We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay -- wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #11 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Memorable stay -- wonderful property”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The property is a former family mansion within walking distance to the historic Buenos Aires Cemetery that is a must visit to see how the truly wealthy and powerful planned to spend eternity. The two wings of the hotel are connected by an underground walkway filled with art. We stayed in the new wing. Attentive service and helpful concierge. Shopping is also close by. Be sure to book a Tango show to make it a complete visit.

Room Tip: New wing is modern. Old wing is more historic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are very pleased to discover that you had a “memorable stay” while you enjoyed the features our property.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    245
    66
    32
    12
See reviews for
252
793
80
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, including Xmas Eve and Xmas. The hotel was lovely; extremely clean and excellent service. Town was virtually shut down during two days of holiday, but the holiday was up and running taking excellent care of it's guests. Concierge and front desk stay were excellent. The dining rooms had good food, but we particularly liked the wine and cheese room, where we had a free wine tasting which was included with our room amenities.

There are two parts to this hotel and we could never figure out who was placed in the old building and who was placed in the new building; we wondered what the difference between the two were. Each had their own front desk and concierge which was odd. We stayed in the new part.

The location was considered prime for sight seeing, but it was little boring in that area. It was like staying on the upper east side of NYC instead of downtown Manhattan. It's a matter of preference. For service I would stay there again, but for location to experience the night life of Buenos Aires I'd stay someplace else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsISeeIt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you choosing us during your recent visit to Buenos Aires and for your attentive feedback.

We much appreciate your very positive comments, and we are pleased to know that you have specially enjoyed the wine and cheese tasting at Duhau Restaurante & Vinoteca.

We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wow - what a place to stay. Everything lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Our personal butler, Catalina, e-mailed us before our trip to arrange a car from the airport and along with Constanza, made sure that everything we wanted was taken care of, including booking us a fabulous New Years Eve party, a nice-sized city tour that left from the hotel, and our Buquebus tickets to Uruguay (with recommendations of sights and restaurants in Uruguay as well). The restaurant service was fabulous (thank you to the fabulous hostess, Carolina) and the smoked salmon that we ate every morning and at lunch was the best we've ever had (and we love fish). The park-like setting outside is beautiful and it makes the dining experience very relaxing. The wine & cheese bar was a nice place to visit - sit outside if you can and make sure you ask for the tomato marmalade with your cheese - what a great setting and experience! The spa was great as was the spa service - we had massages and used the pool to swim laps three times (it is 25 meters). I don't want to forget to call out the valets, who also do a great job - they safeguard the property and make sure you get where you need to go safely as well as taking good care of your luggage (we kept a suitcase there for a week between stays and it was waiting in our room when we got back). The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with plenty of plugs for your iPads, phones, etc. We had a nice patio on our first visit to relax outdoors and a beautiful view of the gardens (and the Vatican embassy garden next door) on our second visit. And finally, it is within good walking distance of many things - the Recoleta Cemetary, the parks in Palermo, the Obelisco and an easy taxi ride to everywhere else you may want to go!

Staying at the Park Hyatt definitely made our visit to Buenos Aires extra special. It is an expensive place, but worth every peso and then some!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires during your recent visit to our city. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughtful comments with us.

I am pleased to discover all the small details that made your stay “extra special”. I will share each of your observations with our Staff, that each day honors the significance of Authentic Hospitality. I am sure they will be more than pleased to find out you had a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

As other reviewers have stated, this is one of the top hotels in the world. My stay was fantastic with the only downside being I did not want to leave the hotel to see B.A. as it was such a nice place to be. While expensive, the staff and surroundings more than make up for the price, ensuring a fantastic stay. Particular appreciation goes to the concierge who helped make my stay extraordinary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback.

We are very pleased to discover that you could experience Hyatt’s authentic hospitality while you enjoyed your stay at Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

All our team looks forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Best regards,
Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located in a beautiful old palace with a new wing that is very well designed with a wonderful garden between, and rooms that are large, well designed (OK, the lighting can sometimes be a challenge to understand), with great bathrooms. The quality of the staff matches the location and the rooms, absolutely outstanding. Frankly, it is an oasis in a city that I do not particularly enjoy. In fact, after two days, we saw little reason to leave (yes, this is wrong), so self-sufficient was the hotel. The second time I stayed there I wasn't quite as blown away by the restaurants as the first time, but still enjoyed them enough not to feel the need to go elsewhere (fondue was a bad idea, for future reference). Truly, in my opinion, one of the great hotels of the world, and a very good reason in itself to visit Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcinrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing again Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires and for your attentive feedback.

Your comments are very much appreciated. I am pleased to discover all the details that made your stay special. I will share your observations with our Staff, and I am certain that they will feel more than thankful.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the PH in Buenos Aires over the Christmas holidays and found the property to be one of the prettiest Hyatts we've encountered. The outdoor spaces were gorgeous and our suite was beautiful as well.

As it was a special anniversary for us, the staff arranged for champagne, rose petals and candles in our room-an amazing surprise and much appreciated. The entire staff was just exceptional.

While we were at the hotel, our daughter became ill and the staff was so helpful in securing a doctor and helping us find pharmacies.

Don't miss the food at Gioia-they serve a fantastic breakfast and brunch buffet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiafoodie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires for celebrating special occasions such as your anniversary and Christmas.

We very much appreciate your positive comments, and we are pleased to know that our Staff was helpful at all times.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

well, what can one say? the name park hyatt says it all. very nice rooms and bathroom, excellent location (recoleta), which ensures silence at night, good athmosphere during the day and a very good basis for walking tour of the city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vale_sartori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,786 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 447 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,595 reviews
Puerto Madero
Faena Hotel
Faena Hotel
#22 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,214 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Property: Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing