We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tour customized to you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Otro Porteno Walking Tour

El Otro Porteno Walking Tour
Ranked #94 of 271 Tours in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "El Otro Porteno" are walking tours in Buenos Aires beyond the touristic areas. We want to give the opportunity to travellers for a local cultural experience. Local walking tours everyday of the week: Discover CABALLITO's hidden Gems. Walk through BELGRANO's past & present Memories. Visiting the city's neighbourhoods and tasting the flavours of our food we use to eat everyday. Everyone can join us to walk the streets of the city as another porteno. We are a local team of Portenos so you can bet we'll give our best."
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
“tour customized to you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

the real currency of the tour is ari's chill, laidback personality, and his willingness to be open about any and all things buenos aires! we just wanted to explore the city and bombard him with questions, and he was totally cool with that. we learned a A LOT of buenos aires, ended up getting caught in a random torrential downpour (from which ari quick thinkingly had us on a bus and safe)

highly recommend

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arieiber, Propietario at El Otro Porteno Walking Tour, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Well! thank you very much for this review! I'm glad we organize something customized to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for curious people...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm from Buenos Aires but he took a friend of mine from Brazil for a tour since I had to work. I already knew she was going to have a good time with him and learn worth it things about our city and history.

My friend was really happy she came back talking how she would like to organize a tour to the interior of Argentina with him!!!

Is not a regular Tour guide, so if you are looking for a different kind of tour he is what you are looking for!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuadalupeBarragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arieiber, Propietario at El Otro Porteno Walking Tour, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for this advice! We'll be waiting for you whenever you'd like to join us too! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rainy day in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'm a Canadian who was travelling in Chile and Argentina for a few months earlier this year. I didn't have very much time in Buenos Aires, and I wanted to experience as much as possible. I did a lot of touring myself, but El Otro Porteño was recommended to me through a mutual friend. I absolutely couldn't pass up on this, so I gave him some information about myself, my interests, and he organized a tour that was specifically for ME.

On the day of the tour, it was raining cats and dogs (pouring) in Buenos Aires. I was upset, but it was the only time that worked for both of us, so I messaged him and inquired about it. As far as he was concerned, it was still on! And so off we went. We started off at MALBA and saw some excellent exhibits that portrayed a lot of history, and we got to talking about the history, politics, and education of our respective countries. It was so interesting to hear about those aspects of other cultures. From there, we headed off in our rain gear to an artsy, somewhat bohemian, hipster quarter of Buenos Aires - Palermo Soho! We fueled our systems with coffee and sweets and headed off for our next stop - a museum solely dedicated to the musical history of Buenos Aires. After spending way too little time there (in reality it was about 1 hour, I could've stayed there for years and not gotten sick of it), we went downstairs for a free salsa class.

So in one day, I saw a huge variety of what Buenos Aires had to offer, had interesting cultural conversations, made a new friend, and fell in love with this incredible city.

El Otro Porteño is professional, friendly, engaging, flexible, and will go out of his way to ensure you have an incredible experience in his native city. His passion for his work and his city are evident throughout, and I promise that you will leave this city wanting to return and do another tour with El Otro Porteño.

Muchisimas Gracias!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arieiber, Propietario at El Otro Porteno Walking Tour, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! That rain didn't stop us at all didn't it? thanks for still trusting me. It was a cool day walking and visiting the city we both love now :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, Francia
1 review
“discover buenos aeres differently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

hola,
we come from France and we were in Argentina this summer!
we wanted to discover buenos aeres differently, it was the end of our country tour, and we were a bit fed up of our guide book!!! we heaard about ariel, and we chose to spend one day following him around his city!
we really enjoyed it, we have visited typicals places, with a typical porteno!!
we recommand him!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clairemLille_Francia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arieiber, Propietario at El Otro Porteno Walking Tour, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias! Es siempre muy bueno recibir tan expertos viajeros que ayudan a disfrutar de cada recorrido!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing tour guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I can't recommend El Otro Porteno enough. It was a completely unique tour showing historical, culinary and cultural highlights of Belgrano. Besides all the interesting facts and entertaining stories about the city, Ariel is a lovely guy just to hang out with for the afternoon. Ariel also went out of his way to follow up with emails on interesting events and cultural happenings during our stay. Definitely take this tour if you want some great insight into the city that you won't get from your tour book.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arieiber, Propietario at El Otro Porteno Walking Tour, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It was my pleasure to tour around with you!, I wish you had a great experience here and accomplished your goals during those weeks in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Otro Porteno Walking Tour also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Otro Porteno Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing