We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family run hostel, homelike atmosphere and nice deco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Che Lulu Guesthouse
Ranked #189 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good family run hostel, homelike atmosphere and nice deco”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

During my trip in Argentina I stayed twice in this hostel. The staff (especially the family owners) are helpful and speak good English. All rooms are decorated with art of all kinds and daily there are fresh flowers in the common rooms. Fresh orange juice and and fresh media lunas for breakfast. Rooms are a bit small, but Value for money is ok. There is a turtle living in the internal courtyyard.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flo_Howman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    11
    17
    19
See reviews for
3
36
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

would be mad if i booked this thinking it was a hotel as many couples who were staying there were. nice hostel, shared dorm is good but private rooms are tiny. we had to re-arrange the room to fit our bags in. private room dusty. decent breakfast(hostel standard), 2 showers but only1 works at a time and in mornings we had to wait for shower. excellent staff and nice common area.no party atmosphere though..none! also people smoking in common area

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shovlin1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I spent several weeks off and on at Che Lulu during June, 2011 and found the experience to be among the highlights of our Argentine Experience. The facility itself was somewhat quaint and cozy and we truly enjoyed the Old Soho neighborhood which lends itself to exploratory strolls among it's many restaurants, cafes, bars, and shops while being accessible to public transportation.

But, most of all, we simply enjoyed visiting with the friendly and efficient management and staffers who made us feel at home and provided us with all sorts of guidance when it came to getting the most out of our stay in Buenos Aires. Moreover, we also enjoyed visiting with our fellow guests who hailed from all parts of the World.

I could go on and on describing our experience but it may be best to close with the observation that we look forward to returning to Che Lulu the next time we have the opportunity to visit Argentina -Our Home Away from Home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoorCountyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Che lulu guesthouse. As we arrived we got an upgrade from a lulu room to the village, which means that we had our own house with a living room, a kitchen, a bedroom and a balcony. We really liked it's interior.

Just one negative aspect: the bed was not very comfortable at all. But overall it was not that important to us.

Everybody of the lulu crew was so friendly and kind, we felt like being at home. Everywhere in that place you will find lovely details (decorations). Which so our opinion make that place that special.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UFTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hostel is nicely decorated but it is a hostel trying to be a hotel. It is overpriced for what you get. Unfortunately, we were given the smallest room in the hotel which was next door to the toilet. You could hear everything, and I mean EVERYTHING that went on in the toilet. The showers were also of poor condition and it was a 2 shower cubicle for men and women, which was strange. There was no door to the showers except for a curtain so I certainly wouldnt share the shower with someone else next to me. The breakfast was nice though and the staff were helpful enough, which made up for the cons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

After a long flight from the states, we landed here, based on the review in Moon Handbooks. I'm pretty sure the author of Moon didn't come to BA. Of course, the owner didn't have our reservation. And spent a good 45 minutes looking for the piece of paper, while we stood there and waited. She tried to give us a room at the top of the stairs, which we declined as the beds were twins and for very small people. So then she gave us another room with a double bed. And since the double bed more or less took up the entire room, we didn't have a place for our backpacks. Or anywhere to stand. The room was filthy (floor, bed spread) and the bathroom was even more disgusting. The breakfast just as bad...media lunas (the bad attempt at crossiants), tang and coffee. Wifi did work. All of this for $60/night. RIP! There was a nice patio, and it's well located, but that's about it. Don't believe the guidebook...look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Partly hostel partly hotel in the very fashionable neighbourhood of Palermo. It is located between Palermo viejo (plaza serrano) y Palermo hollywood, where all the trendy bars, restaurants and nighclubs are. Hotels have understand that and usually prices for a hotel room are very expensive there. Che lulu is a good opportunity to have a room for not too expensive. The cleaness of the room is very acceptable. The personnel of the hotel is young and very friendly (mostly students). The owners are nice too. Since the hotel is partly a hostel, it is quite easy to get to know the others guests of the hotel, in particular during the breakfast. The amosphere is informal, familial, friendly. For all there reasons I would recommend Che Lulu

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FloAuPaysImaginaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 447 in Buenos Aires
976 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#25 of 447 in Buenos Aires
811 reviews
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#42 of 447 in Buenos Aires
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
No photo provided
Zola Hostel
#88 of 457 in Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Palermo
Feel Buenos Aires
Feel Buenos Aires
#50 of 457 in Buenos Aires
33 reviews
Palermo
HI Hostels Suites Palermo
HI Hostels Suites Palermo
#163 of 457 in Buenos Aires
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lulu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lulu Guesthouse

Property: Che Lulu Guesthouse
Address: Calle Emilio Zola 5185, Buenos Aires C1425GHA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Che Lulu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lulu Guesthouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing