We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and service. Street rooms quite noisy.”
Review of 248 Finisterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
248 Finisterra
Ranked #187 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This small hotel is cozy, great value, comfortable and clean. The staff is very very nice, one of them taught me how to cebar a good mate. The rooms are small, but you shouldn't expect otherwise. Breakfast unexpectedly good.

The location is amazing, this particular street and neighberhood have a lot of nightlife, if my memory doesn't fail I can count over 5 or 6 bars & restaurant on that very same street / block. SO, it's great to plan a night out and just walk a few steps to get to your hotel. But the tragedy comes if you got one of the rooms that faces the street. On weekends you better have some good earplugs, or you won't sleep until 5 AM, when everything starts to calm down. So if you do get a street room and can't avoid it, you might as well plan for a long night out instead of trying to sleep.

There's a supermarket at walking distance (Jumbo) and main bus routes that take you to main attractions and downtown a couple of blocks away.

In the end i'm glad I got to stay here and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the street at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

The 248 Finisterra in Buenos Aires calls itself a 'boutique' hotel, which it self-consciously tries to be. Service is pleasant, almost old-school, breakfast is astounding and the complimentary afternoon tea is a nice touch. The interior is very pleasing, the hotel has a nice library and bar area as well as an outdoor jacuzzi (which I didn't use). The location is in a 'hip' area, albeit a bit outside of the centre, so you'll need a taxi if that is where you want to go.

The only downside in my experience was size / lay-out of my room: I know rooms can be small, but this was extreme. In the room there was a bed and a closet, and no room for even a chair to lay my clothers on (let alone for a desk, whereas I like to make notes). It would have been better to fit a smaller bed. For that reason, even though I quite liked this place, I might try another option if I would go again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
248Finisterra, Manager at 248 Finisterra, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear Moritz,
Thanks for your comment. We appreciate all the suggestions in order to improve our service. Please take note that we have bigger rooms to stay. The room that you have stayed was the smallest. Bigger rooms are more expensive.
Anyway, we look forward to staying with us again and i assure that you will not have any size problem with the room.
Thanks
Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had a one night stopover between El Calafate and Iguazu Falls so thought we'd try a different area and hotel to last time (when we stayed at the Mine Boutique Hotel for 5 nights).

The hotel's location is great in Las Canitas (near the Polo grounds and south of Palermo), right among a ton of restaurants and bars and with pretty lively streets. We were there on a weekday and our room was pretty much silent however we can understand that a street facing room on a weekend could be a bit loud.

The room is pretty simple and quaint... there's around 1m to each side and to the end of the bed and that's it... but it's clean and good value with a safe, free wi-fi and a nice continental breakfast buffet with good coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was the second boutique hotel I stayed at in BA. It is a beautifully renovated building away from the noise of the neightbourhood even though it is right on the restaurant and bar strip. Excellent breakfasts served in a lovely lounge and dining room that overlooks an interior courtyard. Staff are nice and attentive when needed. Though it is very stylish, I have to say our twin room was very pokey and, compared to other places, felt overpriced. My impression is that you pay for the neighbourhood.

It is a bit over half a kilometre to two different train stations and the neighbourhood (Las Canitas) felt generally very safe - full of trendy parillas, bakeries, bars, grocery shops, laundries and apartment buildings. Though it is not in the centre of the tourist area, it is still part of it. The neighbourhood felt like an up and coming part of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Only had one night here in December, should have stayed longer. aside from the room which was a bit small and facing the street, very noisy with the bars below staying open until 4 am, so needed ear plugs to sleep. But the facilities were very good with a garden and 1st floor terrace, breakfast room and lounge. the hotel was impeccably clean and we found the owner who greeted us,to be very friendly.
Location is in the up-coming Las Canitas district of BA, lots of bars and restaurants nearby, which account for the street noise at night! A bit of a trek into the tourist spots of BA but cabs are cheap!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The hotel is very nice, very clean (and small) rooms. Great breakfast, but the room I got was directly at the main road where all bars are located. It was very noisy in the room until 3/4 a.m. The staff was very friendly but I'm surprised that even after my feedback (on the official feedback form) about the noisy room I wasn't contacted anymore by the hotel. I think the hotel is very nice if you get a silent room, but with the room I had it was totaly overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

A cute boutique hotel in the Las Canitas neighborhood. This area is a locus of hip restaurants and bars, but if you are planning on sightseeing, it is quite far from sites of interest. You will have to take taxis or walk to the metro to reach anywhere.

The rooms are very small; even with a room upgrade, the two of us were tripping over each other. And I am comparing this to even budget hotels in Europe. I can't imagine what the standard room would be like. Breakfast was limited but excellent quality, breakfast staff were friendly, front desk a bit brisk and not very helpful. Wireless Internet was fast and flawless.

We moved to another hotel, Urbanica Suites, which was further out but no less convenient to the metro ("Subte") with much larger rooms and more helpful staff.

Take the cancellation policy, which is provided in advance, seriously. With the uncertainty of weather and international flights to B.A. you cannot be sure that you will arrive the day you expect, but you will definitely be charged the full day regardless of the occupancy of the hotel. So if this is a business expense, you might not care so much, but for your personal vacation dollars, I can't recommend the 248 Finisterra for the start of your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one_carry-on_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
248Finisterra, owner at 248 Finisterra, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

The comments are acknowledged as it will help to improve even more the quality of our services, which is our main concern. Our achievements are namely reflected in being finalist of the 2009 World Luxury Hotel Awards, in our Guests comments (see our Guest Book in our home page) and customer satisfaction questionnaires and so on.

In order to clarify some points, the cancellation policy is a very usual one in particular in small hotels with not a large number of rooms. We offered to the Guest an appropiate invoice to give him the possibility to claim to the corresponding Airlines, responsible of the delay.

In reference to others points, Las Cañitas is very near to some interesting places listed in the webpage and middle far and far apart of others considering the big size of Buenos Aires city but with very good accesses to all of them.

Any suggestion about what to add to ours different kind of breads, cold cuts, cereals, pastries, fruits, marmelades, eggs in different ways and so on will be acknowledged

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Dazzler Polo
Dazzler Polo
#22 of 444 in Buenos Aires
595 reviews
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#144 of 444 in Buenos Aires
296 reviews
Palermo
Ultra Hotel
Ultra Hotel
#384 of 444 in Buenos Aires
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Awwa Suites & Spa
Awwa Suites & Spa
#80 of 444 in Buenos Aires
651 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Suites
Palermo Suites
#152 of 444 in Buenos Aires
234 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#117 of 444 in Buenos Aires
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 248 Finisterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 248 Finisterra

Address: Baez 248 - Las Canitas, Buenos Aires 1426, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 248 Finisterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the spaces in the hotel are designed for your enjoyment. Inside, there is a sitting room with a fireplace to savor a glass of wine and a good book. Outside, there is a garden, a hardwood deck and a hot tub for star gazing. The building tastefully decorated, mixture of modern city flavor and early XX century furniture, has a fancy and wide lobby bar and snack service. It has an air conditioning / heating system with cutting-edge adjusting technology and a special hermetic closure that ensures a fully soundless environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 248 Finisterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
248 Finisterra Hotel Buenos Aires
248 Finisterra Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing