We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here! Owners are great, nice barrio, close to transport, clean, TV in room..”
Review of Tango Cozy Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tango Cozy Home
Ranked #104 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Valeria and Gorge are great. Our first day there they had food for us, meat chese and rolls. The rooms are clean with air con and had a tv. Beds were not terrably comfortable but okay. Close to lots of great resturants and shopping. Valeria gave us great suggestions and helped us plan our days. Some people may say it's location is far from Palermo and San Telmo but we walked almost everytime or took the metro. If you are single and looking to meet other sigles and party this might not be the place for you. We thought it was perfect. On the last day they even had a BBQ for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmygatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

We arrived at Tango B&B and were met by Valeria and Jorge who were gracious, friendly and so very helpful. Valeria helped organize and reserve our Tango Dinner and Estancia Tour and even had them provide pick-up and return drop off to Tango B&B. Jorge is not only a very talented artist but a master chef. We enjoyed 2 delicious dinners with lots of different grilled cuts of beef, a leg of lamb, pork chops, sausages and the most delicious sweetbreads with honey, also fresh fruit salad with chantilly cream. The breakfasts was also very plentiful with lots for fresh and healthy items. The rooms were large and the air conditioning worked very well. We would definately return to Tango.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Tango B&B is located in the barrio of Belgrano, which I loved, but some may find it a bit far from the Centro. If you have no trouble using public transport, the Centro is a direct shot on the Subte or a thrilling ride on a collectivo (bus) away. The B&B is located in an Argentine townhouse with an inner courtyard and, for those who might have issues with them, you should know there are stairs up to the rooms. For allergy sufferers there is also a furry, exceedingly well-behaved gato with a very dignified bearing. I stayed in a small bedroom, with a skylight and a separate bathroom downstairs from my room which I had to myself. Room was clean (cleaning service can vary, but usually every 2/3 days) and quiet because located on the inner courtyard. Valeria & Jorge are exceedingly friendly and welcoming and happy to assist in planning trips, making reservations and providing information, etc. Jorge, who is also an artist, turns out a fierce bar-b-q and he and Valeria are both wine connoisseurs who can teach you a lot if you're interested (but also know how to leave you alone if you're not). I found the atmosphere to be easy-going and relaxed and a great deal of fun. If you require luxurious accomodations, Tango may not be for you. But if you are looking for clean, pleasant surroundings, with interesting guests and charming hosts, I highly recommend Tango.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhDSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I both found Valeria and Jorge's incredible hospitality to be the highlight of our brief trip to Buenos Aires. We rented the lovely "tango studio" for four days and it was a great advantage to come and go as we pleased. The room was spotless and the kitchen came in handy when we chose to cook. The bathroom and shower were a bit small but had plenty of hot water. We especially enjoyed walking around the lovely leafy neighborhood of Belgrano and the nearby Chinatown. Valeria speaks excellent English and her advice on shopping, New Year's plans, and booking out of town buses proved essential. Jorge's paintings grace the airy breakfast room and he is an amazing cook. One evening I mentioned that I liked bread pudding and he made two different kinds the next morning for breakfast! My girlfriend expressed an interest in trying mate tea and he filled his own cup with tea for us to share. It was a rare treat to feel that kind of hospitality in the big city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsoharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Tango runs a small B & B, but also has a small apartment some 50 meters down the street, which is where we stayed. The apt. has kitchen facilities (we only used stove to make tea), good wifi, nice little balcony. Did find the bathroom very small and the apartment overall needs to be updated. We walked to B & B for breakfast every morning and was the standard Argentinian breakfast of bread, meat, cheese and yogurt. Valeria speaks good english which was very helpful. She also took the time to give us a map of the City and point out places, restaurants, fairs and parks we should visit. Also arranged a taxi for us. Not sure that this is the place for everyone; as it is located in Belgrano bario, some distance from the major sights of Buenos Aires. Having said this, the metro is very close and is very clean and efficient. We chose to stay here as we wanted to be in a working neighbourhood and we did enjoy being in this bario and away from the regular tourist haunts. The price reflects the type and location of B & B.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

An extremely warm and generous welcome from Valeria. An excellent breakfast full of delicious goodies - some from the bakery and some home-made. The family room was comfortable (but perhaps not recommended if anyone in your group has trouble with steep stairs). A good location for a choice of evening restaurants, and for the Subte D line (which covered everything we wanted to visit in our brief trip to BA). Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodge_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I was visiting family and at the same time showing my son the place where he was born but had not seen since he was an infant. We had to get a location that was convenient for both purposes, and this place in Belgrano (within the Capital Federal) was a great location--metro, train, and bus were easily accessible, not to mention an abundance of taxis. In addition, there are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

We got the "family suite", which I believe is the largest accommodation they have. The only problem is that it is in three levels. Definitely more suited for a couple with one or two kids, and on the young and athletic side, since going up the steep spiral staircase to the bathroom required quite a bit of effort (we were indeed warned in their web page about it, so this is not a complaint).

The only problem we experienced was that a couple of times when taking showers, we run out of hot water. It seemed to be fixed in a short period of time. I suppose this happened when a lot of people were using the hot water at the same time . . .

>>>Note to reviewers who complained about noise: yes, I agree, you had to be careful not to bother others because the B&B is two connected very old houses, in an old configuration with rooms looking at internal patios. Whenever we came back late at night, we made sure not to speak loudly and we were careful not to slam doors. Any big city is noisy!!! If these travelers want peace and quiet, I would recommend they get either something in the countryside, or on a highrise hotel at a top floor (the latter, I'm sure, would be quite expensive).

Breakfasts were great, with plenty of "facturas" (pastries), and a way to know the rest of the guests, most of which were return ones, and seemed to really like the place and the owners. The best thing about this B&B is the people who own it or work in it--excellent treatment, like being with family or friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhermida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Belgrano
Cristal Palace
Cristal Palace
#344 of 444 in Buenos Aires
107 reviews
Sures Belgrano Suites
#77 of 471 in Buenos Aires
104 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#51 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Cozy Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Cozy Home

Address: Calle Blanco Encalada 2272, Buenos Aires C1428DDJ, Argentina (Formerly Tango Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Belgrano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $148 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Cozy Home, old house renovated, art deco in the Belgrano neighborhood has a beautiful terrace with lots of greenery and flowers, atelier room next to George, painter. Valeria is eutonist. Both wine connoisseurs and partners Wine Education School. The house, comfortable and quiet, with spaces for reading, physical activities, tango, etc.. The room, with private bathroom en suite, LCD TV, air conditioning and climate control. Nearby attractions: Las Barrancas de Belgrano, Belgrano craft fair, River Plate Stadium, Campo Argentino de Polo, Hippodrome of Palermo, Palermo Forests and lakes, Japanese Garden, Golf Course, tennis courts, Museums. Busy all hora.Ubicado three minutes from the subway line "D" straight to the city center, Obelisco, Avenida 9 de Julio, Cinemas and Theatres, Government House ("Casa Rosada"), Catedral, Plaza de Mayo Streets . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tango Cozy Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing