We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel but can be noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal
Ranked #209 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel but can be noisy”
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Beautiful old hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms are well furnished and beds are very comfortable but there is a bit of a problem with noise. It's not unusual for BA from what we saw, but lots of glass and thin walls can mean that you have no choice but to wake when the earliest risers start their day. Some good restaurants nearby but a shame that the hotel has no bar.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    72
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
111
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Staying at the Dandi Royal was a real treat. The staff seemed to always go out of their way to make the stay special. Everything from offering us a cold bottle of water following our late-night arrival to helping a friend find us while we were out touring the city was handled with grace by the staff. And since most flights out of Buenos Aires leave late at night, they continue to pamper their guests even after you check while you wait for your flight time (including offering you a shower before you depart).

I also love the character and charm of this hotel. Each room is different and graced with a large tango-themed mural. You definitely know you're staying in a white-walled chain hotel here.

  • Liked — A wonderful staff
  • Disliked — A bit of a walk to most sights
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NE_AK_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We discovered the Mansion Dandi Royal Residential Tango Academy in Frommer's Budget Travel magazine. We booked a 3-day package deal that included tango lessons and attendance at millonga's (tango dance halls) each night along with two meals a day and all transfers. The experience was delightful. The facility was quite elegant and the staff was extremely attentive and helpful.

The Tango lessons were fun but were mostly in Spanish. Private lessons were available by arrangement but cost two or three times the going rate.

I can recommend the Mansion to anyone who wants to be exposed to the tango culture and still feel cared-for. We had just finished a 12-day round the Horn cruise and the Mansion was a good transition to normalcy.

  • Liked — The Victorian elegance
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank okcheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We spent a few nights at this beautiful hotel, tucked away in San Telmo. While the hotel is a few blocks away from the heart of San Telmo, it is a great location if you want to enjoy the character, fairs, and tango of this area. The hotel is truly beautiful, and brings you back to another era. The rooftop pool is an added bonus on the sweltering summer days. The staff was all extremely helpful and friendly. We truly enjoyed our time at the unique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateInLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

I like art deco and chose this hotel for an overnight stay in Buenos Aires located in San Telmo on a narrow street. Upon entering the doors you have a special feel of another time with the beautifully crafted woodwork, grillwork, painted murals on the walls, and turn of the 20th C fixtures. My room was 306 which was small but had a large single bed with an armoire and desk; the narrow bathroom in the entrance alcove was impeccably clean and charming with a bidet and generous supply of amenities -opposite the bathroom, you were two steps from the outside balcony (view of rooftops only). I arrived in the evening and Malaga Tango was happening in the cafe next door (entrance from hotel) which was fun to watch people dance. Breakfast was a cold selection of cereals, breads/pastries, some fresh fruits, yogurt, juice, coffee or tea. Service was excellent and the staff friendly and courteous. I slept comfortably and would recommend this hotel if you enjoy old fashion charm and atmosphere

  • Liked — Had opportunity to see locals dance Tango - charming old mansion with art deco.
  • Disliked — Charming but small and tight bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AznArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

If you want a romantic getaway at an authentic tango school, this is the place for you. You don't have to dance to appreciate the atmosphere -- we're in our 60s and passed on taking the Tango lessons, but still enjoyed watching them. Each room is charming with its own unique mural following a tango theme from the early 1900's that spreads throughout each hallway, the dining room, the salons, and across the entire property. We began to recognize the characters in the paintings, their personalities, the nuances of their relationships with each other...just cruising the hallways was a trip into another century. The staff were multi-lingual, lovely and attentive-- as if they, too, came from a previous century! Yes, our room was tiny, and it was a good thing we followed the airline's luggage limit of one large suitcase each, but it had a good bed, cable TV, working AC, and a window that opened. Most importantly, our private bathroom was totally modern, and the maintenance and cleanliness in our room and throughout the grounds were impeccible. Breakfast, included with our stay, was a lovely spread of cold foods. There was a small exercise room and hot tub on the roof, although we didn't have time to use them. The location in the heart of San Telmo was within walking distance of many attractions, and a short cab ride to others. If you're expecting to spend your vacation in your hotel room and thus want large, modern, predictable rooms, then you will be disappointed. If you're looking for romantic charm and fin de siecle ambiance without forefeiting basic modern amenities, then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Unique, romantic
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soy_Tink_R_Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Overall, Mansion Dandi Royal is a comfortable and welcoming place with beautiful details throughout!

We just returned from a lovely stay at the Mansion Dandi Royal in the San Telmo neighborhood of Buenos Aires. The hotel is actually two mansions that have been beautifully restored. We had a large room with a full bathroom and additionally a separate spa/jacuzzi. All the amenities such as slippers, robes, toiletries, etc. were there. Our room had a huge painted mural of a tango scene above the bed! Bed was quite comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. The closet was an antique and roomy--wish i had it in New York! Breakfast was included and consisted of a continental style buffet with good coffee.

There is a tango show at the hotel and they do serve food but it is only appetizers. You can take tango lessons each evening and from the look of the other guests, it had paid off! Our first night we showed up in regular shoes to find that most people had brought their dress shoes to dance in.

The staff was helpful and spoke English. They arranged all our airport transfers, booked us on visits to Patagonia and Iguazu, and held our suitcases while we were away. It is a small hotel but feels much larger due to the layout. We met a number of guests in the lounge across from the reception desk and also chatted with the staff about their favorite places to eat in the city.

The neighborhood has several beautiful mansions. You can walk to most parts of the city comfortably. We made the walk to the microcenter and Puerto Madero (excellent food) frequently. On sunday, there is a famous antique fair nearby at Plaza Dorrego, but it is mostly filled with foreign tourists.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank gogitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#162 of 446 in Buenos Aires
183 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#94 of 446 in Buenos Aires
459 reviews
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#68 of 446 in Buenos Aires
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel
#207 of 446 in Buenos Aires
263 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
San Telmo
Ribera Sur Hotel
Ribera Sur Hotel
#181 of 446 in Buenos Aires
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal

Property: Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal
Address: Calle Piedras 922 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1070AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion Dandi Royal was designed for your comfort and to fulfill all your requirements; each of our rooms has its own characteristic style; we offer to all our guests the opportunity to lodge in an exclusive mansion of 30 rooms with all the atmosphere of XX century beginnings Tango. Mansion Dandi Royal Tango residential academy, first in its class, wait for you with the comfort, warm attention and originality that you deserve to enjoy in your stay at Buenos Aires city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Dandi Royal Hotel
Mansion Dandi Royal Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing