We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do never go...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argentina Tango Hotel
Ranked #441 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
home
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do never go...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Supposed three star but worth less than ONE!
Airco did not work, faucets dripping, totally unresponsive desk petsonnel, unfriendly, unhelpful..we checked out after one night although had prepaid for more...TERRIBLE

Room Tip: Nothing good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    104
    74
    142
See reviews for
116
95
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Do not stay here. I've had better service at hostels. When we walked in, the hotel didn't have room for us and put us in another hotel a block away. It wasn't far, but not what we booked. The room wasn't ready or clean, so he asked us to go for a lunch or something while it was cleaned. When we got back, we wanted to take showers, but there was only one set of towels for a triple room. I called downstairs and the receptionist (who didn't speak English) just said there were no towels because they were all out for laundry. So I had to walk back to the first hotel and ask for towels, then walk back in the streets with 3 sets of towels because that receptionist was too lazy to call over and ask them for towels. There was no where to plug our electronics in because we didn't have adapters and neither did the front desk. We could not make any calls from our room which led to another walk around the block to the main hotel to make a local call. The whole floor smelled of cigarette smoke from the room next door, even though there is a non-smoking policy, they don't enforce it. We know because we called down to complain and they said they couldn't do anything about it. We were told we could be moved to the main building the next day, which they did, except that room smelled of smoke too. In addition, we again got just one set of towels for a triple room and had to ask for towels and pillow covers. The air conditioner/heater did not work, we were told we could open the window, except the support to keep the window open was broken so it would not stay open. We were given a rod to use to keep it open. The cold water faucet of the sink did not work so you had to strategically use the sink so as to not burn your hands. Of the three receptionists we dealt with, one was friendly and helpful. The other two were rude, inconsiderate and just didn't seem to care. Would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed for 4 days the last week of May - 2013
I'll start with the few positives:
1) The location is really good, just a few blocks from Corrientes and the Obelisco.
2) Housekeeping seems to do a good job
3) Even though some reviews say the area is kind of ugly late at night, we didn't really feel threatened or afraid walking back to the hotel after midnight.
4) The breakfast isn't really that bad, the bizcochos were really good even though the number of tables and chairs were not enough for all the guests there, the girl who works serving breakfast had a better attitude than everyone else and she seems to be a hard worker.
5) the room itself wasn't bad, we were excited to see a king size bed after realizing it was actually two full size mattresses put together, we didnt have any noise issues like many people reported here.

and now here comes the real story.

1) The guy who works the front desk during the morning (tall guy - around 7-3pm ) is a complete " trip adviser censored my language so you cant insert something here", he just doesn't give a rats azz about anything, for those aware of the blue dollar, he wanted us to pay our stay fee ( 370 dollars ) at a higher rate, 8 pesos per dollar instead of 5 pesos which was the official rate, I pointed out that he was wrong and he quickly realized we weren't falling for it. The guy who woks third shift ( chubby guy -after 3pm ) was a lot nicer and more helpful. The morning guy really need to find another job, one that doesn't involve interacting with people, he really was an arrogant, incompetent person.
2) The elevators never worked properly. it is a really tiny elevator and the first day it got stuck for a couple of minutes, we were starting to freak out and push the emergency button when it finally opened, I brought up the issue with the front desk morning guy and he just blew us off.
3)They were having some kind of issue with the room cards and they fail every single day during our stay, every time I had to go downstairs and asked them what was going on, they would just go upstairs with us and use their card, no explanation or apology, really terrible attitude.
4) The refrigerator never worked, we reported the issue twice but no one was sent or nothing was done.
5) When we checked in the room wasn't ready and we were asked to leave the bags and come back later, no big deal, but I've heard the story over and over again with other guests.

in our experience the negatives outweigh the positives, but if you're looking ONLY for a clean room and good location you might like this hotel, but if you value your hotel experiences with lots of other factors, you might as well keep looking.
Not really looking forward to come back to this place.

NOTE : to those not aware of the dollar situation in Argentina, please research this before you travel there, there are two exchange rates right now, the official ( around 5 pesos per dollar ) and the blue dollar ( around 8 pesos - you cant exchange easily in the area ), BEAWARE if the front desk tries to exchange at something other than the official rate, so find that out before you checked in.

Room Tip: our room didn't face the road so that's probably why we didnt have any issues with noise. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was walking around at 3AM looking for a room and the front desk clerk gave major attitude when I arrived at the front door. The area surrounding the hotel isn't the best in BA. The city has many accomodation options, so a reccomend to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here on an Intrepid Tour for 3 days. The rooms are very basic but the location cannot be beat- right off the 9 de Julio a block or so from the Obelisk, on a very quiet street. Walking distance to great shopping and near the Opera House and tango shows.
I have no complaints about the service. Breakfast was basic at best. If you're having a proper vacation you're not spending a lot of time in your room, so I didn't mind how basic it was. But on my next trip to BA, I will be choosing a higher end hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmas, TO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

we spent 10 days in arg.tango hotel.clean, good breakfast,location near florida.good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here as part of an intrepid journey, and apart from the central location, we did not enjoy our stay. Wifi kept dropping off, shower leaked into the hallway, big hole in one of our towels, stained and holey sheets, terrible service on the front desk, and overall did not feel very clean. Would not stay again and think intrepid could do alot better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#363 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Retiro
Gran Hotel Orly
Gran Hotel Orly
#410 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
San Nicolas
Mayflower Suites
Mayflower Suites
#373 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Tucuman Palace Hotel
Tucuman Palace Hotel
#370 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
San Nicolas
Grand King Hotel
Grand King Hotel
#208 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#139 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argentina Tango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argentina Tango Hotel

Property: Argentina Tango Hotel
Address: Calle Suipacha 545, Buenos Aires C1008AAK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argentina Tango Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Room: - Sommier King Size - Coffee Maker in room without charge- Minibar- Air Conditioning (individual)- Central Heating - Soundproof Windows- Hair Dryer- Bathroom amenities- Safety Box- Cradle without extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argentina Tango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argentina Tango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing