We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Recoleta Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Ranked #38 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Checked in to the Melia Recoleta on Easter Sunday. Very clean, friendly and inviting. Room was very nicely equipped. Melia is perfectly located just a short walk to the famous cemetery and Catholic church were we attended a very welcoming Mass. Breakfast was OK -- nothing to write home about but adequate.

Room Tip: Only one elevator so request a room on a lower floor in case electricity goes out and you have to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for the time spent writing about your experience at Meliá Recoleta Plaza Hotel. We are glad to read you had a pleasent stay at our Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming soon!

Sincerely,

Quality Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    237
    61
    28
    10
See reviews for
125
277
46
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a boutique hotel in a wonderfully safe and busy section of the city. Easy walking distance to the Cemetary, which cannot be missed, the Beaux Arts Musem and good shopping and a wide range of restaurants. The front desk staff is very helpful and since my Spanish is limited I appreciated their willingness to suggest places to eat in and shop and visit.

Each room is named for someone fameous who stayed in the building. The rooms are more than adequate with a shower, safe, chairs and a lounge to relax. The decor is Art Deco and the lounge area is stunning. Breakfast is included and allowed choice for my husband and I. The bar has a fine selection of wines. Consider this as a location for your visit to this vibrant city.

Room Tip: we were in the first ower -there are 2. it was quiet and overlooked another part of the builidng,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear bevf4967,
Thank you very much for your comment in Tripadvisor.com! We appreciate your time dedicate to share your experience with other travellers.
We are glad to hear you had a great stay in our Hotel and we are looking forward to receiving you in your next stay in Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Quality Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip and was delighted with how lovely this hotel was. It's very well situated in a beautiful part of town. It has a lovely history and I'm sure you can feel the past as you walk through the lovely lily-scented lobby. Every detail is elegant and I looked forward to my little treat of chocolates on the pillow each night. Charmingly the housekeepers arranged my teddy bears (ones my son insisted I bring with me) into different poses each day.
The hotel provides free wifi and laptops in the lobby and nothing seems to be too much to ask. It's just a short stroll to the markets and to a large number of restaurants. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCrew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear JCrew3,

Thank you for taking the time to comment abour your stay in Meliá Recoleta Plaza in Tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to hear you have a lovely experience in our Hotel and we are looking forward to receiving you soon in your next trip to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staff was very helpful hotel extremely clean excellant breakfast included good location. The other reviews are accurate. I would go back if I ever return to Buenos aires which is unlikely.Staff was very helpful with providing information , suggestions ,and making reservations.

Room Tip: room are in seperate units each section served by own elevator if a group wants to be in same sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybob1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I left this hotel thinking the reviews I had read were slightly better than my opinion.
The Pros: great location, decent breakfast, comfortable King size bed, renovated bathroom, expansive lobby with many seating options, front desk staff helpful
The Cons: our room was run down ( old and stained carpet; walls needed a painting, baseboards scuffed/broken); bathroom walls need a good wash; just didn't feel like a 4/5 star room compared to the lovely lobby); no consierge, although desk staff made good restaurant suggestions.
I would choose a different hotel if visiting the city again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded/renovated room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Perfect place for our 3 day stay in BA. This quaint hotel is in the heart of the Recoleta - the location could not be better. Close to the cafe's and restuarants, the park and cemetary. The Staff was friendly and helpful! I would go back. This hotel was also a great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear ChrisL20,

Thank you for commenting your experience of our Hotel with other guests! We are really pleased to hear you had a great stay at Meliá Recoleta Plaza.

We are looking forward to receiving you soon.

Sincerely,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is located in the very best street in Buenos Aires. It is also a storic place because Evita and Peron lived in that building. Is a walking distance from Patio Bullrich (a very good mall), good restaurants and near most principal city attractions.
Service is really good, the ammenities are of good quality but breakfast is just so-so.

Room Tip: Do not expect too mucho from breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. Elizabeth N,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our Hotel.
We appreciate your post in Tripadvisor.com, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
#46 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#33 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Club Frances
Hotel Club Frances
#44 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoleta Plaza

Property: Melia Recoleta Plaza
Address: Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires C1112ADA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#65 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#91 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Recoleta Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Recoleta invite you to enjoy our luxury boutique hotel , accompanied by the best gastronomic experience and feel the place where he lived Evita Peron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing