We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this hotel.”
Review of Grand King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand King Hotel
Ranked #239 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel.”
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We selected this hotel because Escapes.ca, whit whom we often do business with satisfaction, offered it as a special deal. They should take it off their list.
Personnel was not friendly,even rude at times.
We occupied three different rooms and all three were very dirty. Beds were clean but of very poor quality.
No air conditioner in any of the three rooms we occupied. Breakfast was fair but dining room and utensils were dirty,even the toaster had dirt over it.
Deserves no more than two stars by any standards.
Well located.

  • Liked — well located
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    256
    172
    66
    61
See reviews for
184
229
50
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Our review is similar to the Oct. 23rd review. Our photos are reflective of the standard room (unlike the other photos).

The Grand King Hotel is an ernest hotel that’s in the midst of transforming itself to a 4-star hotel. We stayed here for 4 days and have mixed feelings. We took advantage of an Expedia offer and paid an average of $70/night inclusive. This is the bargain part of the deal. The website of this hotel is accurate – showing a modern lobby and only their “deluxe” rooms.

Our deal was a standard room which was akin to a Motel 6 room. Beat up furniture, scuff marks all over, dirt stains piled up over time and broken tile in the bathroom. The room seemed clean but hard to tell with the worn out stained carpet. In our first glance, we were a bit depressed. The concierge indicated that a deluxe room would be a $25 surcharge a night but given our 3 weeks vacation – we didn’t go for this (perhaps we should have). Once we overlooked the room décor – the tv worked, the a/c worked and the shower was hot and consistent, the bed a tad soft but we thought it was fine. The room had a good closet with a key (although I’m sure there are many of these around the hotel).

The breakfast buffet is adequate – European in style with lots of baked danishes, croissants (medialunas), some cereal and an ability to make toast. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available and there’s always some kind of fruit available. Breakfast is from 7:30 to 10:30am. This is normally not a problem for us but when you start eating dinner at 10pm and hit the sack at 1 or 2am --- it is hard to catch the breakfast hours. Internet is available – we always used the 3 pesos for 1 hour service.

The main advantage of this hotel was the location – it is located on a pedestrian walkway (Lavalle) -- we had to walk with our luggage for a couple blocks – most likely because of the Saturday crowds. The hotel street leads to one of the city’s busiest shopping area (Florida Street). It’s a bit tacky with hawkers and people attempting to lure you in the restaurants but it is a great bustling location that is always busy (safety in numbers) and well lit. Restaurants are close by for eating at all hours (our favourite Italian pizza place – Les Immeubles) and the Subte (subway) lines are near.

We would recommend this hotel to a more youthful traveler or seasoned travelers who don’t expect to be in their room except to sleep. If you upgrade to the deluxe room, your stay may be more comfortable for couples who like to relax in the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gammaglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

My partner and I do not stay in four star hotels...we are not expecting luxury...we are realistic travelers. We will usually pick a hotel or B&B that is relatively inexpensive but has a lot of charm or genuine service. We are satisfied 90% of the time and are really enthusiastic more than half the time. With that, the Grand King had lots of potential, located in the Centro district, convenient to transportation, major sites, shopping, etc. Although the hotel is going through a renovation, we stayed in one of the rooms that was not on a floor getting a needed makeover. However, wallpaper, plaster and pipes were all exposed inches from the door to our room. We did had clean sheets and comfortable mattresses. You could hear the construction start bright and early every day from the windows that faced the alley. The ac made a very loud grinding noise and barely worked at all. We had the thinnest towels, but they were clean and changed every day. The room did not have any usable furniture, a small refrigerater was used as a table for the TV. The closet was adequate to hold our clothes with shelves and drawers for everything else. We pack light so we were fine with that. Breakfasts were bountiful, but ordinary. General Mills pastries, cereal and toast every morning was the fare. Our particular gripe which brought the rating all the way down was with the hotel concierge service. There virtually wasn't any. Only two desk clerks spoke English; so they were the only ones able to speak to us. But neither they nor any of the others knew how to help us. For example, they didn't know what museums would be open or closed on Columbus Day and didn't seem interested to find out. They didn't offer suggestions on attractions other than handing us a few brochures that they had to dig out of the back of a drawer. They refused to make theatre reservations for us even when I told them I couldn't understand the phone prompts or reservation specialists. They all seemed like nice people; just without any knowledge or interest on doing their job.

  • Liked — a comfortable bed and a hot shower
  • Disliked — all the front desk lack of service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyGiangrasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

This was a good value hotel that is close to many landmarks and stores. It is a little bit noisy outside the hotel, so if you are looking for a calm or fancy place you should stay in Puerto Madero or Palermo.
The good thing about this hotel is its location. You can walk from the hotel to Puerto Madero, Pacifico Galery and Casa Rosada (Pink House).
We booked a superior room, so the room was good, clean and confortable. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — the room and the location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank romeriboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The hotel is perfectly located. However, the service of the staff is very low. The men at the hotel reception are not very willing to assist and look annoyed if you ask them something.

The rooms look very pretty. However, the LCD TV on the wall had poor reception so that it was impossible to watch TV. One bulb in the room was not working and the bathroom sink was blocked. Upon our telephonic request to get the grievances right, we were connected at least 5 times (no one understood English), no one came. On the next day, we showed the grievances to the cleaning woman but she only fixed the drain. TV and bulb were not working till the end of our stay.

One night, we could not believe what happened. It was about 11 pm and we had already switched off the lights (we could not watch TV as it was not working properly), some cleaning woman sweeped the floor outside in the hall. Then she quicky opened and closed our door. We were horrified and did not feel safe in the room any longer.

The breakfast mainly consists of Danish pastry. No ham, no eggs, just sweets, sweets and sweets (which is quite cheap).

The worst feeling which we had was when we checked out. One of the receptionist really went up to our room to check if something was missing while we were standing at the reception. That guy then phoned the reception and told the others that everything was ok. We could then check out properly. This has never happened to us before.

Buenos Aires is so beautiful, and there are so many other really good hotels in the vicinity of Grand King Hotel that we will definitely look for another place next time we will come to the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unfriendly and unhelpful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Viccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The location is superb but we had trouble sleeping due to the heat of the room (and that was with the window wide open and no heating ever put on) and the noises in the hotel, e.g. the lifts. If the hotel had provided airconditioning or even fans, it would have been OK. I never imagined we would have such a problem in winter. I probably wouldn't stay here again even though it's an extremely well-located hotel with a good breakfast provided.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Muggy room and the noise at night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunnyseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The location of this hotel is fantastic...you are literally right on Florida street, a major Pedestrian area, lot's of shopping and restaurants...you can walk to many many attractions from this location...and the subways are also close by.

We were on the 6th floor, our room was outdated and could have smelled a little "fresher"...but when taking the stairs instead of the tiny elevators one day we noticed that all of the floors below us had been renovated, the rooms had hardwood floors, new furniture and paint and key swipe cards...so, when you book ask for a room below the 6th floor until the renos make their way up!

Our room face Florida street and it was noisy, from early morning until late at night...between people and construction, but ear plugs solved that.

The hotel staff were helpful, but not many spoke english very well, adn it's the first hotel I've ever stayed at in the world that refused to mail some postcards (already stamped) for me...and they seemed limited in their ability to help us book some of the things we wanted to do (ie attend a football match) so we just went to a travel desk in a shopping centre.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel for it's location alone...if you can manage to get one of the renovated rooms, even better.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannipantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#395 of 446 in Buenos Aires
312 reviews
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#171 of 446 in Buenos Aires
342 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#155 of 446 in Buenos Aires
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
#134 of 446 in Buenos Aires
742 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#139 of 446 in Buenos Aires
548 reviews
San Nicolas
Reconquista Plaza
Reconquista Plaza
#277 of 446 in Buenos Aires
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand King Hotel

Property: Grand King Hotel
Address: Lavalle 560, Buenos Aires 1047AAL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand King Hotel offers to its guests, the best location in Buenos Aires. Located in Lavalle street only 20 meters from Florida pedestrian street and one block from Corrientes Avenue, where great shows, the most famous art galleries, cinemas and theaters are concentrated, 5 blocks from Puerto Madero where there are the best restaurants an one block from Galerias Pacifico shopping mall where elegant shops are. The ideal place for your bussiness travel because of its location in the heart of the city, situated in the bank and exchange area. Everything at within arm's reach from the hotel establishment that also provides you with the greatest comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand King
Grand King Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing