while staying in a safe, central location. El Sol Recoleta is truly one of a kind. Run by a friendly staff that includes artists, adventurers and intellectuals from various countries, we're conveniently located at the southern end of Recoleta neighborhood. Sights such as the Obelisk, Plaza de Mayo, Teatro Colon, Congreso, Cemeterio de Recoleta and the Florida Street promenade are only minutes away by foot.The well preserved French-style building (1890) evokes the glorious past of the city's Golden Age, although the gritty, fast-paced and highly cultured vibe of contemporary Buenos Aires is never far.The hostel is located on three floors (sorry, no elevator, but we will help you with your luggage, no worries!). There are 4-6-bed dorms, private rooms with shared or private bathrooms. All the rooms on the 1st level have nice balconies, the 2nd level has an open-air terrace and a bar where we make most delicious pizzas and serve drinks in the evenings. At the weekends we organize concerts with local or international bands, don't miss it!The breakfast we serve is a typical argentinian breakfast with fresh pastries. "Medialunas y facturas", daily delivered from the bakery. Dulce de leche, of course :-) Plenty of coffee, milk an tea.In order to remain affordable we provide modestly decorated rooms and fewer extra services. Please remember that this is an affordable youth hostel, not a hotel.We'll go out of our way to make you feel welcome and well informed about our city.Tango shows, tickets for football matches, entrance to clubs and info about the events in BsAs - are only a few things available at the reception. We can call you a cab, arrange an airport transfer, provide you with maps of the city and the neighbourhood area.El Sol Recoleta is the perfect choice for easy-going adventurers, budget-minded backpackers and anyone else looking for a unique place to stay. Think of it as sharing a big house with other travellers.Nos vemos pronto!kind regards,Paul Gallinato and the El Sol Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Sol Hostel Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing