We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel and very reasonably priced”
Review of Viejo Telmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viejo Telmo
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A charming hostel in a great location close to the square in San Telmo. A friendly, helpful team create a fabulous atmosphere. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.
Room and bathrooms are spotless and the interior of the building is well maintained. Beds aee comfortable.
A substantial breakfast, continental style, is included and served on the top floor next to a large sun terrace.
A good selection of restaurants are within a few minutes walk.
we stayed there on 2 separate occasions and can highly recommend this hostel

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the street which can be noisy. If noise bothers you request rooms at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have stayed there with our friend for 2 weeks. Therefore, we could have a closer look on how does the hostel work.

+location is a BIG plus. In 5 mins you are in the market, or the area of many bars, restaurants and milongas. Perfect for party animals :) However, connection to the airport is more challenging. You can take a taxi o use public transportation (bus).

+ the staff is very helpful. In the hostel description it says that they speak English. Well, that's a little bit of a problem. One of the owners speaks good English, the rest... sometimes you need to use your hands :) They will help you in organizing your trips as well as they will make calls on your behalf. That's very kind.
+nice terrace on the top!

-safety in the area. Buenos Aires old town is not considered as a safest place when coming back at night. The hostel neighborhood is quite dodgy, so don't risk and take a taxi when coming home. During the day, the hostel can be easily reached by public transportation (bus, metro)
-internet works only in the common area/living room.
-rooms are not cleaned every day
-although the hostel's interio/setup is very interesting, it's not too functional because it's very loud. You can hear everyone passing by as well as people in the room next to you. Take earplugs!
-breakfast is basic. Sometimes the stuff was not too attentive, when croissant/yoghurt/muesli is missing. It made us feel weird if we had to ask for it.
- payment possible only in cash or in dollars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights there. All the staff were so friendly, honest, and very helpful with our many requests.
The building was beautiful with marble stairs and wood detail; very well maintained. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed, which is just what we needed. Not a place to meet people if you're a solo traveler, though.

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception have no voice/intercom noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in this charming place. The staff is extremely helpful. Nice advice about we're to go at night etc. Good breakfast. Rooms are a bit small, but very clean. There can be some noise from a rockbar. But hey you're in a big city!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hostel Viejo Telmo is a nice old but clean hostel (art nouveau style) in San Telmo (Bs As) run by very friendly and helpfull young people who tried to make the best of your stay in this charming barrio of Bs As.
Our room was a little bit too small for a stay of 3 nights, but the service was OK, breakfast was nice and the location was superb to visit this big city.
The only bad points we can give is for the noisy night during the weekend (music bar on the ground flour). We slept on the 1° flour, right above this place.
But the very helpfull and charming staff deserves a good rapport.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 in the week-end (first floor, little room, just above the music bar).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefMNeerpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 3 weeks in this hotel, in the centre of San Telmo, nearby the tango milongas, as we are addicted tango dancers! A nice place to stay with great hosts, very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice, breakfast excellent with great coffee, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, medialunas etc. Of course , when you stay in a busy, noisy town as Buenos Aires in the center of San Telmo, you can expect noise from traffic and bars etc, especially as this hotel is located almost at the crossing with Av 9 Julio, but the advantage is that the subway is nearby and at night you don't have to pass dark, small streets..The owners Max and Romina and their staff are very helpful and they recommended events which we would not have found in guides but which we enjoyed very much! There is a lovely roof terrace, great in the evening sun and always water and tea in the kitchen. Everyday clean towels and the room cleaned. We found it a nice place to stay in a relaxed atmosphere and it felt as having made new friends when we said good bye to Max and Romina! Vera Baumans and Jan Meijer, Zeist, Holland

Room Tip: When you travel with more persons room nr 201 is great with private shower and balcony, but on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vera b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was definitely the best accommodation we had in South America. Besides the usual things you expect from a hotel: good location in a beautiful building in the centre of the city, cleaniness, amazing (really AMAZING) breakfast and comfortable rooms (the only budget hotel with central heating!), it offers splendid atmosphere of youth, friendliness, art and extravagance. The owners are very helpful and, as they are new to the hotel sector, open for remarks, and they treat their guests very personally. They will tell you about hidden treasures of Buenos Aires and mark them on a map (in such a way we discovered Atheneo, a beautiful bookstore and some other places as well), so after a couple of days you will feel like a local, knowing all the secret stuff. We travel a lot but only once we made friends with the owners and actually stayed in touch - and it was there, in Viejo Telmo. Abolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,510 reviews
Montserrat
Babel Studios
Babel Studios
#46 of 474 in Buenos Aires
117 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#20 of 474 in Buenos Aires
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 474 in Buenos Aires
735 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 442 in Buenos Aires
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viejo Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viejo Telmo

Address: Calle Mexico 974 | Mexico 974, Buenos Aires C1097AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 474 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $30 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viejo Telmo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viejo Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing