We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, fun hostel in a cool location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ostinatto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ostinatto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, fun hostel in a cool location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Not the cheapest but certainly one of the best hostels I've stayed at. A bit noisy but if you're looking for a fun and friendly hostel then this is it. There's also loads of free fun and interesting stuff to do. We did the tango lessons and city tour. It's clean and the staff are really nice plus the bar area is really cool. San Telmo was also my favourite part of town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamwellChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hola Samwell!
Thanks for what you said!!
Yes, of course there are hostels cheaper hostels than us, but they don't offer FOR FREE for their guests Yoga classes, Tango lesson, spanish class and 2 different walking tours. Anyway, we're not expensive, neither the cheapest one.
And at midnight we shut down the music and ans everyone for silence, and then the bar close at 1:30 and we never continue party after that at the hostel, we go into one of the plenty discos in BA.
We hope see you again so you can enjoy your favourite neighborhood, San Telmo.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO HOSTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    80
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
3
49
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel was recommended to us however we moved after one night just to have a bit of peace and quiet. Perhaps it was a one-off but there was loud music blaring from 6pm until midnight (apart from during the one hour for yoga during which it was turned down) and the rooms are built around a vertical space so that the sound was carried up to all floors.
On our floor there was no light in the toilet which my partner reported to the reception but it wasn't fixed during the time that we stayed. Apart from this the hostel is aesthetically pleasing and seems to be quite efficiently run. Our windowless room was nice enough and the breakfast was fine.
Regarding the cost, we moved to a small hotel nearby which was actually cheaper than the hostel and included a private bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyBlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hi Ally!
As you said we have the bar open from 6pm until 1:30am, but at midnight there's no more music at the hostel and we ask everyone for silence. Here in Argentina we dinner late and we also go to bed late, so we think that midnight is ok to be quiet.
We're really sorry that we couldn't help you with the light, we have a mantenance person during the day, but if something happens after that time we try to fix it, sorry about that problem.
Perhaps what you were looking for since firs moment was a hotel, and we have private rooms but we're a hostel.
We hope you to come back to our hostel and experience a better time.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Ostinatto and had an absolutely fabulous time! Our favourite hostel in South America! Great breakfasts, quiet but friendly and spacious common areas, complimentary tango and Spanish classes, Ostinatto just ticked every box. The dorms were comfortable with beds spread amply and the bathrooms were immaculately cleaned throughout the day. Cannot recommend highly enough for those wanting to explore the lovely San Telmo area of BA and be well connected (metro/bus/on foot) with the rest of town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hola Hose!
We loved your comments, thaks! This make us keep going with the good service!
About the conection with the rest of the town, we have at 100mts several bus lines and we're 4 blocks from 2 subway stations, also we're at 800mts from the downtown. But we're not inside of it, we preffer San Telmo, is a nicer neighborhood.
We're waiting for you to come back!

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent nine nights here in May. The staff were brilliant, helping us to have a great time in BA. Located in San Telmo, between the centre of town and San Telmo's main square. Really trendy area with the best value places to eat and drink in town. Rooms were pretty good, stayed in a private double with a private shower and toilet bathroom about 5 meters down the hall (you get a key to keep it locked). We had a week of Spanish lessons at the Portenisima language school there. The school come to the hostel and you can get lessons (there is one free every week if you don't want to pay too) and were really good. The hostel puts something on almost every day too. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martynrailton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hola Martyn!
Thanks for all your comments, we really appreciate and what you saiud is what it is here at Ostinatto.
We hope see you again here.
Best regards!

OSTINATTO HOSTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The staff is amazingly friendly and are glad to speak to you in English or Spanish. They gave me recommendations for everything I wanted to do. I took advantage of a free Tango lesson, which was a lot of fun, and they organize other things including a free Spanish class. There's information in the lobby updated daily with things to do and see in BA. The kitchen is a good size for cooking and the rooms are cleaned daily. It was a great value and I thought it had a really nice mix of social and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurstonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hola Hurston!

We are very glad with your comments, thanks!
We always try to be friendly and help our guests.
And our free serviices are very good as you said, Tango, Yoga, spanish class and also 2 diferent walking tours weekly! So we're happy that you could enjoy of them.
We hope see you around again.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

After staying at 2 other hostels in BA, it was a blessing to find Ostinatto and it's staff. They all went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful city. Breakfast was plentiful, the cleaners came through the rooms daily and bathrooms and kitchen were tended to regularly. Ben, Vicky and Juli are legends and were what made us stay and cancel our booking at Art Factory, we didn't want to leave...missing you guys already. This is definitely the place to stay in BA, a good balance of social and chill. Close to lots of transport, supermarkets and the wonderful San Telmo Sunday markets.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazonTour_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hola Karen!
Thank you very much! We also miss you here, so we're waiting for you at any time! So, when that's going to be...?? Come on! Come back!! hahaha
Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as a starting point for a 6 month trip. Firstly the staff were very friendly and helpful, secondly the architecture of the building was fantastic.The location of this place is also great, close to great restaurants. Only downfall to the interior architecture is that the noise easily echoes and bounces up the hollow center. We had a double room on level 3 which had no ventilation as the top interior window didnt open and the matress was very hard. This place is great if you are looking to party as there is a great little bar downstairs that does a cracking happy hour. Only downfall is that with the parties starting every night at 1:30 am there is no chance getting sleep if your not either passed out drunk yourself or have incredibly good earplugs to cancel out the noise. I am generally not a light sleeper but even with earplugs in it was hard to get some down time. Even a conversation at ground level seemed to resonate up the walls.
Breakfast was good and strong coffee was welcome. They also do a great laundry for 20 pesos.
So in short great place if you dont mind staying up all night till the wee hours, not so good if your looking for some rest and chill out time after a big trip.
Also the price was substantially higher for a double than other hostels we have been to.

Room Tip: Get as high up in the building as you can get!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hola Josh!
Let me tell you that the bar closes at 1:30am, not more than that, and then at the hostel we shut down the music and ask for silence at midnight. So is not possible to have a party after 1:30 in the morningm we're not a party hostel and we don't want that with all the options of discos that you have in Buenos Aires.
But despite of this we're happy that you like lots of things from our hostel!
We hope see you again here so we can fill up what you think about us.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#62 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#27 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostinatto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostinatto Hostel

Property: Ostinatto Hostel
Address: Calle Chile 680 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1098AAN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ostinatto Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique minimal hostel located in the historic neighborhood of San Telmo. Ostinatto is anything but old, but a recycled XX century building that combines an old structure with a fine minimalistic design. All of our rooms are clean and functional with plenty of locker space and new beds. All in all, Ostinatto offers something for everyone; close enough to be near all the action yet far enough to relax away from the bustle of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Ostinatto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostinatto Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing