We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alvear Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alvear Art Hotel
Ranked #9 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Hotel is very modern, just opened in 2013. The rooms are very nice overlooking the city if you choose the top floor, loved the bathroom quite big calm colors. Great view for swimming pool and gym at the top floor. Very friendly and attentive staff

What I didn’t like is that you have a Nespresso machine in room and you have to pay for the coffee and the Breakfast is not up to the standard of a Leading Hotel of The World category.

Room Tip: choose upper floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabdelmessih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel and staff.

However, we have noted your comment about our Nespresso machine in our rooms. We offer two complimentary capsules per stay. Regarding our breakfast, we already included more options thanks to your comment.

We hope to have you as our guest in your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    118
    22
    0
    3
See reviews for
101
316
37
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We are frequent and demanding travelers. The quality of the hotels, of the rooms and of the services are important for us and we always are disappointed in expensive hotels.
Alvear Art makes the difference. Staff is efficient and friendly, rooms are immaculate (the hotel is new), design is great, pool and fitness are excellent (as well as the trainer), and the location is perfect at the center of B.A.
If there is a downside, the breakfast choices could be improved.
We have traveled in most of the Latin America countries and considering its reasonable price, Alvear Art hotel really is one of , if not, the best hotel we got on this continent.

Room Tip: Upper floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to make this wonderful recommendation.

We have duly noted your comment regarding our Breakfast choices. We would like to inform you that we have discussed your comment with our Executive Chef and we are already making some changes and adding new options. Our guests opinions always helps us improve our service.

We Look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again as our guest in the near future.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Recently opened hotel with modern design. All the equipment of the room and bathroom is new, the room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. Very nice pool on the top floor. The staff is very friendly and responsive. The hotel is well located: within easy walk to main sightseeing places. Breakfast was the only disadvantage since it was too poor for 5*

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and for your very nice comments.

We are glad to inform you that we added more products to our Breakfast to meet our guests standards.

We hope to see you at our hotel again.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice new hotel. Fantastic beds and bathroom. Very friendly staff speaking perfect english. Highly recommended.
Seperate toilet. Good breakfast. Centrsl location. Best experiemce in south america. Also the restaurant is very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel and staff.

We hope to have you as our guest in the near future.

Best regards,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a 6 month old hotel and one of the "Leading hotels of the world", but housekeeping is hurting the pleasure of our stay. We've had failures to replenish amenities two days in a row and today they did not come until we chased them after 4 PM, when the room had not yet been cleaned. We reported the issues to the front desk each day, but no follow up. Also, the breakfast buffet is very limited and get boring fast (we will be back here for 3 more nights starting this weekend and not looking forward to it). It's a shame, as there are many positives about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillBoyd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your first stay. The housekeeping problems you mention don't meet our standards. We hope your second stay was better in this matter.

Yours sincereley,

Sonia Costa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The service, location was perfect. Staff was extremelly friendly. Amazing Pool overllooking Buenos Aires and splendid Spa. Extremely comfortable beds.... and Nespresso in the room for the morning I could not ask more

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank France B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia C, Gerente at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kinds comments about our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you appreciate our service, location, staff, pool & spa, beds and nespresso coffee in your room.

We hope to have you again as our guest in the Alvear Art Hotel.

Best regards,
Stella Cafaro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time in Argentina and my spanish is not the best and my mom speaks almost none, we were excited about this trip but we were very anxious about communication and safety. The first person we met at the hotel was a doorman named JURINDIR from Brazil, who spoke exemplary english and was extremely friendly and kind. It turned out he had went to college in North America and understood our concerns and needs. He went above and beyond the call of duty, giving detailed directions to our cab drivers, giving us safe locations to change money, dine and just enjoy the city. Every day he checked in with us and my mother, he made our trip amazing, honestly we wouldnt have had half a good of time as we did if it wasnt for him, If you are an English speaker or Portuguese speaker, definitely ask for him.

The hotel has a modern look and the sole restaurant has a nice selection of food, although the juice was sour, but that could be the time of year. Service there was excellent! as was the housekeeping and the spa service. Everyone was very helpful and did their best to accomodate us at all times. The hotel is on a side street that looks shady but we still felt safe because the staff would run to us immediately and treated us like family. By the end of our trip they all knew our names, Thank you to Ignacio, Ivan, Fatima, especially Jurindir and all of the staff at Alvear Art hotel, I would recommend it to anyone simply because of the great service I received.

Room Tip: Keep the great staff you have and please send them our appreciation and thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCafaro, Gerente at Alvear Art Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Alvear Art Hotel.

Your kind comments about our friendly staff are truly appreciated.

Ignacio, Ivan, Fatima and specially Jurandir, are very grateful for your wonderful review.

We hope to have you as our guest soon again.

Best Regards,

Stella Cafaro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#24 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Art Hotel

Property: Alvear Art Hotel
Address: Calle Suipacha 1036, Buenos Aires C1008AAV, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new generation, the same essence:The Alvear Art Hotel emerges as an innovative proposal in Buenos Aires, backed up by the tradition of the Alvear Palace Hotel. Set among impressive trees, this new sample of the Alvear Experience opens the doors of its modern building in the heart of the financial, commercial, and cultural area of the city, offering excellent service, warm hospitality, the sophisticated comfort of its rooms, and the most advanced technology.Location:The Alvear Art Hotel is located in a traditional area of Buenos Aires, declared a historical site - the San Martín Square, just steps away from elegant Santa Fe Avenue and famous Florida Street with their countless stores. It is strategically located a few blocks from the financial area and only five minutes from the new corporate district in Puerto Madero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvear Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing