We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night, great house, great hosts”
Review of Nola

Nola
Ranked #198 of 4,984 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $70
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Gastropub, Wine Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely night, great house, great hosts”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had a lovely night and for the price I think it's fab. It's hard when you become the number 1 restaurant/dinning experience on trip advisor. Expectations are high. Food was very much like what a friend would serve at a dinner party at their house. I agree it's not high end restaurant standard. If i score it as a dinner at your friends house in BA then it's a 4, but compared to the likes of ilatina then it's like a 3. I feel bad writing that. I definately would recommend but the food isn't good enough for number 1 status. Liza was amazing and her house was just lovely. Perfect American/Argentinian dinning experience in a friendly home and great to talk
to other diners

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAtoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    106
    36
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A delightful experience, with good food, great company and local wines for just 65 pp. the chef is delightful, service is very good and worth a trip

Helpful?
Thank Foodjunkie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Liza and Francisco were fabulous hosts in their very attractive and welcoming home. The four course meal paired with wine was excellent and also a great value. We shared the evening with 3 other couples at a large table and had a great conversation with lots of laughs. Liza also sent me recipes to her mango gazpacho and sea bass ceviche...can't wait to try it myself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cajun in Southwest Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little bit of home in Buenos Aires.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ate here on our last night in Buenos Aires and thoroughly enjoyed it. First let me preface that we are from Louisiana and this was a surprise for my wife. Although there are many great restaurants in BA we were missing some of the spices that our palettes had gotten used to. The food served here didn't let us down. The wine pairings were perfect and kept coming. Perhaps that is why I don't remember exactly which wine was which. Francisco, Liz and Sara were excellent hosts. Even after the AC bit the dust and the heat went up we enjoyed our visit immensely. The company at the shared table was the best part and should be a standard option at all restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cajunwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Awesome Concept and Great Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a wonderful experience here. I think I might have had dinner with Chrissymahoney because we also dined with tourists from US, Australia and Sweden!! Anyway, the food was great and offered some spice which you do not find in Buenos Aires. The house was lovely and I felt like I was dining with old friends. Would highly, highly recommend this as an alternate to just another Parrilla restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Nola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing