We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #10 of 453 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spacious and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff make this hotel worth the stay. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful but the bar is quiet pricey (£15 for a cocktail - £12.00 for spirits). There are two entrances, the old and the new, we stayed in the new part which was well appointed though I suspect that the old part is more luxurious. The hotel is located in Recoleta which is a wealthy suburb within walking distance of good restaurants and the famous cemetery where Eva Peron is buried. There are a couple of shopping malls nearby, the nearest (across the road) is the most upmarket. If you are looking for cheap leather goods you will not be lucky though there is a decent craft market by the Cemetery that has some interesting gifts.

Room Tip: If you want something special book a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    190
    48
    21
    10
See reviews for
199
668
66
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broad Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July 2013, a double room on 12th floor. We were part of a large group on a corporate visit.
The location, in the Recoletta district, is good, just a few minutes from the cemetery. The breakfasts were the usual sort of thing, fresh fruit, breads, hot breakfast...and waiters very attentive with juice and hot drinks.
There were a few irritations with the room though. The teas and coffees hadn't been restocked when we arrived...and we were totally unable to get english breakfast tea bags. They would only provide fruit teas. We asked several times...and on one occasion they delivered a pot of tea (so they HAD tea!...but loose, I think), which they tried to charge us for although we'd only asked for tea bags.
The other annoyance was the lights...too clever for their own good, and they certainly had us confused. They had some sort of fancy dimming system, with each switch being multifunctional...I think! It was easy to plunge the room into darkness, or find you were raising the blinds when simply tring to turn on a bedside lamp. We never did quite get the hang of them.
There was also very little hanging space in our room - only a rail about 14 inches long, between 2 of us. We had to be very selective about what clothes we hung up.

The room was hot, even with the air conditioning on. The only way to cool it was to open the large windows (one of which had a broken hinge, so hung off one hinge when open - not ideal on 12th floor, with only a bar to stop a child from falling out).

The bar service was slow on 2 occasions.

So overall, I'm giving only an "average" rating - it's clean, the food is good, the location is good, and the public areas are attractive...but it could do a lot better with some simple tweaks here and there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was sold on The Palacio Duhau-Park Hyatt after reading many complimentary reviews on Trip Advisor, so thank you to all who posted their comments. It was a perfect fit for us - high end without being “snooty”. When we travel, we dress extremely casually. We weren’t prepared for the chilly weather, so we added layers of sweat shirts as we had no winter clothes. We were treated the same as their more well dressed clientele - that’s what I mean about it being a perfect fit! We stayed in the standard room, but we had a lovely, quiet corner room, garden view on a high floor in the new wing as requested. The hotel is tres chic and ultra-modern - the only problem we encountered was the push button computer-like lighting in our room which was a challenge at times! The location is extremely convenient and close to an upscale mall (opened at 10 a.m.) where we were able to go to Starbucks for our morning coffee as my husband didn’t like the smaller cups the local coffee was served in (we didn’t learn until it was time to leave that he should have asked for a “double” coffee!!!). We spent our first night at the hotel’s Duhau Restaurante & Vinoteca learning about local cheeses from Althea and Malbec wine from Melina and Debora. The concierges (Jimena, Constanza & Valeria) and front desk staff (Victoria et. al.) were wonderfully helpful. They gave us great information/recommendations and made dinner reservations for us which were always confirmed with a note in our room. (Be sure to go to Sotto Voce Italian restaurant within walking distance). We checked out for an overnight in Iguazu Falls and stored one bag at the hotel. When we returned to the Park Hyatt the next day, we were greeted like family! Our bag was already waiting in our room. It felt like “home”. We heard from a lovely local that the hotel’s Sunday buffet brunch is outstanding, but we opted to go to San Telmo on Sunday instead. For those of you who’ve taken the time to read my comments in full, you know that I can’t say enough good things about the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at this beautiful hotel on a number of occasions and it is without doubt one of my favourite hotels worldwide - the contrast between old & new , the beautiful gardens, the terrace of the old Palace overlooking the new area, the cheese and wine cellar, the OAK bar , the undergound gallery joining the 2 buildings. It is a gem !!! Add on a well trained team and you understand why this hotel is always ranked among the best !! Bravo !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlitosembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My stay here was in April 2013 & it was absolutely perfect! Hotel is just beautiful, with lovely tranquil garden between the 2 buildings. Rooms & suites are simply stunning & very comfortable. Service at every level was seamless perfection. Excellent dining options. Location can't be beat.
Love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed on three different occasions in Dec and Jan using the Park Hyatt Buenos Aires as a base for various tablet trips out to Salta, Patagonia and Igasscu Falls. This worked very well. The Park Hyatt is a short cab ride via a freeway to the domestic airport. The Hyatt will store your luggage and have your laundry waiting for you on return.
It was a luxurious hotel. with beautiful spaces particularly in the old palais section. The garden is a sanctuary from the bustle and was a great place for breakfast. The staff were fine but slow. This will always be our base in BA . (It was also an elegant and pleasureable place to see the New Year in.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I checked in here after coming back early from Uruguay and finding the Fierro hotel in Palermo full , it certainly is a palace !! quite pretentious in my opinion ...the room was excellent .. a lot of buttons and switches .. so be on your A game ,.. this isn't just a hotel its a historical building with many things of interest to see within the hotel , I did find a very laid back couple from California out in the garden area who were lovely to sit and share the day with ,, they also felt a little intimidated by the look a like Men In Black hotel security guards and coldly efficient hotel staff , I am sure this is a great place for those whom appreciate it , however I am more an elbows on the table kind of guy and didn't really appreciate lunch on the terrace as I wasn't dressed in designer clothes and neither had on my lap a Pomeranian or Chihuahua .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#6 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#21 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#3 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel and Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel and Wine Bar
#1 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Property: Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing