We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bad and The Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Bad and The Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights just recently (September '13)

The Bad:

1) The staff speak hardly any English, in contrast to Amercian Del Sur where they all speak fluent English. OK, so Argentinians are not known for their English prowess but in a city of 12M people surely they can find a student studying English who wants to work behind reception for a few hours? Having said that they do make an effort to understand

2) The reception is closed after 7 so you need to co-ordinate in advance your arrivals and departures (taking left luggage) after this time

3) One of the showers doesn't work very well meaning boiling or freezing cold showers

The Good:
1) There's a nice communal breakfast, lounge area, and im guessing in high season it could be quite sociable

2) Rooms were clean and functional

If its high season and you cant get into the American Del Sur this place could be worth staying at (but they really need to address the above issues!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    71
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
11
27
84
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hostel, in the private room, for 5 nights. The room is clean, tidy and cozy. The hostel was comfortable enough for a good night's rest.

However, depending on your luck, sometimes the hostel can have very noisy fellow occupants (who practically stayed up all night to talk and only stopped talking when it hits 6am), you may have to wear ear plugs in order to sleep. So I guess that indicates that the walls are pretty thin and noise can really travel down to your room.

The staff however are friendly and helpful. As I wasn't accustomed to the cold weather in Buenos Aires, the staff kindly lent me a portable heater throughout my stay. The staff also assisted me in whatever possible way they can, despite speaking little English. They come across as sincere and helpful, which makes my stay really pleasant.

For the price I paid for this hostel, I think it meets the minimum requirements. Free wifi, basic breakfast and clean rooms. The staff there is a plus point. Although the reception closes early, as long as you check your room thoroughly after check in to ensure everything is in working condition, it shouldn't pose a problem.

Indeed the street where the hostel is located can get pretty quiet and with random people loitering along the streets, but it should only be a worry if you're back late, like say 11pm or 12 am onwards. Otherwise, the street will still remain busy till 8-9pm, on weekdays. It is much quieter on weekends due to the lack of the working crowd. Just exercise caution and be alert of your surroundings, it will be alright staying in this hostel.

Room Tip: Private rooms are excellent if you are a light sleeper and have extra cash to spare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hostel from the airport around 7 pm. Nowhere on the website or in the booking email does it mention that the hostel reception is open only until 6:30 pm. There was someone at reception who quickly showed us to our private ensuite room.
However by the time we realised that our bathroom door doesn't shut and that we didn't have enough blankets against the cold, it was too late and reception was closed. We had to sleep that night camping style, with our jackets and wooly wear. Even to use the aircon in the room we had to contact reception and it was too late for that.
This was just the start of our problems at the place. The other ones:
1. On the second morning, I discovered that there was no cold running water from the basin and shower. I had to have a shower with boiling hot water only. By the time it was my partner's time , there was no water in the bathroom at all. I had to tell reception and they showed no great alacrity in fixing it.
2. Next morning we had to get ready by 6:30 am and get out the door. And you guessed it , there was no water again! And the reception was boarded up with no emergency contact details.
For the usd 74 per night we paid , service and facilities were appaling. Steer clear of this one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had to stay in this hostel for one night (Saturday 6th of May). Even though I confirmed my reservation with 3 days in advance they put me in a cheaper different room and they didn't give me back my money. Even though it is located in the microcentro area, the hostel is in a very dark street and not safe at all at night.
The breakfast is poor and not very complete, not to say, not many tables to sit around. The lift was not working at the time.
THE WORST THING OF THE HOSTEL is that they are only attend guests until 630 pm, so if you get there in the morning before check in time (11am), you leave your bags, go for a walk and come back to the hostel after 630 pm, you might probably get left outside. The common area to hang out is not big at all.
For the price of this hostel you can definetely get a way better service in another places in the micro centro area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranAliende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hostel in a nice area of town. Very clean and free bed sheets as well! Free wifi and breakfast is also a good thing, I will be returning in the future. The staff is very friendly and helpful with booking of transfers, football matches etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon-Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The good: great location, very clean, comfortable common area, friendly and helpful staff, discount if you pay in $USD, great clean showers / washrooms with lots of hot water, good wifi. 

The bad: pencil and paper reservation system lends itself to errors, staff play loud music all day and night including (inexplicably) during breakfast, they do not accept credit cards, staff rarely check hostel email so booking in advance is difficult - which probably explains why it is never full, there is only one small fridge for guests, there are extra costs for air conditioning that are not revealed until after you check in. 

The unusual: the rooms have old fashioned keys that work perfectly but give some people problems. It's not unusual to hear people in the hallways for several minutes at a time struggling with the locks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at V&S for about 3 weeks while taking a Spanish course. The hostel is great. The staff is really friendly (and speak fluent English), the rooms and bathrooms are superclean, the beds are comfortable enough and the location is splendid, incredibly central. Decent WiFi as well. I would recommend this hostel to anyone, but perhaps especially to those travelling alone seeing as you'll get to know an abundance of lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#22 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Recoleta
Reina Madre Hostel
Reina Madre Hostel
#21 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
#19 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
San Telmo
Ostinatto Hostel
Ostinatto Hostel
#12 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#33 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires

Property: V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
Address: Viamonte 887, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 487 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V&S Hostel Club is housed in a renovated 19th-century French-style house and offers budget accommodation in Buenos Aires, just 400 meters from the Obelisco. Lima Metro Station is 200 meters away. It has a shared kitchen. The private rooms of V&S Hostel Club are spacious and bright. They have floor with carpet or porcelanain, private bathroom. Shared rooms have a shared bathroom. Guests can make use of the shared and equipped kitchen. We offer a terrace in the city and a reading room where you can enjoy a coffee or tea. Each guest has lockers available in each shared room and we offer a deposit with private lockers. Before check in or after check out the guest can leave their luggage in our deposit at no additional cost. The property offers free city maps, free walking tours, free bike rentals. At the reception it is possible to book tickets for art exhibitions, tango shows, bowling and football matches. The property provides laundry facilities and luggage storage. V&S Hostel Club is 400 meters from the Obelisco and 200 meters from Florida Street. Ezeiza Airport is a 45-minute drive away. We offer the transfer service to Ezeiza or Jorge Newbery Airport by regular or private bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v&s Hostel Club Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
v And s Hostel Club Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing