We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #13 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful rooms and ambiance. Bit of a problem with the laundry charges but put down to a misunderstanding so they did not charge us. Ideal for getting round BA though the car park attendants were a bit grumpy if we waked out of the wrong exit. Insect sprays to use as you go out of the hotel so that was useful

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    232
    63
    28
    11
See reviews for
237
758
77
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very impressive and great staff. Almost too much attention. The breakfasts are first class and the swimming pool is indoor and good enough for lap work. Cost of laundry and spa is outrageuos but I guess it is to be expected from a hotel of this high class.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at Park Hyatt. This was formerly a Palace but the rooms are in an area of new construction and not at all dated.This is a fantastic property. Service was excellent. Restaurant was terrific. Location convenient. You pay for what you get, but I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tflynn1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I fell in love with this AMAZING city a number of years ago and during our holiday travels and first time to BsAs in December (Very warm time of the year FYI), we spent nearly 2 weeks over Christmas & New Years and of course my birthday… Over the nearly two weeks we did have the opportunity to explore every part of the city and have yet to find an area we really did not care for… Most areas we fell into by pure luck as we walked the streets (watch for doggy poo poo) day after day. We took many day trips as well.

It just so happened, on our fourth day out headed to the Recolleta Cemetery (crap this is NOT to missed), we came across the Park Hyatt about 5:00 pm. At first we thought this was some rich Argentinean’s mansion/home, but then I saw the small brass plate near the doorway that said the name of the hotel and just our luck, it was happy hour in the main bar of the Mansion… Oh before I forget there are three mansions on this block, one belongs to the Pope, nice to see how the money is spent. the second is the mansion side of the Park Hyatt and the third is an amazing family home, quite run down not kept up but beautiful. Well, I don’t want to give too much away because I want you to have the privilege of coming upon this property like I did, but I will say, we seemed to have found ourselves back at the Hyatt more then a few days during our holiday and somehow always about the same time, you will love this 5 star property, I have read recently the Park Hyatt has once again been named the #1 hotel in Central and South America 11/12 years running. I have now been back to Argentina 8/9 times and yup you guessed it, always back to the Park Hyatt and my room has always been 1701, great view of the gardens and the back side of the mansion and at night, the soft pale lighting is like a broadway show. As you can tell my love for this property is large, could go on and on and I know every inch as well, happy to help if need... Enjoy, B

Room Tip: Garden view will also allow you to see the Popes property, suite 1701 is my go to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HBAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Yep, it doesn't really get any better than this! This hotel definitely falls into my Top 5 globally in terms of city hotels.

As I sit on the beautiful lawn ensconced between the new hotel building and the stunning Palacio Duhau (which also belongs to the hotel), waiting for my cafe latte, I am reminded what makes this hotel so great. Besides the amazing service, it blends the modern and classic design seamlessly, creating an oasis of calm and luxury in what is already a beautiful city.

Although the feel in the palacio versus the new building is different, both are equally stunning. This time we had a gorgeous suite on the top floor of the new building, overlooking the garden below. Waking up to that view is magical.

The hotel has got the right mix of understated opulence and old-style glamour. It also has an amazing art collection, as well as many high-tech features, including fantastic wifi coverage throughout the entire hotel grounds.

You will love it!

Perhaps best of all though, the pope has his residence right next door. You're guaranteed to have great company … when he's in town that is.

Room Tip: The big decision to make is whether to stay in the new building vs the palacio. Both have their ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for three nights in August. The hotel staff there made our stay so enjoyable. The concierge helped us make restaurant reservations and helped us purchase ferry tickets. They were clear, organized and super helpful. They summarized our itinerary for us upon arrival to the hotel too! All of the staff we interacted with spoke excellent English.

The hotel is beautiful. Modern but traditional and totally charming. We had a room in the palace part of the hotel. The room was large, nicely furnished, big soaking tub, large entry way, nice view of the park courtyard. Service was great - towels and bedding was refreshed twice a day (totally unnecessary, but nice). We were visiting BA for our honeymoon and the hotel left us all kinds of nice goodies (champagne, cakes, chocolates, nice notes).

Overall, great experience and would highly recommend staying here. It's a bit on the $$ side, but totally worth the treat!

Room Tip: Request a room in the palace part of the hotel. So charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have been to BA several times over for the past 10 years.
You do not need to stay in a place such as this but in case you happen to be there....? You will be amazed.
All about it is well above average, well above it. Also the price. 8 bucks for an expreso? really? kinda cheesy no?
The rooms are amazing and the service is well worth it but a few tips: dont eat there. BA is such an amazing place that it demands you enjoy it outside of the walls of the Hyatt palace. Also, dont take a taxi from it, it is like 3 times more expansive than normal. Not needed. Feels like burning money if you do.

Room Tip: tower 2, the rooms with a view to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#4 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#23 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Property: Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing