We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #13 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We just came back from Argentina, where we spend 4 nights in Buenos aires at the Palacio Duhau. There are 2 parts to this hotel, 17 floors Tower on one side and 4 floor Palacio on the Alveolar side, separated by beautiful courtyard. From previous reviews I requested a room in Palacio part of the Hotel and was not disappointed. We did not get our high floor, like I requested, because by the time we arrived, all rooms were already occupied. We were in room # 201, second floor, last room on the right side overlooking the courtyard, but our view was partially covered by trees.
Just out of curiosity we asked to see room in the Tower. We were shown modern, corner room on 17th floor with expansive views, unfortunately of dirty city and rooftops. We went back to our Palacio room.
Our room was huge, very beautifully appointed, with big closet, little hallway and huge, beautiful bathroom with shower and bathtub. Very classy, quiet room, overlooking the courtyard and Tower on the other side. We had very comfortable 2 beds, flat screen TV with plenty of channels, great daily maid service and above all quiet in this very busy, noisy city.
We ate breakfast in Le Biella cafe, 10 min walk towards Recolletta Cemetery. We ate dinner once in the Hotel's famous steak restaurant, but were not impressed and would not recommend. Service was slow and meal was very salty, very average.
We used spa with indoor lap pool almost every day. It is not the best spa,it is small, has few exercise machines, whirpool, sauna and nobody in it.
Buenos Aires hop on hop off bus stops on the opposite side of Palacio Duhau on Alveolar St. There is not a official stop marked, but trust me it does stop. You MUST buy your tickets for the bus on line during rush hours, otherwise you will not get on! Even though bus seems empty, but they will not let you on unless you have a ticket. We missed 2 busses and waited 40 min. Front desk staff will tell you, that you can buy your ticket on the bus, true, but only in off hours.
By the way, front desk for Palacio is on the Palacio side. Very convenient. You also have your own private elevator. There is a little gallery on the lower floor connecting Tower with Palacio, but we rather walked thru the courtyard to our room.
Hotel is far away from city center and you will need taxi to get anywhere. Taxis are cheap and readily available.
Highly recommend rooms at Palacio side, ask for higher floor, not 4th floor, because there is a balcony in front and you cannot have a view of courtyard and of course courtyard view.

Room Tip: Ask for Palacio side, higher floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartekToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very useful for travellers, but also for us.

We feel more than happy to know we achieved your expectations. Our mission is to give our guests an authentic hospitality service, and we try very hard to achieve it, according to the most highest international standards.

We took note of your comments about your restaurante experience, and we are taking the necessary actions about it, together with our Food & Beverage team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    243
    65
    32
    12
See reviews for
247
784
80
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I fully recommend the Park Hyatt Palacio Duhau. This is a very classy place, located in one of the finest neighborhoods of Buenos Aires and offering exceptional service.

Rooms
The room I had on the six floor was quiet with a nice view to the Vatican embassy courtyard. Bedding was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Samsung large flat screen TV with variety of choices. Large desk and very nice controls to dim in and out the lights.

The bathroom was large and beautifully appointed. Marble tiles, separate rain shower, ample counter space by the sink. Toilet and bidet covered by a privacy glass sliding door. Excellent quality shampoo and soaps

Complimentary water, coffee and tea. Fresh apples everynight. We arrived on Easter Sunday and they had a gift of a yummy easter egg.

Service and Amenities
Great service. Very helpful staff, knowledgeable, perfect English and always with a smile. You really feel a valued guest.

Beautiful SPA features a 25 meter long pool, excellent for swimming or relaxing. The pool has an ozone purification system, so you don’t have to deal with chlorine smell and abrasiveness.

The hotel has a glorious garden where breakfast, tea and dinner is served. I didn't have a chance to use the hotel dining services but the setting is indeed very nice.

Location

The hotel is located within walking distance to some of the best shopping and restaurants in Buenos Aires. Recommendations include: to walk to La Biela in Recoleta for a classic al fresco coffee or breakfast, Ar Kakao for the best artisanal gelato in BA and Mirasol for a great steak dinner.

Hotel staff will hail taxis for you and take note of the vehicle plate for your security.

In short, what you expect for a luxury Hyatt hotel and more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smertios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed comments. They are certainly very useful for us. We very much appreciate your feedback, and will be looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and perfectly located - within walking distance of so much!
Service was friendly and professional and the room was not overly large but definitely well done. There are two distinct sections - we were in the modern wing but the more historic area looked really wonderful. Indoor swimming pool is a lap pool only. This is a very classy hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiteeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is nice to read that you felt our service as friendly and professional.

Most of our efforts are focused on authentic hospitality service. Will be happy to share your comments with our staff.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A beautiful, well-designed, super modern hotel has been built on the grounds of the former Duhau Palace. The two are linked by a subterranean walkway and by the beautiful gardens above ground. Service is excellent - they pride themselves on knowing and remembering your name as soon as you check in. Be sure to have dinner one evening on the terrace of the Joia restaurant; it just doesn't get more romantic than that The location in the Recoleta neighborhood is most convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Marcom Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Will279,

Thank you very much for your comments! Nice to read you´ve enjoyed a romantic experience at Gioia´s terraces.

Looking forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Buenos Aires!

Best regards,
Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a hotel! Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, excellent spa & gym! To pick eyes closed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmermoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Buenos Aires!

We are more than happy to read that you spent a great time at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel lives up to its billing. Stayed for three nights at the beginning of a holiday in Argentina. There are rooms in the old part (more expensive) but most rooms are in the modern block. My room was high up and had good views of the port. Room size was good and overall very comfortable. My only gripe was the air conditioning which was very noisy. The spa is lovely and the indoor swimming pool is a very good size for swimming. Staff are very charming and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are in the new block ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at our Hotel. I will share your comments with our staff!
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
We took note about your air conditioning perception.
Best regards,
Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed here over a weekend in may. Property is gorgeous, first class location between Posadas and Alvear. Full butler service is a plus! Will definitely be back. Gracias a todos.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#17 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Property: Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing