We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Front desk fiascos” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #12 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Front desk fiascos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family and I are traveling together, and on two separate occasions, we requested adjoining or even adjacent rooms. We spent one night at this hotel, and then left for Bariloche for a few days. Upon our return and second time checking in, we were assigned the same rooms that we had stayed in before and that were on opposite sides of the elevator (neither adjoining nor adjacent). After our first stay, we were assured that our rooms, in fact, would either be adjoining or adjacent. We arrived over an hour ago, and the room situation is still not sorted out. In fact, the staff didn't even realize that our assigned rooms were not adjacent, and they seemed unaware of the floor plan of the hotel. Considering the food and the service in general has been excellent, this oversight stands out even more and seems unprofessional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    205
    51
    23
    10
See reviews for
212
694
69
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Park Hyatt last week and were highly impressed with the level of service we received. The concierge staff was one of the best I've come across in my various travels and made all the difference in our vacation. Each night we requested a staff member at the concierge desk to recommend a restaurant for dinner for us. Instead of calling our room with the reservation confirmation, the confirmation was hand delivered! That level of service is not something you see very often, even at luxury hotels. Very impressive! Every one of the restaurant recommendations were top notch, with some of the best food we had in Buenos Aires. Ambrosio, of the bell staff, went beyond the call of duty by running to grab coffee and juice for us while we waited for our taxi to the airport without our even asking for it.

We stayed in the tower building which I preferred because it allowed us the beautiful view of the palace building. The room was nicely appointed with just the right amenities. The wi-fi service was complimentary and proved to be very solid, as I used it often to email large photo files.

The location of the hotel in the Recoleta area could not have been better. Everywhere we needed to go was in easy walking distance.

We will definitely be back to Buenos Aires and you can believe the Park Hyatt will be our "home away from home" when we return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajj976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best hotel experiences I have had. We had an incredible stay at this palatial property. It's luxury, comfort and amazing staff made for a perfect vacation. It was our home in buenos aires while we traveled around Argentina. The staff meticulously arranged our check ins and outs, stori g our luggage and coordinating all details without a single flaw. The level of service is truly impeccable. This hotel represents the utmost in great hospitality. The entire staff - all the doormen, front desk, servers, housekeeping,etc etc are all incredibly pleasant polite and prepared to accommodate any request you might have. The rooms are extremely well appointed, sophisticated in design and very comfortable. The bathrooms are exquisite. The marriage between old and new at the Park Hyatt BA is unmatched anywhere else. With all due respect to the other fabulous 5star properties in BA
-I did go and visit to se firsthand - PALACIO DUHAU PARK HYATT takes the prize!! It's so elegant and the details are remarkable. I believe there is an in house florist as I saw a room of beautifully displayed flowers and someone was always there cutting and arranging fresh flowers everyday and beautiful arrangements not to be missed ll over the hotel. There is a fabulous art gallery - which changed exhibitions during our stay. There is a stunning spa q indoor pool, fitness center, great restaurants including a beautiful terrace overlooking a well manicures garden. And more. The greatest concierge team - friendly, savvy, perfect English and they were right on with all their recommendations for what we were interested in.
This is a palace and the opportunity to experience living in one is well worth it and not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010Fes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

STAFF: everyone we came in contact with was very polite, helpful, and a pleasure to deal with. From the front desk, to the restaurant staff, to the personal butler, to the doormen, to the guys that would hail taxis. There were always staff at the front desk ready to assist with whatever was needed. I had them do a few things for us during our stay and they were on it and highly professional.

ROOM: we stayed here twice, at the beginning of our trip and at the end. At the beginning we chose to stay in the new tower. It was a nice modern room, overlooking the courtyard. For our second stay, we chose the mansion. Unfortunately, we were not able to get a room overlooking the courtyard. However, we much preferred this side. To each their own, but the mansion side rooms have more character, luxurious touches and elegance.

In general the rooms were always impeccable and like others have mentioned, personal belongings were always organized; down to the phone charger cable being coiled up. The one thing I noted was that I never saw housekeeping once during our stay yet the room was seemingly always being refreshed. Amazing!

I opened the windows one morning and before I knew it there were probably 10 bugs flying around the room before I shut them. Of course, when we returned to the room the bugs were gone because housekeeping had taken care of it (and I knew they would!)

Turndown service was top notch as well.

OVERALL: I would say my experience with the Palacio Duhau was top notch. Hand written notes, chocolates, bottles of water that you don't get nickel and dimed on. These are the little things I expect when I am staying at a hotel of this caliber. Palacio Duhau did not disappoint in any area; it exceeded all my expectations and I would be thrilled to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Palacio Duhau is on the top of our list. We have been traveling for over 20 years and the experience was quite memorable. The hotel is centrally located, rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff is exceptional. Paying attention to the details was obviously part of the staff training as we would return to our room with everything organized - receipts lined up on the desk, shoes turned in the same direction neatly aligned in the closet...just to name a few. Walking from the room tower to the restaurants is like walking through a museum where art is tastefully displayed along the walls. We traveled with our young twenty something daughters and they were very pleased as well. It is not often that you find beautiful decor, great service and location in one hotel. You will at the Palacio Duhau.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with connecting room if traveling with children/young adults. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having been to Buenos Aire several times I thought I knew the best holtels, The Alvear Palace and Fiena y Universe, but this time we took some good advise and stayed at the Palacio Duhau.
It was just great. It is an 1928 palace owned by the Duhau family, the holtel is a very modern tower on one side and the palace on the other side of a lavish garden and water feature, the are connected by an undrground passageway the is a true atr gallery with new art changed at intervals. Our suiet had a view of the palace and this was a treat. The rooms were large with every ammenity, the bathroom was as large as some hotel rooms. Staff was great. The bar a true man cave, it was Mr Duhau's privet office and the walls are paneled with carved wood panels he imported from a castel in Normandy, a fireplace and great views from the outside terrace.

Room Tip: A park suiet with a view of the palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Park Hyatt Buenos Aires is comprised of a 17 story tower and across the courtyard a converted early 20th century palace. The decor of the hotel is modern with clean lines and is very tasteful. Rooms and suites are very subdued and minimally decorated but very comfortable and quiet............the bathrooms are downright dreamy. The most outstanding feature of this hotel and there are many is the staff. The staff are young and definitely hired by their looks but most importantly hired by their enthusiasm, professionalism and a genuine sense of caring for their guests. I loved this hotel...........not only for the physical facilities and outstanding location in the Recoleta neighborhood but most importantly for the staff...........they are superb.

Room Tip: The 08 stack on floors through floor 11 are a corner suite and provide a great deal of privacy betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#11 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#3 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#19 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Property: Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing