We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a small gem hidden in a great neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I am in Buenos Aires which is every 2 months for the pat 5 years. The hotel has maintain its quality, service, staff ever since. The rooms are nice with great beds and good size bathrooms. The hotel is small enough as to be considered boutique. The personnel knows me by name, it is always very attentive and helpful. The free breakfast is great specially the bread selection. Room service is also excellent, and fast.
The location can't be beat. In the middle of the nicest neighborhood in Buenos Aires, walking distance to great restaurants, shopping malls, museums and sites.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Arie-Mordejai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 769 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed in this nice small hotel for 2 nights prior to the start of the cruise. Arrived at the hotel 3 hours prior to the start of check in, and were told that only one room will be ready for us in the next 30 min. Check in clerk offered us free drinks while we were waiting, and within 30 minutes our first room was ready. We proceeded to go to the scheduled city tour, and upon return our second room was made available to us.
Hotel is situated in the quiet, very green residential street, one block down from Alvear Palace. We had two standard rooms in two different buildings. Each room had sleeping area, as well as sitting area with a little sofa and the chair. Beds were very clean and bathrooms were clean and of good size. Staff spoke good English and were very helpful. There was no concierge, but from the front desk staff we got great recommendations for restaurants, helpful advise about sight seeing and detailed explanations how to get to certain attractions from hotel. Breakfast was sufficient and wifi worked without any issues. We could walk to Recoleta (which offers free English speaking tours on Tues/Thur at 11 am) and to number of restaurants, shops and other attractions. Overall, I think if you are looking for smaller, more personal property, Melia Recoleta is definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: If you like more quiet sleep, ask for the room in the back tower. If you want the view of the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose to stay at the Melia Recoleta Plaza Boutique Hotel while in Buenos Aires. The Recoleta area is very safe and has upscale shopping, close to great restaurants, and near a park. Our room was not huge but had updated design, newer bathroom and a king bed with a comfortable bed. Some rooms have outdoor hot tubs available. Breakfast buffet was included and we were happy with the choices. The pricing was right and the location was perfect for shopping. The concierge was so helpful in arranging the smaller tango show we requested at the El Querandi and scheduling the city tour. We were picked up at the hotel to make it even more convenient. Don't miss the leather shops at Cardon, Rossi Caruso, Peter Kent and Casa Lopez which are all in walking distance. The best in the area! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Renovated king room with a hot tub. That should do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosley628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel feels like a boutique hotel, because it is has a small and intimate feel to it. We had a large room with an outside jacuzzi and patio which was great to relax in after a long day's sightseeing. It is very close to the Recoletta cemetery, which was brilliant as we went there twice. There are some good restaurants within walking distance too.
The main drawback is that there is no concierge service and there were often queues at reception. And the room was often not cleaned when we returned to the hotel at 4.30ish. The wi-fi in our room was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This small hotel was recommended by someone knowledgable about the area. We were not disappointed. From the time we arrived, we were helped right away with bags. Had to wait since we arrived at 9:30 a.m. Lobby was very warm & humid. No air conditioning. They had our room ready by 11:30, which was a nice surprise. We booked the jr. Suite which had a very comfortable bed & pillows, & a living room w/ a couch, 2 chairs & very large flat screen tv. Great AC in room. Slept really well. Breakfast served in basement was quite good. We are touring Argentina & return for one last nt. before flying back to US. We were booked into the Park Hyatt, but Melia concierge graciously kept 2 bags of ours (too much weight for internal flights). The staff was so kind & helpful, we decided to spend out last night with them instead. Also, there is a great restaurant a few doors down called Fervor. Reservation is necessary. Great seafood grill for 2 that is a must.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank _JB2SanDiego_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were the in July 2012. This hotel is within walking distance to many attractions, such as the week end art in park two blocks away, nice restaurants and other shopping. The hotel is very nice, staff is friendly, attentive and you can always find one that speaks English if your Spanish is not so good. Breakfast was included when we stayed there. Afternoon tea is also available in the lobby for a modest charge. There is coffee/tea available in the lobby very early in the morning. Room service is available too. Most all of BA is safe, some areas are best not to go to, this area is very safe with lots of locals and tourists. Two doors away is a restaurant that serves great empanadas along with wine and beer that is great for a afternoon tapas to hold you over until restaurants open at 8 pm for dinner. We normally eat dinner at home about 6 pm, so waiting until 8 or 9 pm took a bit of fortification of food and wine.

Live Life to fullest each and every day regardless of where you might be.

Room Tip: Rooms out of the US are normally a bit small, but I go there to see not sit in room. They are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Tom K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at Melia Recoleta Plaza.
We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our Hotel and we would be more than happy to welcome you again in your next visit to the city.

Thanks again for your rewarding words!

Sincerely,

Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for two weeks a couple of years ago and really enjoyed our stay. The location is central, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. The spa on the top floor is a plus! Next time I'm in Buenos Aires, I'd definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mrs. LoraParis,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to know you had a wonderful and complete experience including the staff, room, and location.

We are looking forward to receiving you in your next stay at our city.

Sincerely,

Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 444 in Buenos Aires
761 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#21 of 444 in Buenos Aires
680 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#38 of 444 in Buenos Aires
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#34 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,078 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#67 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoleta Plaza

Address: Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires C1112ADA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#29 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $154 - $1,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Recoleta Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Recoleta invite you to enjoy our luxury boutique hotel , accompanied by the best gastronomic experience and feel the place where he lived Evita Peron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing