We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplendor Buenos Aires
Ranked #164 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The best thing about this hotel were the front office staff and the staff at the restaurant next door.
I liked the rooms but they were a little grubby and not cleaned well at all. For my first stay here I did not see a cleaner the whole time - the beds were not made or the towels changed. The second time the rubbish was not taken away and the room was still not cleaned at 5.30pm. I asked the front office to send someone and they came but did not take some of the rubbish.
The security is good and the position is terrific. The staff were very friendly and when I had to catch early flights they organised a continental breakfast for me at 5am in the morning. I liked the hotel but it needs a good scrub.

Room Tip: The first room I stayed in was on the first floor and it is a bit noisy with guys playing pool on th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasha1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Natasha
Muchísimas gracias por tomarse el tiempo detallando la experiencia de su estadía.
Todos los comentarios serán tomados en cuenta para seguir mejorando día a día y prestar un servicio cada vez mejor.

Esperemos a su vuelta pueda comprobarlo.

Saludos Cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Esplendor Buenos Aires
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 661 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights while in Buenos Aires. Although in November and not yet particularly hot, the HVAC system in our first room on the top floor could not adequately ventilate and cool the room and it was a sweltering, unpleasant experience for the first night. Front desk moved us for the second night to a lower room, and ventilation was better, but still inadequate. The rest of our experience was just OK. This is a relatively no-frills property. During its remodel, the property apparently was going for some kind of edgy, avant-garde vibe with tall ceilings, lots of dark colors, drapy fabric and odd, un-necessary pillows. This might have been successful for a year or so after its unveiling, but it now comes across as dated and worn around the edges. Breakfast was adequate, and front desk help was courteous, but were helpless in addressing problems on the first night.

Room Tip: Our experience (and the after-the-fact comments from the front desk) was that lower floors had more...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ColoGeoTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments that you have left at Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you felt comfortable at Esplendor Buenos Aires . Yet, we deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you may have experienced with the air conditioning.
Constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality.

We hope you notice the difference next time you come to Buenos Aires.

Regards

Maria Ripoll
Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Front desk staff was very helpful w/recommendations and directions.
Adjoining restaurant was unwelcoming to Americans, thus the
Service was abysmal.
Location was good but they need new servers in restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Jeanne

Thank you very much for leaving us your comments and for sharing your experience with us.They really help us improve and grow each and everyday.

We do apologize for the inconveniences that you may have experienced at the restaurant. We will work on it to improve de quality of this service.

Thank you again for taking your time and for leaving your comments.

Kind Regards

Maria Ripoll
Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Most helpful staff. Knowledgeable in area and currency. Saved us money when we booked a taxi we thought was a good price only to be told we were over paying. The staff secured a cheaper ride to the far away airport. Exchanged money simply for us.
The hotel has the most amazing pictures on every floor. The medium used to create each picture is indicative of the person represented. For example: Evita's face was made of pieces of bread since she was for the people, giving them jobs.
Great breakfast included.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013
Google Translation

Querida Yolanda
Muchísimas gracias por la devolución , nos gusta mucho saber que el esfuerzo de cada día se nota!

Esperamos volver a alojarlos nuevamente!!

Saludos Cordiales

María Ripoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel would have looked quite trendy a few years ago but now looks just a bit strange. The room was a bit spartan and the bathroom had a rather unpleasant odour with the light switch on the wrong side of the door etc, etc. We stayed two nights and found the place clean enough and the breakfast o.k. The front desk staff were good and helpful, the pool table and free to use computers on the mezzanine floor were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspector2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your commentary. Your opinion is very useful for us.
We are working everyday to make every guest expirience unforgettable.

We hope to receive again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Maria Ripoll.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Esplendor Buenos Aires is in a great location, near the major sights, the busy pedestrian walkway Florida, and upscale Plaza San Martin. It's part of a big shopping mall with a food court, which is convenient. The rooms are tasteful and clean and the dining room and the complimentary breakfast are very nice. My only complaint was that the people at the front desk kept giving us the wrong information. We'd ask if some place was open, and after they assured us it was, we'd go to find out it was closed (for example, the Casa Rosada). Most of the staff didn't speak English, but that's not unusual in South America.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CantStayHome_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your opinion and suggestions.Your feedback is very important for us in order to continue improving our services and quality of our attention.

We hope to have you with us again

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

BEST Aspects of Hotel:
Super trendy, hip art in renovated, restored building with modern design
Good Location--though as a visitor to BA there are other better locations
Starbucks around the corner
Rooms (we were in two different rooms, both adequate to large) have cool, hip decor
Rooms were quiet

WHY I WON'T GO BACK:
Tiny bath in big room, no counter space, no hand towels (only bath and wash clothes) of lower quality
Very few outlets in the rooms-challenge to plug-in any electronics
Room furnishings are worn and somewhat shabby
Room lighting inexpensive and too minimal
Air conditioning in both rooms did not work--we could not cool the room below (78F or 25C) despite a visit by maintenance staff--it could not be changed--making it hard to sleep comfortably
Breakfast area is run down and shabby
Breakfast food offerings minimal and not attractively presented (minimal fruit, protien, bread options)
Lobby area is cool looking but furniture is worn

The very cool design and decor of this hotel is completly undermined by negative issues.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments that you have left at Trip Advisor. It was very kind of you to have taken the time to write us, we really appreciate it.
Your feedback is very important for us in order to continue improving our services. Constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality.

We hope you notice the difference next time you come to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Florida
NH Buenos Aires Florida
#79 of 443 in Buenos Aires
398 reviews
Retiro
Dazzler San Martin
Dazzler San Martin
#186 of 443 in Buenos Aires
722 reviews
Recoleta
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Esplendor Plaza Francia
#70 of 443 in Buenos Aires
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#88 of 443 in Buenos Aires
886 reviews
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
#108 of 443 in Buenos Aires
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Buenos Aires

Address: Calle San Martin 780, Buenos Aires C1004AAP, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Buenos Aires combines a restored Neo-Renaissance facade with avant-garde interiors. Its strategic location, next to the prestigious Galerías Pacífico mall and meters away from Florida Street, make it the ideal place for those who want to discover this incredible city. Although in the heart of downtown Buenos Aires, it is possible to enjoy the serenity of its spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Esplendor Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Esplendor Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Esplendor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing