We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest charming hotel”
Review of Viejo Telmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viejo Telmo
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Honest charming hotel”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in this charming place. The staff is extremely helpful. Nice advice about we're to go at night etc. Good breakfast. Rooms are a bit small, but very clean. There can be some noise from a rockbar. But hey you're in a big city!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    35
    24
    10
    16
See reviews for
24
69
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neerpelt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hostel Viejo Telmo is a nice old but clean hostel (art nouveau style) in San Telmo (Bs As) run by very friendly and helpfull young people who tried to make the best of your stay in this charming barrio of Bs As.
Our room was a little bit too small for a stay of 3 nights, but the service was OK, breakfast was nice and the location was superb to visit this big city.
The only bad points we can give is for the noisy night during the weekend (music bar on the ground flour). We slept on the 1° flour, right above this place.
But the very helpfull and charming staff deserves a good rapport.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 in the week-end (first floor, little room, just above the music bar).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefMNeerpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeist
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 3 weeks in this hotel, in the centre of San Telmo, nearby the tango milongas, as we are addicted tango dancers! A nice place to stay with great hosts, very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice, breakfast excellent with great coffee, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, medialunas etc. Of course , when you stay in a busy, noisy town as Buenos Aires in the center of San Telmo, you can expect noise from traffic and bars etc, especially as this hotel is located almost at the crossing with Av 9 Julio, but the advantage is that the subway is nearby and at night you don't have to pass dark, small streets..The owners Max and Romina and their staff are very helpful and they recommended events which we would not have found in guides but which we enjoyed very much! There is a lovely roof terrace, great in the evening sun and always water and tea in the kitchen. Everyday clean towels and the room cleaned. We found it a nice place to stay in a relaxed atmosphere and it felt as having made new friends when we said good bye to Max and Romina! Vera Baumans and Jan Meijer, Zeist, Holland

Room Tip: When you travel with more persons room nr 201 is great with private shower and balcony, but on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vera b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was definitely the best accommodation we had in South America. Besides the usual things you expect from a hotel: good location in a beautiful building in the centre of the city, cleaniness, amazing (really AMAZING) breakfast and comfortable rooms (the only budget hotel with central heating!), it offers splendid atmosphere of youth, friendliness, art and extravagance. The owners are very helpful and, as they are new to the hotel sector, open for remarks, and they treat their guests very personally. They will tell you about hidden treasures of Buenos Aires and mark them on a map (in such a way we discovered Atheneo, a beautiful bookstore and some other places as well), so after a couple of days you will feel like a local, knowing all the secret stuff. We travel a lot but only once we made friends with the owners and actually stayed in touch - and it was there, in Viejo Telmo. Abolutely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauzelle, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

we booked a triple room with shower and discorvered when we arrived... a 10 square meter bedroom without closet, nor bathroom inside ! On top of this : we "enjoyed" a live music session (electric guitar + drums) during the night, probably a club just at the hotel basement. Good point nevertheless : if your bedroom does not have a TV, you will share the sound of your neighbours one !
A place to be avoided, except if you have 80 dollars to through away...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Eventhough your first impression of the street where Viejo Telmo is located, will not be very impessive, do not let you misgide!!
It is a great and save area, even when you walk "home" late in the evening, in the dark. Near to the subway, you reach other parts of Buenos Aires in a short time.
Superb restaurants for very reasonable prices, nice cafés, sunny caracteristic squares where the Tango is beiing danced under the trees, are nearby at walkingdistances.
But the best of Viejo Telmo is most fantastic service you can ever get in a hotel!
We have very nice memories of the staff off this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a spacious room, because they allso have very smallones. Nicest room at the streetside, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

For the price, the hotel itself is not that bad... But everything has its price and the hotel is probably not expensive due to its neighboor. The is a rock house by the hotel that rocks until late morning, so if you want to rest, forget it...

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bvvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Hostel Sol
#370 of 447 in Buenos Aires
67 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#232 of 447 in Buenos Aires
135 reviews
San Telmo
Hostel Carlos Gardel
Hostel Carlos Gardel
#99 of 457 in Buenos Aires
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden House Hostel
#51 of 457 in Buenos Aires
186 reviews
San Telmo
Granados Hostel
Granados Hostel
#77 of 457 in Buenos Aires
69 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#20 of 457 in Buenos Aires
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viejo Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viejo Telmo

Property: Viejo Telmo
Address: Calle Mexico 974 | Mexico 974, Buenos Aires C1097AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viejo Telmo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viejo Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing