We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, stay here for a great time :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved this hostel. The staff are the friendliest ever and made a real effort to remember our names which was really nice. Rooms and bathrooms are great and the whole hostel is spotlessly clean, even though there are frequent parties. We had a problem with the nightclub booking agency and the hostel went out of their way to fix it. Love this place, favourite hostel I've stayed in without a doubt. We knew it was a party hostel so we were expecting it to be loud but in the rooms it's actually quiet. Very comfy beds and the other Milhouse is just over the road so easy to get to on the nights the parties are there. Well done guys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 773 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Rooms: good, clean, big, decent bathrooms, comfy beds, clean towels every day.

Staff: brilliant, helpful, knowledgable

Atmosphere: great parties, bar is expensive though.

Tours: all good! Staff sort out any problems quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinadam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was travelling alone but did not spend half an hour alone there. Is was just so easy to make friends, everyone was friendly and helpful. We had a lot of fun everyday, and really enjoyed Buenos Aires. There are people from all the countries, and everyone in the same party spirit! I highly recommend staying in this hostel if that's the type of experience youre willing to have.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a great hostel, in a lovely building, staff were so friendly and great activities on every day and nights.
Is brilliant if you want a social hostel. It did seem a bit more expensive for a mixed dorm than other hostels, but if you are looking for a hostel where you will meet loads of people and want to have organised nights out and parties in the hostel then it is more than worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hello. I´d like to compliment and thank you for the service at Milhouse Avenue.
We stayed there for 7 days and it was really good, from costumer service to housekeeping, you are really receptive and attentive.
I´ve got the chance to stay at other hostels in different countries, by the way a terrible one in Paris, but yours is a great one!
Keep on working like that....
Thanks again...
Henrique Silva

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenriqueSilvaJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just the best place ever. Never had so much fun before. The staff is just friendly, the location is perfect, the parties rocks, and it keeps going at the best night clubs. I really enjoyed my staying there, and I know what is my next trip destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauriano1733776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location of this hostel is quite good; subway and busstops nearby. And it's about a five minute walk to the Casa Rosada. The rooms are quite nice, even though it's located right on a busy street with the occasional lorry shacking you out of your bunk in the middle of the night.

The staff was very friendly and generally helpful in offering directions, making reservations, etc. It's called party hostel, and for a good reason. If you're not willing to spend every single night partying, you're going to regret your stay here. Even though the hallways were supposed to be quiet zones, people threw parties in their dorm rooms, without any staff intervening. Otherwise this would've been a great place for a regular traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasperla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
Montserrat
Gran Hotel Espana
Gran Hotel Espana
#302 of 440 in Buenos Aires
38 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#5 of 478 in Buenos Aires
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#9 of 478 in Buenos Aires
1,396 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#4 of 478 in Buenos Aires
689 reviews
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#2 of 478 in Buenos Aires
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Hipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 478 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing