We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy boutique hotel in Palermo district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BA Sohotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BA Sohotel to your Saves list
BA Sohotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paraguay 4485, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Trendy boutique hotel in Palermo district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This new modern boutique hotel is located in a very good location, close to the subway (50 cents one way to Centro, Oblisque, Cathedral and safe), and buses and taxis at the front door and just a few blocks away from many trendy stores and restaurants.
The reception staff speak English and are very helpful and friendly. Staff are attentive and restaurant attached has some excellent tapas and sidewalk seating to enjoy alfresco dining. Breakfast was included with the room and was average. They need to get some cereal bowls.
Rooms are large, with a nice balcony to enjoy some late afternoon sun, which can also be done on the terrace pool and hot tub area.
The doors for the rooms are not overly sound proof. While the patio doors are very sound proof and solid to keep out any street noise.
This is high value for your money in a safe area. We will return here the next time we come.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors if you want a view and some late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in December 2012 - the hotel is located in the middle of the Palermo district, which is great for bars and restaurants in the evening, though there wasnt much going on during the day and you will need to travel if you want the bigger shopping areas.

The hotel appears to be very new, and is decorated in a modern style (lots of grey, white, red and chrome etc.) - breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor and was buffet style - we found the selection a bit average in comparison to American breakfasts, but it was consistent with nearly every other breakfast we saw in Argentina. Reception were helpful when asked to help out, but werent overly proactive in volunteering their services.

The room itself claimed to have two queen beds - in my opinion, the beds were actually just double sized - I am of average height (5'11" in old money) and my legs were hanging off the end of the bed, which was also very hard. On the first day the hot water wasnt working in the shower - in my book, the two things you have to get right in a hotel are 1) comfy bed, and 2) powerful, hot shower, so unfortunately it was a fail on both.

Loads of TV channels which I assume is the norm in BA - there was no laundry service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a King Bed - the neighbourhood is uninspiring, so the views from each room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas, at the start of our South America trip, and were both very impressed by the level of service we received. The reception staff were all friendly, welcoming and always on hand to offer their advice and tips on what to see & do in BA. The room was modern and clean with a nice balcony and right next to the terrace pool area. The pool was a welcome break from the afternoon heat after a day of sight seeing! The hotel is situated in the Palermo soho area and is a great place to enjoy a casual stroll while checking out the trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Our only (slight) complaint is that the rooms don't have great soundproofing so you may get disturbed by noise guests returning to their rooms at night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veggietraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have stayed in BA sohotel for 3 nights in Dec/Jan. Evrything was absolutely perfect. From check-in (we got a welcome drink as soon as we arrived, had our luggage brought up to our room, hotel staff showed us around) through our entire stay. Rooms are very big, beds huuuuge and very comfortable. Windows have double glasses so rooms are quiet, which is something hard to find in Palermo. Location is excellent, just a very short walk from all the shops, restaurants and subway. Staff was extremely friendly, professional and helpful with no exception. The jaccuzzi and small pool on 1st fllor is a nice bonus. Also very tasteful decoration with lots of arts in the hotel an rooms.
I can't recommend this hotel enough - everything was perfect (and God knows that when there's a tiniest flaw, I will find it and tell:-). Well done, BA sohotel, and thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElRoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My 7th time in B.A, and first time in this hotel. And I wasn't dissappointed!!

Friendly staff, HUGE Rooms compared to similar hotels in the area, decent wifi (free), good beds, small nice balconies and a good pool/spa area. I've stayed in a lot of nice hotels in Palermo, but this one might have been the best so far, and it is way cheaper than the other ones I've stayed in.

It's a very new and modern hotel, which I really liked. Will definately go back. Great location by the way, close to everything in Palermo Soho.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeppeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Your neck will be so sore from the hard pillows, you'll really need the jacuzzi tub in room and the thick bathrobes would be nice if they weren't tailored to munchkins. Rooms were roomy and clean. No computers for the guests and if you are in B.A. on a Sunday or holiday, there are no internet cafes available. The swimming pool would maybe fit a few chihuahuas and the bathrooms were obviously designed by someone who had never used one. Magic Johnson would have to stretch to reach the towel racks and the half glass shower door guaranteed a floor flood. But can't say enough good things about the staff (front desk, doormen, waiters, housekeepers) who are genuine and couldn't do enough for us when we caught colds - even running to the nearby pharmacy for us. After a week, felt like family. And the Palermo Soho district is a treat, especially at night with the trees lit up and chic outdoor cafes - familes, lovers out on the street. Just watch your step as the sidewalks are all torn up, garbage and dog poop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Got a really friendly welcome and were able to check into our room early. Room was big and had a balcony.

The reception staff, especially Deborah, were so helpful. She sorted polo tickets for us in advance. Then while we stated they helped book tango shows and gave us advice on what to do and where to eat.

The breakfast is ok. There's a guy who looks over the room all the time which is a bit off putting and he's not very friendly. They offer cereal but there aren't any bowls or cold milk, so you have to have hot milk and eat out of a cup. It's a bit random.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, it didn't look too special and there are so many great restaurants within walking distance. One if the best and closest was Las Pizarras, 2298 Thames St. Cheap but amazing food, go before 9 or after 10.30 to make sure you get a table.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#21 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Palermo
Aspen Square
Aspen Square
#54 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#3 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#27 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#12 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#6 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Sohotel

Address: Paraguay 4485, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BA Sohotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Palermo Soho neighborhood, eclectic, unique design, with bright and spacious rooms and personalized service: Our goal is to make your stay unforgettable.33 comfortable rooms, equipped with the latest technology. All the rooms and lobby have paintings of the recognized artist Renata Schussheim.Set forth in the common areas serigraphs by artists Antonio Berni and Carlos Alonso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BA Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing