We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best in Buenos Aires - Stunningly Gorgeous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Ranked #11 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Best in Buenos Aires - Stunningly Gorgeous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I travel over 100 night per year in primarily 5 star hotels. I'm picky, demanding and not easily impressed. The Park Hyatt Buenos Aires was impressive in terms of service and facilities. An excellent hotel!

The Best:

1.) The "Palacio" historic wing of the hotel is a beautiful Belle Epoque mansion. I believe there are only 26 rooms and suites in the Palace section. REQUEST one if you enjoy historical architecture flawlessly blended with modern decor. The Palacio has an amazing lobby and dining venues. Impeccable. Tasteful. Stylish!

2.) The modern tower is also very nice. If you prefer purely modern sleek accommodations then the Tower section is for you. The hotel is filled with quality art and decor lending a sophisticatedly elegant yet comfortable feeling to the hotel.

3.) Rooms and suites - we had an executive suite and a standard room in the Palace wing. Both were spacious and nicely decorated. Request a GARDEN VIEW for the quiet and aesthetic beauty of the front lawn of the Palacion mansion. It's really special. Room and suites did not have a coffee maker which I found a bit irritating. A Nespresso machine would have been a nice luxury in-rooom amenity. Area rugs in the suite needed a good scrub. After complaining they were immediately cleaned.

Suite ceilings were high and decor was modern sophisticated. The bed was comfortable with excellent linens.

Bathroom amenities were ordinary. Aqua di Parma or at least Bulgari would be expected in a suite costing over $800 USD per night.

The standard room in the palace Wing was very spacious and well decorated. Huge bathrooms. Very high quality rooms and suites excellently maintained and beautifully decorated and furnished.

4.) Service - impeccable. The staff is highly trained. Difficult requests were met with efficiency. Genuinely friendly staff. Excellent concierge and front desk personnel. Butlers are top notch and always available. Food & beverage staff spoke English well and were highly efficient.

This is the type of 5 star service people rave about. The Park Hyatt has an excellent team of employees making this very special property shine like a diamond.

The okay:

1.) The spa facility is beautiful. The treatment rooms are huge and very well appointed decorated in a pale travertine. Very nice treatment rooms. The indoor swimming pool is adequate for laps. However the locker room, sauna and jacuzzi area are too small and cramped. The jacuzzi barely circulated water. This is an area of the hotel that needs renovated and re-planned.

Massage therapists were okay - not great. Genuine Deep Tissue massage in Latin America is almost impossible to find. It may be on the menu - as it is at the Park Hyatt - but the therapists are not strong enough and/or not properly trained in deep tissue massage procedures. All three of us took deep tissue massage and it was a waste of time and money.

2.) Breakfast on the terrace of the Palacio was a stunning start to the day. However cooked menu items need a bit more attention. The food was acceptable but not wonderful. It should be delicious and very special - especially at these prices!

Overall this hotel is close to faultless. If you're going to Buenos Aires and considering between the Park Hyatt, Four Seasons or Alvear Palace - don't even give it another second of though. The Park Hyatt is by miles the best of these three properties! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    206
    51
    23
    10
See reviews for
213
695
69
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

we arrived in buenas aires at 7:00 in the morning needlessly to say, very tired after a 10 hour flight. we were shown immediately to our room. the room itself was lovely . the ammenities great and the service excellent. having traveled extensively i can say this hotel was one of the bes hotels , as was the park hyatt place vendome in Paris.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I cashed in Amex points, Hyatt points, Hyatt Visa card bonus promo free nights for one of the most amazing vacations. The hotel grounds and restaurants were perhaps the best fantasy bubble away from the rest of BA. The staff spoke both English and Spanish with ease and they were obviously screened for their physical beauty. Gorgeous and some of the nicest staff in all my travels. Lots of perks come with being a Hyatt Platinum member. All the best shopping, dining in a safe neighborhood makes this a fine jewel of an experience. The absence of an outdoor pool is the only downside. They should have a pool reciprocity deal with the Four Season's hotel. The Sunday brunch for $300 pesos is undeniably amazing: best brunch buffet, made to order eggs, perhaps the best custom grilled ribeye, AND all you can drink top shelf cocktails and wine. Pure heaven! Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aecso7n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Had a one week stay here during a business trip and can't say enough good things about it. It's a beautiful hotel with lots of places to explore within. The terrace and restaurants are fantastic. The service is incredible too, down to the details and surprise dessert treats in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misheebelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

The property is zen beautiful. The public areas are very airy, full of artwork and enticing. The only drawback is that the pool (which is exquisite) is indoors. However there is plenty of lounge area between the modern building and the palace section which are connected. It is close to dining options and the Recoleta Cemetary which is worth the trip to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellow1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

i spent a lot of time asking about hotels and we considerd the four seasons,the alvear palace and the hyatt...all are exceptional,but we were more than happy with the hyatt,from the moment we arrived...we were upgraded to a suite,enjoyed the help of the consiege,the buffet breakfasts,the fine dining on the old side....everyone was helpful,spoke english,etc....there is a shopping mall about 300 yards away that we stumbled uponwith a freddie ice cream bar,great upscale shops,etc....4 great days...i gave it a low value rate because i did not look for value,i looked for quality...and you pay for that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I found the Palacio Duhau Park Hyatt to be mostly fantastic, but not dependably so.

Across the board I enjoyed excellent service. The wait staff, the spa staff, the front desk, the housekeepers, and the doormen were all incredibly considerate and skilled.

The hotel is beautiful and nicely renovated (although the wifi in my suite was available everywhere except the office, and to get between the new tower and gym, one must walk through the front lobby)

The food is fantastic and showcases Argentinian produce and wine (although the room service is not at all as good as the food served in the restaurants and is wildly inconsistant. I ordered the same health breakfast each day, and each day I received a completely different breakfast—some very good, others average. Often the hotel was out of something I wanted to order. Also the roomserve quality/variety/source seems to be different in the old and new parts of the hotel).

The rooms themselves I found a little underwhelming. I stayed in both the old and new, and the I did prefer the old mansion, but the two buildings aren't wildly different (there was a larger, more luxurious luffa in my mansion suite bathroom—who knew every aspect of a room's grade was so carefully calibrated?). When minimalism works it's beautiful and calming (I'm thinking of the Hyatt's in Japan), but because the proportions and craftsmanship at this hyatt aren't quite up to that standard, the rooms can feel like a very empty dorm. The furniture placement felt awkward and empty not considered and lean.

Maybe because the food isn't 3 star cuisine and the hotel isn't competing to be the most refined in the world, it is a very fun and comfortable place to stay. It's never bad and often it's very good. I'm looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#12 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#3 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#19 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Property: Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing