We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 3 years...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After 3 years...”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Damn!!! It's incredible how better and better this place becomes... I have to give it up for the cleaners, the managers, the old and new door guys and especially for the new receptionists. Franco was the highlight at this time. Pablo Acha and Poli, no words can't express how much I like you both... you made me feel home once again. The grils in reception, all of you.... incredible treatment and organization.... Laura, keeps managing it incredibly well........... Bar Staff, you guys ROCK. And FEFOOOOOO, many thanks to you for having me so welcome. A PLACE TO STAY for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcmoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    228
    70
    15
    37
See reviews for
14
73
229
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great atmosphere to meet new people and have fun with your friends! The parties are very fun!!!! The staff is very friendly as well! The locations is good. Its a party hostel so don´t go if you don´t have a open mind for fun times and just want a place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariamaTomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I usually avoid staying in hostels but was talked into booking this one. My expectations were really poor, I was dreading staying here, especially after reading some of the negative reviews. However I have never been so surprised. The hotel is located in a great location, really close to Florida st and 9 de julio. The staff are amazing, they all speak English and are really helpful. There are tons of activities for you to do and the staff are happy to help you with information. We stayed two nights in a triple share room, it wasnt the ritz and the beds werent the comfiest but the bathroom and linen were clean and our rooms were cleaned in the morning. The only downsides were the sink leaked a little bit and the beds were fairly old. It is a party hostel but we didn't party and it was fine, people do make noise early in the morning, but its not too bad when you think about the sirens in London and other noisy areas. Breakfast was included, pretty basic, just cornflakes, toast and juice tea and coffee. The wifi was free and there were also computers available for free use. No t.v. in the room, but we weren't bothered. After our stay here we moved to another Buenos Aires hotel as part of a tour that was supposed to be 4 stars and I found myself wanting to return to Milhouse as it was a much better place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the reception are more likely to be able to access the free wifi that is available i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great hostel, very clean, good staff, rooms are big and organised, very good location and fair price. And it has parties every night. The breakfast was simple but delicious. I´d definitely indicate this place to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IaraMagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Location is prime, with a 10 mins walk to congress or casa rosado. This hostel is really for youth or younger generations to party as they have happy hour and drink session every day. If you want o meet ppl or share bunk that's fine. If you are looking for decent sleep DO NOT COME HERE ... YOU WILL NOT GET ANY. For eg during my stay there were some freshman coming back from party at 5am. Kept talking and shouting. The sound doesn't filter though the walls and wooden tile either. The street the hostel is in is also the party scene of some local underaged hip hop parties. You won't like walking around past mid night.

The staff attitude were ok but I think it's the way they learnt to speak and pronounce English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My first stop in S.America was B.Aires.
We heard about this hostel from a friend back home and we were glad we listend.
The hostel is located in central B.Aires and its a great location. close to alot of main things in B.Aires. The hostel it self has Great Vibes and atmosphere, great service from the workers, the rooms are fine as well. We enjoyed the bar in the hostel and the orginization of going out to a diffrent club everynight and other activities as well. (Going to soccer matches, bike rides,,,)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spent there a few nights with friends, after hearing some good reviews from others.
The hostel is well located, full of beautiful people and is trying to give you a good experince.
If you want to go there- you probably heard about the great social life of the hostel. Every night there's a small party in one of Milhouse hostels that leads to a bigger one, in a different part of Buenos each night. It's true- it's really cool to meet people like this and definitely there are tons of beautiful girls there.
That said- the conditions are not that good.. you have to carry your stuff up 3 flights of stairs sometimes, there is no AC, bathrooms are OK at best, it's a bit overpriced for Buenos and you get the feeling somebody is watching you like you got back to high school (no drinks, only people from the hostel allowed to come in).
If you are alone and looking to meet some people- go there, if not- you can do better in Buenos
Aires.

Room Tip: If you take a large dorm- don't be surprised to wake up when people get back from parties, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,414 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#45 of 445 in Buenos Aires
505 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#5 of 460 in Buenos Aires
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#4 of 460 in Buenos Aires
671 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 460 in Buenos Aires
710 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#9 of 460 in Buenos Aires
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Hipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Property: Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 460 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Hipo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing