We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of Waldorf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Hotel
Ranked #172 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice location but I wouldn't recomend walking alone after dark. Lots of homeless people around the hotel during the night.
The room was simple but nice, as well as the breakfast.
You're asked to leave your keys at the front desk everytime you leave the hotel and they lost mine. When I get back, they couldn't find my key and didn't have another room to offer me. The next day, they changed my lock but I preffered to move to another room.
Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alebasi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana S, Reservas - Encargada del manejo de los portales con los que trabaja el hotel at Waldorf Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Alebasi85,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
About the homeless people in the sourroundings of the hotel, it is a sad reality that can be seen in every large city of the world.
Concerning the problem you mentioned about the keys of the room, it is a very strange fact, as the hotel has magnetic locks in every room and of course guests are not asked to leave the magnetic key cards at the front desk in any moment. It is not necesary unless you have old regular key locks, which is not the case.

Best regards,
Waldorf Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    291
    242
    82
    39
See reviews for
178
281
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Regular tourist hotel. The room was extremely small. The TV was positioned in front of the air conditioning which made the room very hot. Wireless Internet service, in addition extra charge, worked badly. Although everything was clean, with a fair continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiogoPaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed 4 night at the waldorf Hotel and the arrival was a very pleasant experience. I arrived late at night and the staff was very friendly. We were thinking about going to a restaurant for dinner and they recommended going to Puerto Madero. Really REALLY nice staff!!!

The hotel is a average 3 stars, with no luxury. The rooms are small and the toilet is really old, clean but old and small. So if you are looking for conformt I would recommend a nicer hotel. When I first saw the room I was kind of disapointed with the size and the simplicity, however somehow I got used to it, and did not bored me anymore.

The breakfeast is average, not bad. The only thing that bored me was the line. It took us about 5 min to go inside, which is not a long time. but chocked me when I first saw it.

The hotel is well located. The best place to stray if u are looking for a good location. Just one block from Calle Florida (3 min walking) and 5 min from Galeria Pacifico and a walk distance from others tourist atractions.

Overall the Hotel was a average 3 stars with a great staff.

Room Tip: Pick the higher floors, the elevator is small (only 3 people) a lot of people have to wait a lot for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is a great option if you have a limited budget. It is not expensive at all and is close to most of the Buenos Aires touristic sites. I walked to Plaza de Mayo, San Telmo, Calle Florida, Plaza San Martin and Puerto Madero. To go to Parlemo and Recoleta we took a cab and it was about 10-20 pesos. Also, there are great restaurant options nearby: El Establo Parrilla is across the street!
The room I stayed in was renovated and really spacious. The breakfast is good too.
The staff is helpful and friendly.
It is really worth considering what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed here as Explore UK had put us here. It's a run of the mill standard hotel, corporate look to all the rooms, and yes it is dated but... perfectly adequate for a few nights stay (if a bit hot but the air con soon kicked in) with 20 mins free wifi and then payment up front after that. you can however use the apple shop opposites guest wifi from the front facing rooms,or go and sit in the pub next door...
not the smallest room i've ever had but up there with the 'bijou' rating and 'shabby' chic, with a little updating it could be a lovely (er) hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms mean free wifi (guest accounts from other premises)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scatti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Apparently much used by European small group tour companies........it must be cost........we stayed 3 times because Explore UK put us there and we required pre and post tours accommodation in Buenos Aires. We did not want to be moving hotels un-necessarily and having pre-paid, we tolerated it.......but with hindsight we would not do so again. The good news. The hotel is well positioned and runs an efficient, secure left luggage service. Breakfasts are adequate. The rest is sadly predictable. Cramped, hot bedrooms with small beds and very noisy cold air blowers. 2 very small lifts....3 people maximum.Scuffed, dismal paintwork everywhere, with dated fittings. One expensive Internet access point for 8 floors, so forget using that. Reception staff were generally very unhelpful with no easy ways to access flight information or reconfirm flights.No advice available on city tours or attractions and everything just seemed to be too much trouble. My wife is not a fan of lifts and uses the stairs, so when booking in for the 3rd (and longest) stay, we mentioned that we had stayed previously on the 7th floor and wanted something lower. After 5 minutes of studious attention to her computer screen she gave us 902.....and then got huffy when we asked her to try again. Just try it and move to another room tomorrow was her "un-successful" solution. On that basis we could (and should) have moved to a better local hotel. If travelling within a small group tour, then you have limited control over your accommodation.......but pre and post tour stays are your call and are best avoided at the Waldorf, even if moving is seen as inconvenient.

Oaklyn, Cheshire, England.

22.11.2011

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oaklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The location is good, just few steps from the Galerias Pacifico mall, but that´s all.
The hotel is just ok: normal breakfest, normal rooms and staff.
If you are looking for a good location at city center with a good price, Waldorf will fits you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Gran Hotel Orly
Gran Hotel Orly
#404 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#156 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#131 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Aspen Suites Hotel
Aspen Suites Hotel
#96 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Florida
NH Buenos Aires Florida
#86 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Retiro
Principado Downtown
Principado Downtown
#176 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Hotel

Property: Waldorf Hotel
Address: Calle Paraguay 450, Buenos Aires C1057AAD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waldorf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Buenos Aires
Waldorf Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing