We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
92
51
16
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
51
16
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 165 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My wife and I had a grand time at The Cocker. Despite having a name that always demanded a little explanation (its for the now-moved dog) we loved its unique layout, cool rooms, and fun hosts. It appears the two guys who ran it before are gone, but Amanda did a fine job while we were there. Everything about our run was pleasant, though we are not a fan of 'wet rooms', though they are common in South America. What's wrong with shower curtains? The breakfasts were fantastic. We'd happliy stay there again!

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skippydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

We stayed at The Cocker for two nights having stayed the previous two at Casa Bolivar. The Cocker is closer the the centre of San Telmo and is a great place to start your trip because the owners (two English guys) are very helpful and spend time orienting you at the beginning of your stay - they give you a custom made map with their eating/drinking recommendations which are all good. The downside is that if you stay in the two rooms on the roof terrace you have to climb a lot of stairs and the rooms are very small, albeit cleverly and very stylishly designed.

Date of stay: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Wonderful hosts. Breakfast is yummy, the patios were perfect for calm summer nights, and you can't beat the location for fun San Telmo activities.

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pknievel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

What a wonderful "hidden gem" the Cocker is... and although we tried to book in for 4 nights 5 months prior to our arrival, we only managed to stay for 2 nights... but all worth it, so book well in advance to enjoy the fantastic service of Ian + Aiden and their friendly Cocker Spaniel - Rocco - a must stay place in B.A.!!!

From the arrival the experience, we felt right at home... we were served a lovely cup of tea with cherry's on our own terrace (fantastic room #19-03 with their signature bathroom on top of the bed) and afterwards were given a thorough explanation of the do's in/around the San Telmo areas - including assisting us with restaurant reservations - we were then handed over our own key to the front door of the "house", which made it feel very personal and right at home!!!

Breakfast was an amazingly nice selection of breads/sweets, fruits, yoghurts, fresh juice and all restaurant recommendations by Ian+Aidan were very good!!!

We fully enjoyed our stay and would love to come back to the Cocker soon again.... and it is indeed the best place we stayed in during our extensive travels around the world and the place that we were looking forward to... and certainly did not dissapoint!!!

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hotelier1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

If you have read the other positive reviews, then I don't have much else to add for they are all true. Yet, as an avid review reader myself it's always nice to know that the reviews are up to date. And YES, the place is still awesome!

Ian is absolutely fabulous (always go with his recommendations - he's spot on), Rocco, the cocker, is a gentleman, and the place looks and feels like the amazing photos and the design of their website, with the fragrance of the lilies to boot.

My husband who loved the Palermo area more than San Telmo said he would still gladly return to The Cocker when we go back to BA, as would I, naturally.

If you're booking a room here, I am jealous...

BTW - if you hate stairs, this is not the place for you as there are a lot of them. I don't love them too much but the place was well worth all the climbing.

Date of stay: November 2007
Thank roamnwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews