We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely B&B in great area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo
Ranked #59 of 270 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Bonito B&B was extremely welcoming and helpful. The staff had great English and were always willing to give advice and book things for you. The rooms were clean and quirky, although slightly dated now, just needs a touch up to get back to being a brilliant B&B in a fantastic location. The breakfasts were great, more than enough to get you through a full day of site-seeing. The B&B is arranged over several floors, and has a few spiral staircases to negotiate. The roof top terraces were lovely and I'm sure would be amazing in the summer. As in the previous comment, the bathroom in the Wild Dreams room is set up a little strangely if you want to use it after you have showered! I would highly recommend - it was great value, and in a lovely location. Most comfy sofa ever in the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    51
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
102
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is one of the most quirky, charming places I have ever seen, I think! There are seven rooms, all have both a number and a name – and the names are of the kids in Sound of Music! Marta, Kurt, Liesl and so on. Too cute! The B&B is located in an old building in San Telmo, and is over several floors. I had to climb something like three spiral staircases to get to my room, and then there was another spiral staircase to get to a rooftop terrace. The whole places is filled with little terraces and outdoor spaces. So cute! The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very, very nice. Recommended! Good value for my money as well. The only issue I think would be all the stairs. If you have a lot of luggage it would be difficult with the spiral staircases. I stayed in the Wild Dreams room, which was very nice, but the bathroom was a little tricky. First there is a sink, then a shower, and then the toilet. The shower is separated by a curtain only, which means that after your shower, it is all soaking wet and you will get wet if you go to the toilet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiocciola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a nice B&B. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location cannot be beat for the market which was the highlight of our trip. We spent most of the day exploring and watching all the local street performers. We did the whole market from San Telmo all the way to the Palace. The front room is need of repair from what appears to be some water damage. The breakfast was great and the wifi was a bonus. We arrived very early morning from Miami and thought they could at least offer us something to eat or something to drink. We stayed at their sister property on our return trip and I liked it better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluv2travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing find. Great value for your pesos. Very helpful staff, great rooms on the roof and nice outside seating area. There are a large number of stairs to the rooms at the top, but the staff are only to willing to take your bags up and down. Good breakfasts to start long days exploring San Telmo. Don't miss the tunnels on Defensa.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the outside or the area if you arrive late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah55663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stroud
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really lovely rooms and great situation. Really well located for market, helpful staff, will use again on the back leg . Nice breakfast. Subway quite far though... Stayed lordly. A bit of work outside.

Room Tip: A great deal of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carambartimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here three times in November of 2012, in two different rooms. The entire hotel was clean, comfortable, and pleasant, even as it heated up for summer. The breakfast is generous and tasty, and being available until noon made it very convenient. Internet service was quick and reliable, and the staff went the extra mile to make our trip comfortable, even going so far as to loan us a subte card for transit while we were in Buenos Aires. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaeaLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly staff and ready to help, they let us in before the usual check-in time and made us feel at home; the room was just like in the picture, we stayed in the "Liesl" room on the last floor and had two terraces for us! The breakfast was one of the best we had during our stay in Argentina! Definitely great value for money in San Telmo! P.S. If getting there by taxi tell the driver to look for the small "The Cocker" sign on the building, there's no other name on the door.
Not that easy to climb the stairs with big bags... but doable! ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bxleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#148 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
San Telmo
La Casita De San Telmo
La Casita De San Telmo
#264 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
San Telmo
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
#14 of 270 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Buco Home & Residences
Buco Home & Residences
#27 of 270 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Babel
Hotel Babel
#165 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Mundo Bolivar
#26 of 270 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo

Property: Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo
Address: Avenida Juan de Garay 458 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1153ABP, Argentina (Formerly The Cocker)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five elegant suites surrounded by stunning roof gardens set in a newly restored art nouveau townhouse. All rooms uniquely styled, with antique furnishings, en-suite wet-rooms and modern fittings, and two have private gardens. In the heart of San Telmo, the historical district of central Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo Hotel Buenos Aires
Cocker Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing