We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Nicholas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Nicholas Hostel
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hi, my name is Galina Qader and I am a traveller from Australia. At the moment, I am staying in St. Nicholas Hostel and I like it very much.

I found this hostel by accident 11 days ago while looking for an affordable place to stay.

The service I have been receiving is excellent. The staff is very friendly; the price is affordable for budget travellers like me. The hostel provides the guests with breakfast, free Internet connection; hot water runs 24 hours a day, a crash course in Spanish, etc.

I am staying at the dorm. The room is quite big and it has the lockers for keeping personal belongings safely. I like the room very much because it’s quite comfortable and warm in winter.

The location of the hostel is very good because it’s in the center of the city. Public transport is easily accessible (there are bus stops and subway stations in the vicinity).

Also, the majority of tourist attractions are within walking distance. I have no problem walking from the hostel to other parts of the city.

In my opinion, the best feature of the hostel is its safety. People feel very safe here.

Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They always help when asked for help. The owner is flexible with the prices. The price can be adjusted according to the number of nights one stays there.

The staff always passes the messages when someone tries to get in touch with a person staying in the hostel which is very important too.

I am having an excellent experience in this place (I am planning to stay here for some months).

I strongly believe that travellers need to be aware of the existence of this hostel and they need to be advised that the hostel is very safe and affordable at the same time.

Room Tip: There are private rooms with and without bathrooms. The dorm rooms are big and in most cases not noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
8
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed at St Nicholas for almost a month in April 2011. I would definately recommend it because although it is one of the cheapest hostels in BA, it is really good! the staff were always really helpful and friendly, and everything was always clean.The party the hostel threw on the rooftop area was the best night i had in my time in BA - a lot of great people and many fun times!!! It is also located in the centro area, within walking distance of many attractions and also right next door to an amazing bakery and there is a supermarket one block away and corrientes avenue, a main shopping street is two blocks away.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SavannahZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Well i have been around the world and back again and i have met lots of diffrent people from all walks of life.But the Hostel has a Air about it that i cant explain.I learnt a Spanish word while been here that best describes the people and the Hostel.Me ENCANTA muito.
Thank you guys for your warm welcome it realy makes the stay at the Hostel very exciting.
Buenos Aires is a noisy place no matter were you go but this is very normal.The welcome that you guys show us and the family feeling over comes all the noise realy it does.Well done and Congratulations to you all.You are doing a gooooooood job.
My rating for you guys is 9,999,999 on a scale of 10.All that is short is breakfast been opened until 12HOO when i get up LOL and not at 11H05 LOL.Good job Dudes! Be proud for what you guys have accomplished.Dont ever be fooled by any one else who tells you diffrently.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We booked a private room with a private bathroom at this hostel and we were paying AR$160 per night. All the private rooms are directly opposite the bar/common area and on the first night the noise from this area was so bad we couldn't sleep - my husband went to reception at midnight to tell the staff and they said they would tell the people to be quiet. At 1am my husband went back to reception because it was still noisy, not to mention the light came into our room and the cigarette smoke too! finally the guests went to bed. The next day we were going to check out (even though we had booked 4 nights) but the staff assured us that quiet hours were 11pm and they would make sure that they were observed. On the 2nd night, as you can imagine, the same issue happened with noise and we once again got no sleep - my husband was back down to reception to inform the staff that the 11pm quiet hours were not being observed. The staff would go upstairs and tell the people to be quiet but this doesn't really work unless you actually close the bar/common area at 11pm! Finally around 1am the people shut up and left. The staff were rude about the issue on the nights it happened but then nice to us the next day. Anyway, we checked out the next day and went to a 3* hotel in town for only AR$20 more per night and it was fabulous! This hostel might be o.k. in the dorm rooms but don't bother paying big money for the private rooms - NOT WORTH IT!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Netty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#32 of 485 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#113 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#125 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#62 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#229 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#8 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Hostel

Property: St. Nicholas Hostel
Address: Calle Bartolome Mitre 1691 93, Buenos Aires C1037ABE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 485 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Nicholas Hostel is the place to stay for travellers that want to explore Buenos Aires and Argentina. The house is part of the history of this town, its one block away from Plaza Congreso and has easy access to the city's highlights. We have private and non-private rooms, for two to six people.Also, with the aim that guests feel as comfortable as possible, we have bar, table games, TV room, internet free (WiFi), pool and reading room.Additional facilities include 24 hour medical assistance, 24-hour security, lockers and luggage storage, laundry, sheets and blankets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing