We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting”

MACBA -Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Buenos Aire
Ranked #227 of 758 things to do in Buenos Aires
Attraction details
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Really interesting collection. We loved it. Cool little cafe, which we didn't actually try, but it would be a lovely spot for lunch or a cuppa.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    23
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This dock-side area, with its own walks, restaurants, footbridge, and art gallery, is a must-see area of modern Buenos Aires. The vista along the whole length is sensitive both to Buenos Aires as a modern capital, and its dockside heritage.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ja5al1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Near the center and San Telmo is a pleasant surprise, aa ultramodern display space for a museum that mounts unexpectedly comprehensive reviews of contemporary art, often international in scope. Worth the visit, depending on the special show in place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank picturedesk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Very modern art!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were in Defensa Street on a Sunday enjoying the San Telmo market experience and happened on this newly opened museum in the adjacent Av San Juan. The exhibits are well displayed in a light and airy modern format. Trouble was - we didn't understand any of it. All seemed to be a combination of geometric shapes and whilst many of these were clever with the colours or the patterns the message that they sent was lost on us. Reminded us of the spirograph game we used to play as kids when we achieved the same kind of work just on a smaller scale. In amongst all of this was a work by Rosa Brun which only gets a mention because it consisted of three individual square canvasses hung next to each other each painted in a different colour. That was it - 3 squares. A child could do the same - we could do the same. Maybe we should have asked one of the many art students who were around to explain it to us. We just didn't get it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MACBA -Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Buenos Aire also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to MACBA -Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Buenos Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing