We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Atmosphere, Average Conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Limehouse Youth Hostel
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spent there a few night with a couple of friends. It's a nice, rather small hostel located in the heart of Buenos Aires.
The conditions aren't that good- it seems like everything is very old and not well maintained. The rooms are a bit small and there is not AC for the hot nights..
BUT- This hostel has one of the best atmospheres I ever experienced. The shared spaces make people get together and know each other. The staff is awesome and very friendly and nice- after two nights there you'll feel part of the family.
This hostel was so nice that I actually considered working them for a while.
So to sum it up- conditions can be way way better in Buenos but if you're in for knowing new cool people- this is the place for you.

Room Tip: My general philosophy- take the cheapest room possible
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Limehouse Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

overall my stay was very unpleasant in this hostel. when i wanted to check-in i had to wait for the receptionist to finish her lunch, there were people the whole night partying at reception, smoking inside and yelling at 8 in the morning when people had breakfast. even in the furthest dorm people couldn't sleep because of the noise. i wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Worst hostel I have stayed at in my 6 months travelling so far. Staff were not helpful at all nor did I see any of them with a smile on their face once.

Noisy is an understatement! Music on all night, some kind of gangster rap full blast. It was 5:30am and the music was atill as loud as it was at 1pm. It felt like I was back in university halls...WORSE! I suppose this is why some people go traveling...to stay up late getting pissed everynight! If you need any kind of rest, do not stay here. I am not usually fussy whith hostals but this was a joke and they ignores other guests polite requests to turn it down slightly. Unacceptable when paying so much!

Cleanliness is also an issue at this disgusting little establishment.

Look somewhere else, I dont think ull regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuroTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Been there back in 2003 (yeah!!! 10 years ago - how the time fly!!!) when it was opened not long ago and it was amazing excperience. In total, i've spent there over a month, and it was the best place to meet people from all over and the stuff were amazing and real friendly. I made some really good friends there with whom i'm in touch to this day. Recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Quite a nice place, good location... stayed in a 12 person dorm for 45pesos a night which is cheap for BA. 6 bed dorms at reception are noisy and you wont get sleep.
our friends stayed in a 4 person room and they woke up one morning to find their locks had been broken off their lockers and all their stuff robbed... (cheap place to stay if you dont mind getting all your stuff robbed....thats all i have to say...)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limehousehostel, Director de Recepción at Limehouse Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Backpacker,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment .We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
We are very sorry for what happened to your belongings. Unfortunately we could not anticipate the robbery, but we will be taking strict measures in order to insure the backpackers safety within the hostel.

We send you our best regards.

Limehouse staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been there back in 2003 (yeah!!! 10 years ago - how the time fly!!!) when it was opened not long ago and it was amazing excperience. In total, i've spent there over a month, and it was the best place to meet people from all over and the stuff were amazing and real friendly. I made some really good friends there with whom i'm in touch to this day. Recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djronenYeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limehousehostel, Director de Recepción at Limehouse Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Backpacker,

We thank you for choosing limehouse hostel, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to see you soon,

Best regards,

Limehouse staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hostel, which has a good location in the centre of Buenos aires.

It is a small hostel which seems to get most of its business from travellers who cannot get into Millhouse round the corner.

Our six bed dorm was comfortable, clean and had decent lockers. The fan was broken but a free standing one was given when we asked for it. Breakfast included is measured but fine.

A major drawback is that the bar (which is smoking) is in the reception area so anyone wanting to go to sleep before 2am is unlikely to get any shut eye.

Staff not overly helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Casa De Papa
Casa De Papa
#226 of 465 in Buenos Aires
19 reviews
Montserrat
Hostel Fiesta
Hostel Fiesta
#238 of 465 in Buenos Aires
71 reviews
Palermo
Media Veronica Hostel Buenos Aires
Media Veronica Hostel Buenos Air...
#64 of 465 in Buenos Aires
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#33 of 465 in Buenos Aires
168 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
#264 of 465 in Buenos Aires
19 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#20 of 465 in Buenos Aires
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limehouse Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limehouse Youth Hostel

Address: Calle Lima 11, Buenos Aires C1073AAA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 465 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $20 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Limehouse Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIME HOUSE YOUTH HOSTEL is situated in the city center with view on the famous Obelisk monument. We offer to our guests:-24 hour check-in-Free breakfast-Housekeeping -Lockers-Emergency assistance 24hs-Phone, fax and internet-Rest and reading room-TV Room and cable-Hot water 24hs-24hs security-Tours and services-Bar -Equipped kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Limehouse Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing