We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DUCHESS TURNED POP STAR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #15 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What was an elegant mansion has now been converted into a contemporary hotel which still retains part of it´s elegant aristiocratic bearing.

The original mansion is stunning, and it has been stunning converted. You have a distinct sense of arrival. As much as I love the conversion, parts of the hotel lack intimacy, but having said that some public areas are beautiful with their double height ceilings and drop dead chandeliers and original architecture.

Try to stay in the original house as a huge tower has been built, which frankly lacks any charm. However, the bedrooms are extremely comfortable in the "modern style." Great bathrooms and very comfy beds.

The gardens are the jewel in the crown. A perfect place to disconnect from the world and enjoy a relaxing breakfast, lunch or a chilled glass of champagne.

I ate in the Duhau restaurant which was very spacious. No chance of anyone overhearing the most intimate of conversations or business deal. Good menu which features some outstanding meat cuts. Nice wine bar area as you enter the restaurant. I liked the bar with its high ceiling and lovely wooden features.

As always it is the staff that can make or break a hotel. Regardless of the vast investment, they are the most important asset. The staff hear are utterly charming and happy to help in any way, and done with great grace.

So if you like the old with the new, but more of the later and like the standard contemporary feel, this is a great place to stay at a price.

Room Tip: Stay in the original mansion with a garden view - a must have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOWITHTHEFLOW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your considered thoughts about Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

It is always a pleasure to read and to know that our guests enjoyed a complete and unique experience at our Hotel. I will be sharing your comments with our staff and I am certain that they will feel more than pleased.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Location
The hotel is situated in a residential and fashionable district, Avenida Alvear, a beautiful and quiet area of Buenos Aires and just a short stroll to La Recolleta Cemetery. Aeroparque airport and Ministro Pistarini Int’l Airport can be reached in 15 minutues and half an hour from the hotel by taxi, respectively. I would not recommend booking the hotel's pick up service from/to the airport - local taxis are plentiful, safe and a fraction of the price.

Check-in/Check-out
The whole process was extremely smooth. A very polite bellman escorted us to our room after check-in.

Room
The hotel is visually stunning, comprised of 2 sections – the neoclassical grandeur of Palacio Duhau and the newer contemporary annex. Our room was located on the top floor of the Tower Wing, typical Park Hyatt design – modern and minimalist. The ornamentations in the room were quality rather than quantity. Everything worked to perfection except the light switches beside the bed which were a bit complex and not so user friendly.

Dining
Did not dine at any of the hotel's restaurants.

Spa and other facilities
Did not use any of the hotel's facilities.

Service
Impeccable service. Staff were knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. You definitely feel like a valued guest at this property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JETSETTER-K861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Gerente at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

Your comments about our illumination system are very much appreciated. I will be sharing them with our staff to guarantee that all small experiences are rewarding and unique.

We truly feel rewarded with your comments about feeling a valued guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again-

Kind regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Ok - service is very good, location is excellent and I was called by my name on every contact with the staff, but there's more to a hotel than just that. I expected a lot due to it's reputation as one of the best hotels in the city, but the modern-tacky decoration of most public areas and the lack of charm and personality of the room really disappointed me. Sure, it's comfortable and reliable, but I assumed it wouldn't look as corporate as it did (stayed in the tower - new wing). Breakfast also didn't impress me, with an ok variety of food and nothing really delicious. Bathroom is a plus though - beautiful, all in limestone, modern looking and great shower. Good hotel, but not so good value. Next time in Bs As I'd try Alvear, Faena or Four Seasons, which are similar in price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel certainly ranks high in the rankings, and it's well-deserved. Stayed in the newer tower and it was typical Park Hyatt: sleek, modern, high-quality atmosphere. It's a rather jarring juxtaposition to the old world ambience of the neighboring palace wing, and it seems like two different hotels. Try to get a room as high as possible because there is the constant noise of traffic and barking dogs. The concierge was very helpful is recommending dining and tango show options. Went with the Tango Roja show because it was touted as being more avant grade, rather than the typical tourist show. Agree... and highly recommended! The concierge also recommended La Cantera restaurant. Again, go for it! Fitness center small but adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molliebclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

After the long flight to BA this was the perfect place to unwind. Impeccable stay and service. Rooms, breakfast and internet were spot on. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaragdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Palacio Duhau is a lovely hotel in a remarkable building in an amazing city. The amenities are excellent, the room was spacious and clean and stylish, and the bathtub was huge! The fitness center has everything you could want including a great lap pool. Restaurants were great with impeccable service and delicious food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share such a memorable review about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, and for recommending us.

Thank you very much!

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Álvarez Campillo, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel and it's amenities are top notch but it's the staff that makes Palacio Duhau stand out from the rest. The staff from the spa, restaurants/bar and concierge make it top priority to make you happy. The only flaw that sticks out in my mind is that the water temperature for the shower is inconsistent. I'm sure I could of said something and got that fixed but I'm too lazy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Combodropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your first experience in our hotel, and that our staff were responsible for that.

I am sure they will be honored to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Álvarez Campillo, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#11 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,913 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 442 in Buenos Aires
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 442 in Buenos Aires
3,507 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buenos Aires
Puerto Madero
Faena Hotel
Faena Hotel
#50 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $434 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing