We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place is so much fun.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place is so much fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I was supposed stay here for 6 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks. It's a real party oriented atmosphere. I met so many people and had Si much fun BA just sucked me in.
The place (avenue) is immaculate. The staff was super friendly, helpful and cool. One of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    220
    69
    15
    36
See reviews for
13
71
219
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a party hostel. If you're not up for a party stay elsewhere, but if you like to party and want to meet other people, you can't miss it. Great spot. Spent a week there and didn't want to leave, met fantastic people. Decent rooms, a/c only comes on at night but rooms were cool enough not to be an issue. Wifi wasn't great when busy. Will stay here again

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fishbowl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancora, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

As made very clear by other reviews, this is very much a party hostel. Nightly events, trips to clubs etc are all put on by the hostel. Staff are very helpful, location is good, 1 block from de Majo. Recommend for those wanting to go and have some fun in BA

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keeweej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Milhouse was a great hostel for meeting other travellers - within a few hours of arriving I had met loads of people who I then spent the next few days exploring BA with, and who I´ve stayed in touch with after. The location was great and there was lots going on. The city tours however were overpriced. The parties were good, but if you´re looking for somewhere quiet where you can get an early night this is not the hostel for you. On the whole though this was a great hostel which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location is perfect, the included breakfast is good and the dorm rooms are clean and I did not have problems with bed bugs, but heard complaints about this from several other travellers. I liked the big patio and the rooftop terrace and the party program they have every night.

What I think could be improved is the computer area, which is very limited (4 computers) regarding the amount of people staying there; and the noise-level during the daytime, which I think is not necessary, not even in a party hostel. People like to sit down and read or work on their laptops and don't need pumping club music all day. Also, I could not get used to the fact that there's no daylight in the common area downstairs, which is why I preferred the patio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I liked the hostel, but not really at the end. Someone stole my camera from my backpack. The hostel is ok besides some dirty areas, but I guess you are not going to find cheap and excellent in every aspect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

great party hostel in Buenos Aires, every day is something going on. Is very well organise and the have a great security as well.

I meet a lots of nice people there and i would recomend this place to anybody.

only the room are for the number of people little too small

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alafumejor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#62 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#51 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Hipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Property: Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Hipo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing