We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Totally love the B & B. Felt right at home during our stay here and well taken care of by our host. Thanks to Ariel, we were promptly and safely transported from the airport to the B&B by pre-arranged drivers, despite arriving in Buenos Aires in the wee hours due to a flight delay followed by misconnection. Breakfast was lovely with servings of homemade jams with hot croissants/bread, egg, cereals, yoghurt and hot coffee/tea. Ariel gave us valuable advice on getting around the city, introduced a cambio which offers an excellent exchange rate (compared to what we got at the airport), not forgetting a superb dinner recommendation at Calden’s! I would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank buckbuck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    51
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
130
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed with my husband and two kids in one of the family rooms- a full and two twin beds- very comfortable, great breakfast, lots of good suggestions for what to do- a great (and affordable) place to stay in buenos aires!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoTweenKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We, a group of 6 adults, stayed here twice (3 rooms, 3 Nights + 1Night) in late Feb 2014.
On arrival our host Ariel was waiting for us. After a quick tour and info of how things worked we asked where on Sunday we could change currency. The local money changer's Kiosk is just around the corner but being Sunday afternoon was not open. Not to worry, Ariel lent us Pesos enough to get started. We were able to return the loan the following day. This was the first of many services that Ariel helped us out with- booking Taxis, recommending restaurants, giving directions etc
The Good:
(1) Location is great. A quiet street, easy to find with restaurants, laundromat, convenience stores (sell wine!!), coffee shops, bakeries etc all within easy walking distance.The area felt safe to walk in the evening
(2) Breakfast is more than adequate served by a friendly staff member who provided eggs, cereal, bread, coffee, fruit, juice etc
(3)Rooms are clean, bed is reasonably comfortable, bathroom fixtures work with plenty of hot water. There is a small refrigerator and the room has air-conditioning.There is a TV which I must confess did not have the time to watch.
(4) There is free wi-fi and a computer with printer setup in the common room.The wi-fi extends to about the three closest rooms to the common room (Hint to Ariel: get a wi-fi extender/repeater)
(5) The host, Ariel, does not live on the property but a four minute walk away. He is very helpful, accommodating and approachable.
Not so good:
Mosquitoes are around in the evening hours. Very manageable by closing the windows before dusk. There is a plug-in repellant in the room.
Wish I had known:
That Ariel is so helpful and accommodating. I should have contacted him in advance instead of booking a lot of our transportation in advance on line. It would have saved my 35-50% of the cost as cutting out the middle man (big company) and dealing in pesos makes it much more cost-effective.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paparam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our flight out of Buenos Aires was cancelled and we found Viejo as a last-minute accommodation. Ariel was wonderful. He came back to check us in. As our flight was scheduled early the next morning and it was too late to let his helpers know to come early to get breakfast for us, he left us some food, milk, yogurt, etc in our room so we could still have breakfast before making our way to the airport. Since we arrived late and left early, we did not get the chance to visit around the area, which was unfortunate as it was in a central location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I probably don't have to write any more because my return for yet another year speaks for itself.
I feel very at home here and Ariel, the owner, continues to be as warm and friendly as ever. He is always helpful. His guests are from all over the world which makes for very interesting conversation if you so desire. You can also be comfortable with the serenity and quiet if that suits you. I know the neighborhood well now and am familiar with the public transit system so I feel like a local sometimes. I will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arrowsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After long flight to the other side of the world you get a very nice welcomming from the host ariel in a nice warm and relax place that you feel directly at home..Cosy living room with nice breakfast ...,nice room with shower airco and good bed .The rest is what everybody said its good neighborhood and for ariel is nothing to much.. you ask and you get !
After i was with group in 4star hotel but missed the b&b to much with nice guests
PS this place is not for people would like to complain for small details and failure to pay a 4 star hotel but... for worldtravellers with the thumb upwards
Thanks ariel and go on like this
peter from belgium

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our room was small, clean, and very basic. Our room was lacking in drawers and places to unpack and store clothes, etc. The outside courtyard is very narrow and small, and not really functional as a common space to enjoy or mingle with guest. Not much airflow or light. The interior common space is part office and part breakfast table, and PC station. If it is hot like it was during our visit, the breakfast area has openings to the outdoors and can't be air conditioned. So, it was extremely hot and uncomfortable with just floor fans. If someone is at the desk, most of the fans will be aimed at the desk. The breakfast was minimal. Two of the three days we were given a hard boiled egg, a very tiny bowl of fruit to share. A yogurt with frosted corn flakes, and not very good coffee. If asked the owner/manager was helpful with planning and advice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bluecanoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalermoViejoBB, Owner at Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are very sorry it wasn't the expected experience. That week was the hottest week in 100 years and as it is well known Buenos Aires has suffered long electricity blackouts as well. The reception/breakfast area is public and not everybody likes air conditioning. We have floor fans that are always directed to the breakfast tables. We apologize if one morning they were not. But after this comment we are considering to have ceiling fans for the next summer.
For breakfast we offer a variety of choices and we prepare eggs upon request with no problem of preparing to the guest liking. A pity we were not asked the ones preferred.
We used to have as well drawers in the rooms but very few people used them in average stays of 2 to 5 days, so we took them out to have a bit of more space in the rooms just leaving the hangers and the shelves.
We will take care of all these comments seriously to go on giving our guest the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,847 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,325 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#130 of 445 in Buenos Aires
557 reviews
Palermo
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
#153 of 445 in Buenos Aires
397 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Cnel Niceto Vega 4629, Buenos Aires C1414BEA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B&B in the heart of Palermo Viejo/Soho. The house is located in a 1901 building, traditional of those days in Buenos Aires neighborhoods. The Casa Chorizo has been renewed keeping its original style. High ceilings, brick and thick walls are one of the details to mention. As a narrow landmark the rooms are organized in a row, facing the side patio/garden full of green where hanging out after a long day is a must. All the rooms have private en-suite bathroom and two of them are big enough with a double level to accommodate more than two people, perfect for 3 or 4. The art work of different artists is found everywhere in the property which gives it a Bohemian atmosphere. The decor is simple, where each item was found in flea markets and auctions to make the B&B a warm and a perfect place to feel at home away of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palermo Viejo Hotel Buenos Aires
Palermo Viejo Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing