We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Principado Downtown
Ranked #172 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed December 18, 2007

As noted in other reviews you can´t fault the location. Really close to everything you need to see in the centre of BA.

My main problem with this place was we had a room that was extremely noisy and thus detracted from our stay here. Oh there was also the front desk staff that were certainly not the most helpful or friendliest.

Cost wise its a little overpriced for what it was and there are far better alternatives that are also close to town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — service, noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BillyandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    111
    73
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
80
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Principado for 03 nights during our 12 days vacation in South America. We loved the Principado!!! From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the bellboy welcomed us with a great smile, the people at the front desk were extremely nice, they helped us make our reservation for a marvelous tango show ("Senor Tango"), Federico at the front desk was extremely helpful providing info on the city and what to do and where to go......Our room was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the street. I was afraid at first that the noise from the street would wake us up....I was wrong!! It is a very quite street at night! Even though the hotel is centrally located, just 2 blocks away from "Florida" street and 2 blocks from Gallerias Pacifico Shopping and just minutes away from Puerto Madero. We couldn't have a better location! We walked to the Casa Rosada, Obelisco and Colon Theater, walk along Avenida Corrientes and made our way to the Justice palace (beautiful!).
The hotel is very modern, I was impressed with the elevator (it salutes you with a "welcome" when you get in and wishes you a "great day" when you leave...very unique) The hallway lights turn on automatically day and night as you walk, I felt that was convenient specially when you come back with full hands after a day of shopping in Buenos AIres!
The bed and pillows were comfy, had lots of choices of channels in english and spanish on their cable/satellite TV, has a minifridge with varieties of drinks, sodas, cookies and chocolates), a LOVED the electric plugs with ALL SIZES and styles for appliances coming from all parts of the world! (Just make sure your electronics match same voltage as the one they have in Buenos Aires).
About the bathroom: We had a tub with shower, bidet, hairdryer and all amenities: soap, shampoo (2 bottles), conditiones (2 bottles), showercap, etc Towels were new and plenty for the 2 of us. Very proffesional presentation (hotel logo on towels, amenities, sheets, etc)
Wake up calls were programmed as requested.
We were told that our room was located on the "new area" of the hotel.....that they haven't finished renovating the entire property yet......
I didn't ask if they have a pool...since we were there during winter, we didn't care for such amenity.
Breakfast was included in the rate, however, it was not buffet, it was served at the table, the waiter asked what we wanted for breakfast . They served orange and passion fruit juice, toasts, bread, cereal, ham and fruit cocktails besides, of course, coffe, milk or tea.
I think they charged like US$ 0.50 per minute for each local phone call, which I considered a fair, cheap rate for hotel standards.
Internet is free, you just need to advise the front desk that you need to use the internet and they will give you free access.
All in all, we had a great stay at the Principado and we would definitely go back and recomend it to friends!

  • Liked — It makes you feel at home. It's not a big chain.
  • Disliked — Bathroom door was too big and made it uncomfortable at times for 2 people in the bathroom at the same time.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Aventura305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Aside from the location,there is nothing remarkable about this hotel to say.The breakfast was included in the rate but it was the same thing every morning with no variations at all.After a few days you end having breakfast somewhere else.The bell men were very friendly;not as much the front desk people.The positive thing about the location is that it is close to Florida Street and that there ar plenty of decent restaurants to go to eat for less than what we normally pay for fast food in the United States,including Puerto Rico,where we live.The taxis are really cheap too and you can get one at the hotel entrance at any time.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Macon, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We booked this hotel by phone from our home in Argentina and we have been staying in the hotel for 4 years. We like the hotel in terms of rooms, service and the cafe there is good. Last trip I discovered that I was being charged double what other people, those with a "true" Argentine accent", were being charged. We live in Argentina at least 6 months a year and have a long record of visiting the hotel. The rate we have paid for the past 1.5 years is more than double what we paid 4 years ago. We thought it had gone up for everyone, now we know the truth and we will not stay there again. We feel it is unfair to have such extreme prices for people they see as "non-natives". These kind of practices will not help Argentine tourism.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Irenomys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2006

Great Location (very close to Florida, minutes from Puerto Madero).
Comfortable, average breakfast (served in the tables, poor variety but good quality), very clean, good service, low telephone call rates.
Good cost-benefit.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana_Ramos.Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2006

The location is great. The hotel is a bit old but it was clean enough. I thought the bathroom was a bit too small, but it had a bath with shower. The room was fine, not cramped, even if it wasn't large. Breakfast wasn't very good (served at the table - which I thought was unusual - a couple of toasts, a couple of croissants, a slice of ham each, a slice of cheese each, coffee, milk, tea, a tiny bowl with fruit, terrible orange juice, and nothing else much). Staff weren't overly friendly, but they were helpful. Definitely not a 4* hotel (which it supposedly is), but it was okay. I went expecting more, so I was disappointed, but, as long as you know what to expect, it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank feurosav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

We came back to the Prinicipado three times on our trips through South America. Nice people, clean rooms. Breakfast a bit basic but that is normal in South America. Low season rates about 50 US for double room including breakfast. It´s a four star by the way, not a two star. Recommended.

Helpful?
9 Thank bertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Dazzler San Martin
Dazzler San Martin
#196 of 446 in Buenos Aires
679 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Florida
NH Buenos Aires Florida
#85 of 446 in Buenos Aires
354 reviews
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#88 of 446 in Buenos Aires
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Dora Hotel
Dora Hotel
#188 of 446 in Buenos Aires
276 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#75 of 446 in Buenos Aires
928 reviews
Retiro
Waldorf Hotel
Waldorf Hotel
#177 of 446 in Buenos Aires
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principado Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principado Downtown

Property: Principado Downtown
Address: Calle Paraguay 481, Buenos Aires C1057AAC, Argentina (Formerly Tupip Inn)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Principado Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our warm enviroment, a prime location and our personalized service, come together and create a perfect combination for both businessmen and tourists.Its prominent location offers passengers fast access to finnancial center,to class restaurants, cinemas, theatres, shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Principado Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principado Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Principado Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing